Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asks the questions that every student should ask
Very intelligent and diligent look at the theory of extraterrestrial human origin, which weighs up the evidence without being influenced by established dogma. Not the final word by any means, but provides a solid foundation for further inquest by open and scientifically minded individuals.
Published 22 days ago by Gordy Mckellar

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cut Price Von Daniken - without the verve.
I am sure most people of my generation will remember the first time they read Erich Von Daniken's Chariots of the Gods and how they were momentarily convinced. After all for all his faults, he was able to construct his arguments with a rhetorical verve that was persuasive and his research (even if misleadingly presented) was interesting and was probably many people's...
Published 16 months ago by N. J. Mazonowicz


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asks the questions that every student should ask, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
Very intelligent and diligent look at the theory of extraterrestrial human origin, which weighs up the evidence without being influenced by established dogma. Not the final word by any means, but provides a solid foundation for further inquest by open and scientifically minded individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humans are not from Earth..., 18 April 2015
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad read ..interesting points although could be more detailed evidence...who knows the truth where we came from maybe oneday we will all find out ..til then we have to make the best of what life has to offer on plant Earth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cut Price Von Daniken - without the verve., 31 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
I am sure most people of my generation will remember the first time they read Erich Von Daniken's Chariots of the Gods and how they were momentarily convinced. After all for all his faults, he was able to construct his arguments with a rhetorical verve that was persuasive and his research (even if misleadingly presented) was interesting and was probably many people's first introduction to such phenomanae as the Easter Island statues.

Unfortunately, those great days of Von Daniken and Charles 'Bermuda Triangle' Berlitz are long gone and instead we are left with Dr Ellis Silver - a kind of Lidls to Von Daniken's Harrods. Supposedly a top ecologist, Silver posits that we are a species not native to this earth but have been dumped on here by an alien race as a sort of punishment for something or other

Points he throws up in evidence include

1) We can't look directly at the sun.
2) We tend to get bad backs
3) If you look out of your window, you'll see a lot of miserable people
4) We like fatty foods rather than food that is good for us
5) We get sunburnt

Most of these arguments are of course pretty specious and easily disprovable with just a moments thought (if we are the only species that likes junk food, why have parks now decided to put up warnings to customers not to feed white bread to ducks?) and at times Silver seems to be arguing against himself or losing his thread (trying to find out which planet we came from, he concludes it was one orbiting a binary star but then says "I'm not sure how we could warm at night on such a planet without clothes or fur..Perhaps we burrow underground and huddle together for warmth).
What really grates is the sheer flimsiness of the book with no references, charts, pictures or any actual supporting material.

If you are really not sure how to spend £1.99 on your kindle then this will give you a good half-hours chuckle, but compared to the great days of loony theorising from Berlitz and Von Daniken, this is poor stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
I like an open mind and Ellis lets you decide for yourself. A bit quick on the assumptions and a bit short on actual evidence. I would recommend as a good starter for you investigators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea not enough credible research., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
Nice idea but not enough concrete research. Hypothesis exciting but supporting evidence a little flimsy. A good fun read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Scientific?, 21 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
interesting speculation but nothing substantial to support any of the hypotheses. A scientific evaluation? - stretching it just a bit! A quick, easy and enjoyable read however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
Some interesting ideas but not enough depth. This could easily have been taken much much further. Great for a short read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bold idea, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
In many ways this has a similar line of thought to Fred Hoyle's panspermia in which the amino acids of organic life forms exist throughout the universe, but the claim is stretched somewhat by attributing the phenomenon of humankind to alien agents. For this to have been the case it would suggest that humankind would be fashioned in the image of its progenitors and not created for a transitory existence on the planet (70 years). As a result the book in a sense; by relating the foreignness of humankind to its environment, shoots itself in the foot. However, like all aspects of life the thesis deserves a hearing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Paul Barraclough (Wetherby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
As a previous reviewer mentioned, there is no real scientific basis for any of the writers theories, just notions. But I did enjoy the book (albeit very short), as he comes up with some thoughts that do make you think that there perhaps is a possibility that we didn't originate from this planet. For the price, worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars makes you think, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
C. Burrows (chippeham,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humans are not from Earth: a scientific evaluation of the evidence (Kindle Edition)
this book is just a lot of possibilities that show where we could be from and who we might be there are massive holes but no bigger than the ones in other theories some of the things he says are quite possible while others are not so but worth reading for me at least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews