Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2015
This book covers Dylan's output album-by-album and song-by-song. Concise and well-researched. I found myself tending to agree with the opinions expressed, which is pleasing as I've been an avid fan of Bob's for 40 years. Of course, there were views that I disagreed with, but I could see where he was coming from. The style of presentation is great: opening the account of each album with cover art, track list, listing of musicians, then "Recorded but not used" which is especially interesting so we know where bootlegs have come from, studio & recording dates, then an invariably fascinating quote from Dylan... and then the songs. The latest studio album covered is 2001's "Love and Theft".
There are plenty of books out there about Dylan's work, as opposed to biographical books about the man. I can't say I've read many of them, but some guidance to Dylan's work is valuable. I rate this book highly and strongly recommend it. However, the best account of Dylan's work has to be Michael Gray's superlative "Song & Dance Man III: The Art of Bob Dylan".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Very well researched and written. The author is obviously an authority on Dylan and his music. Highly recommended, worth far more than the price being asked!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Very useful review of the Dylan canon of releases in concise format. Ebook version is handy for quick reference, enjoy!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
In Warehouse Eyes Peter James pays tribute to his musical hero Bob Dylan. Tracks from the studio albums are described and interpreted by the very knowledgeable Mr James. Great reading for those of us who love Dylan's music. Highly recommended and a great price as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
being in my 70th year , and a dylan fan from the beginning, i just cannot praise this book more highly. all i needed to know is here and a lot more besides. get it you wont be disappointed, thank you so much peter james, you done great
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Unfortunately this book suffers from the curse of this type of book. It is not up to date but for the albums he covers the author has done not too bad a job. It's an overview but no less good for that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
I am a 63 years old and been a Dylan fan for 50 years ,I have read alot of books on Dylan but this book stood out for me.a insight into his world of writing song.very good book
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
Good to read while listening to that particular album. Most of it I already knew but had forgotten. Encourages you to listen to all the albums.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
This is the best book about Dylan's recording career I have ever read, I don't agree with all the reviews but some of them are truly in line with my feelings and any Dylan fan should read this
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
This well written book provides a good insight into the production of Dylan's great work and is a must read for all his admirers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)