Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Metallica Album in About 20 Years.........
Yes, I know it's not Metallica, I was being witty!...

However Jason Newsted was the full time bassist in Metallica for about 15 years and if Metallica had released anything as good as this since he left in 2000 then they would still be one of the best bands on the planet instead of living on past glories.

Powerfull well produced metal, highly...
Published 11 months ago by Martyn Clegg

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl?
This has nothing to do with the music it says vinyl but clearly isn't very dishonest not worth sending back be careful I love the album as my other review gives 4 stars
Published 9 months ago by Mr. J. S. Dodd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars ooooh yeah., 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
The snarl of a Mustaine. The riffs of the big four. The grandeur of a 70s supergroup. Metal is in safe hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Newsted-Heavy Metal Music., 18 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
This is Jason Newsted's band, formerly of Metallica, Flotsam & Jetsom, Voivod, and Echobrain. It is heavy metal just as the title says, nothing new or fancy, just metal, but it's bloody good! Don't take notice of the negative reviews, it's a good solid metal album that thrashes out occasionally, you can hear a bit of Slayer and Metallica in there now & again, but it's mostly straight down the line heavy metal, and that's fine by me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking return., 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
Loved the E.P. and was excited about the full album. Wasn't let down. Great riffs, more Voi Vod than Metallica. You have to wonder why he wasn't given more writing duties in Metallica. Would have been 5, but I reckon there's better to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Newsted!!!, 7 Sep 2013
By 
D. Moreira "Dante" (Hell) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (MP3 Download)
What an instantly enjoyable album. Jason does a fine job vocals. It reminds me of quite a few bands...Sodom/voivod/almighty. It sounds fresh and exciting but gives a nod to the old. And best of all, this album was done for fun and there is not one ounce of pretentiousness about it. Best thing ive heard this year!! Also, i bought it on vinyl and it comes with a free cd version of the album. Once again, great work Mr Newsted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy metal mastery, 7 Aug 2013
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
The album is in the style of 80s metal bought forward through time with a modern twist, it's lyrics are structured really well, doesn't hide away their messages, they are quite simple lyrics. However, some are more simple than others for example above all is very simple but yet effective. The musical structure is complicated than the lyrics but the music is fantastic, it's got a real heavy metal to it, it's powerful, in your face metal, just like the 80s, Jason has used his time with Metallica well as this is very Metallica like, if Jason was still with Metallica would Metallica's recent albums be as good as this? That is never to be answered.
The vocals are very aggressive and fresh compared to the same old style of voice in metal vocalists that have been around a while. The vocals sound similar to a more aggressive Lemmy, I wonder why he never tried to be a lead vocalist before his time with Metallica but then if he wasn't with Metallica would anymore really care about this album now? Or even know who he is. However, if this was released in the 80s or even the 90s I believe Newsted would be a band we all talk about today as great musicians that inspired the next generation of metal.
The bass is very noticable in this album, especially on above all, however you can hear everything that is going on the music, it is one of the best produced albums I have ever heard, Jason Newsted really knows how to produce an album, I guess he has learnt this from the ...and justice for all album with metallica, where it was poorly produced and Jason's bass couldn't be heard. He has used his abilities well to produce this album, it's clarity is superb.
Jason's bass can be heard very well, his ability on this album is 2nd to non, he is proving to a lot of people maybe metallica were wrong to let him leave so easily, they should have treated him with more respect and he would still be with them. His bass skills are some of the best around and he proves on this album he is up there with the best bassists of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
Back to the old school solos and great music bit heavy for some but great for me not a bad track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
I thought it would be good after hearing the ep, but Newsted's debut album exceeded all my expectations. Amazing classic metal sound, and definitely one of, if not the best album of 2013 so far for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bangs the head that doesn't bang!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
Pre-Black album Metallica meets Orgasmatron era Motorhead in an unholy mash up. The drummer is called Jesus, the music is as the title states and Lou (talentless) Reed isn't on it, so, what more reasons do you need to buy it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl?, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. S. Dodd "MetalDoddy" (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
This has nothing to do with the music it says vinyl but clearly isn't very dishonest not worth sending back be careful I love the album as my other review gives 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heavy Metal Music
Heavy Metal Music by Newsted (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews