Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucknow Ransom
Lucknow Ransom is a gripping read. I couldn't put it down. Glen Peters evokes the sights, sounds and smells of Lucknow with visceral realism. The character seem like people the author might have known from his own childhood in 1960s India.

As Anglo-Indians forge new identities in post-Independence India, the political and social turbulence of the times is...
Published 16 months ago by Anne Garside

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucknow Ransom
I was rather bored by this book but did manage to finish it. I really don't have any more to say.
Published 14 months ago by caelo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucknow Ransom, 2 Aug 2013
This review is from: Mrs D' Silva and The Lucknow Ransom (Mrs D' Silva's Detective Instincts) (Kindle Edition)
Lucknow Ransom is a gripping read. I couldn't put it down. Glen Peters evokes the sights, sounds and smells of Lucknow with visceral realism. The character seem like people the author might have known from his own childhood in 1960s India.

As Anglo-Indians forge new identities in post-Independence India, the political and social turbulence of the times is captured with authenticity. The engaging heroine is drawn into a love affair with a man of mysterious past who manages a factory. When he receives an extortion demand, it sets in train dramatic happenings. Weaving in and out of the story is Lakshmi, a child of indeterminate sex, who gives us a fascinating look into the brothels of the hijira. There is plenty of sex (orthodox and unorthodox), exotic locales, and a rich cast of characters from corrupt officials to lecherous headmasters. The writing pulsates.

The book would make a great television series because each chapter is a complete story in itself, while driving the action forward. From a hilarious hockey match to a riot in a market, the momentum is unstoppable. The climactic banquet scene seems straight out of Shakespeare's Titus Andronicus. A startling denouement leaves the reader eager for the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, 3 Aug 2013
This review is from: Mrs D' Silva and The Lucknow Ransom (Mrs D' Silva's Detective Instincts) (Kindle Edition)
I found Lucknow Ransom accurate and evocative. The characters were obviously drawn from life and sometimes easily recognisable. A thoroughly enjoyable read and I am now looking forward to the next book in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authentic!, 3 Aug 2013
This review is from: Mrs D' Silva and The Lucknow Ransom (Mrs D' Silva's Detective Instincts) (Kindle Edition)
The first in the D'Silva series made me think of Alexander McCall Smith and left me wanting more so I was delighted to see a sequel appear. Peters is a vibrant writer who unwraps very beautifully the sounds, sights, smells and tastes of India. Lucknow Ransom is steeped in authenticity, humour (laugh-out-loud in places) and a page-turning plot - a great holiday companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel!, 11 Jun 2013
The Lucknow Ransom follows on brilliantly from Peters' first novel Mrs D'Silva and the Shaitan of Calcutta. Delving deeper into the life of crime that Joan D'Silva has found herself involved in, Peters provides a vivid and intense picture of the political climate of 1960s India. With the introduction of the hjiras (Indian transvestites) and many other new elements besides, there is plenty to keep the reader interested. Not only is the Lucknow Ransom highly readable, with a plot that twists and turns and always keeps the reader guessing, but it is also highly informative, providing a fascinating insight into the nuances of post-independence India. I will definitely be looking forward to a third instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars India after the Raj, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs D' Silva and The Lucknow Ransom (Mrs D' Silva's Detective Instincts) (Kindle Edition)
The British have gone home, leaving India to its own devices. The few Brits that remain cluster together, and in Lucknow their society welcomes Mrs d'Silva, an attractive young widow from Calcutta. She makes friends, including the manager of the local Apna vegetable oil factory, with whom she falls in love. But the factory is under threat from saboteurs who demand a ransom. This isn't paid, and bad things start to happen.

The subtitle suggests that it is a detective story, and in a way it is - there is a mystery to be solved, and eventually the villain is unmasked. But the real story is about India and the many, many people who live there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hoping for another, 18 Oct 2013
This review is from: Mrs D' Silva and The Lucknow Ransom (Mrs D' Silva's Detective Instincts) (Kindle Edition)
Fun and entertaining to read, this sequel is a definite page turner. The author truly brought the main character to life and the well developed storyline was immediately engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lucknow Ransom, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs D' Silva and The Lucknow Ransom (Mrs D' Silva's Detective Instincts) (Kindle Edition)
I was rather bored by this book but did manage to finish it. I really don't have any more to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Indian Life in a story, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs D' Silva and The Lucknow Ransom (Mrs D' Silva's Detective Instincts) (Kindle Edition)
I quite like this book, would have prefered it to have moved faster and I did finish it. Not really an in depth read but ok for 99p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Lousy, 6 Oct 2013
Don't waste your time. There are so many good books in the world, don't waste your precious minutes on earth reading this drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Lucknow Ransom, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs D' Silva and The Lucknow Ransom (Mrs D' Silva's Detective Instincts) (Kindle Edition)
I felt it was difficult to get into and at times a bit odd but if you know Indian culture and language it would be easier. I did eventually finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews