Customer Reviews


433 Reviews
5 star:
 (304)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An very enjoyable read
I picked this book because of its title; the play on the name tarts and it was a great choice. Nellie works at a custard factory (I was smelling vanilla custard for days after) and along with the other women work extreme hours, are paid less than men and carry the guilt of not being there for their children. Ring any bells? Those women's struggles are still with us...
Published 9 months ago by Kimbles

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely
curl up with a cuppa and enjoy ,experience London life during the first world war ,a great read,very enjoyable ,e
Published 7 months ago by Sarah Fullgrabe


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An very enjoyable read, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
I picked this book because of its title; the play on the name tarts and it was a great choice. Nellie works at a custard factory (I was smelling vanilla custard for days after) and along with the other women work extreme hours, are paid less than men and carry the guilt of not being there for their children. Ring any bells? Those women's struggles are still with us. This story has far reaching resonance- that anyone can identify with today. But Nellie is a remarkable character, just barely out of childhood herself, taking care of her brothers and sisters, her father too. She is vulnerable, complicated and yet has a steely inner strength. What she risks with the strike made me proud to know her, be in her world for a while. From the moment I met her, I was drawn in and couldn't put the book down. The author writes in a easy languid style like drifting down a smooth flowing and bending river that just takes you with it but don't be fooled, there are some heart stopping moments, crashing over waterfalls, that leave you breathless. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
I highly recommend this book, it is a good read and brings back memories as I was brought up in Bermondsey and know the area very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything that you expect from a good saga and a lot that you don't. A Wonderful Read!, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
Now let me start by saying that I don't usually read the saga genre. But I picked this up on a personal and very enthusiastic recommendation and I have I was not disappointed. The writing itself is at an amazing standard, smooth and as rich as honey and cream. And unlike meny of its ilk, that admittedly that I olny skim read while waiting for trains over the years, in 'Custard Tarts' it is not only the characters and their personal struggles that are given emotional weight and detail. But the world they live in is a living and breathing thing. The author has clearly research but she treats it with a rare lightness of touch, so that most of the time the reader doesn't even notice it going into their heads, so skillfully deos MARY GIBSON weave her all elements together. If anyone has read this far go and get this book! After all at the kidle price what have you got to lose. It is pennys for sheer quality! I will definitely be keeping a chose eye one Mary Gibson in the future. And buying the hardback for more than a couple of the technophobes in my family when it comes out, I hope it is very soon. A*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Club 10/10, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
A great debut novel. Well written with fabulous characters and a griping story. A real page turner. All ten members of my book club loved it and that is a very rare thing indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating page turner!, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
The Author has set the seen of the factory women's struggle for equality in Bermondsey so well you feel as if you are fighting alongside them. The twists and turns of the friendship, love and family keep you gripped throughout. The Characters are engaging and soon feel like old friends. A real insight into London during the first world war, a great story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
A great read delivered to my kindle. I would recommend this author to anyone who likes a spellbinding book. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Bermondsey Story, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
A great story set in the heart of Bermondsey. As I was born and bread in this area of London the Author literally transported me back in time and I was able to visualize Bermondsey how it was back in the early 1900's during WW1. It gives a true sense of how the people lived, worked and the successful story behind the Factory strikes during this era. With great characters and descriptive scene settings this is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
An easy and enlightening read for those of use who weren't around at the turn of the 20th century. In the shadow of the coming 1st World War this novel depicts life as it was then when conditions were hard, pay terrible and working hours long. The experiences of her Grandmother and Great Aunt who both worked at the Pearce Duff factory have been used by the Author very effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Custard tarts., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
Custard tarts

Really enjoyed this book it explains the working conditions before and during the war and the aftermath when the soldiers returned home to there families, it was also a love story that continues through out the war years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an age gone by, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts (Kindle Edition)
this is a very a very nice interesting read giving insight into london and how the poor lived at the beginning of the 20th century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts
1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews