Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Runrig within the Chrysalis, 1987-1996, 30 July 2013
By 
Sabooski the Cat (Feline Forever Friend) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stellar collection of 6 cds from Runrig during their stint with Crysalis Records, 1987-1996.

The 6 cds are housed in a 6 CD Jewel. The jewel is sturdy as much as sixers go, but its always a gamble in transit. Also within the jewel is a decent enough booklet containing a mix of pix, band commentary, discography, etc.

All 83 tracks are 2013 Digital Remasters and sound fantastic. There is about 7 1/2 hrs of music total, arranged thus:

NOTE: along with each cd's featured album is included additional tracks (from a similar time period give or take) associated eps, singles and live performances. This gives each cd a flavor all its own. These "timezones" intermesh effortlessly. The results are breathtaking!

CD#1...19 trks, total time 78:42 featuring 'The Cutter and the Clan' (1987)

CD#2...18 trks, total time 73:57 featuring 'Searchlight' (1989)

CD#3...16 trks, total time 75:10 featuring 'The Big Wheel' (1991), 'The Greatest Flame (1993)

CD#4...15 trks, total time 70:23 featuring 'Amazing Times' (1993)

CD#5...15 trks, total time 68:24 featuring 'Mara' (1995)

CD#6...15 trks, total time 76:54 featuring 'Once in a Lifetime (1988)

RUNRIG's music is profound. 'Stepping Down the Glory Road (the Chrysalis Years 1988-1996) is not the whole story by any means, but it's one powerhouse of a middle.

Oh, last before I go...when listening to Runrig I've heard reviewers draw comparisons (favorable) to a whole gaggle of other primo artists'. Here's my crazy addition: The Moody Blues!!! Of course Runrig can only be Runrig. You can discover them here. Peace Out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Runrig collected, 31 July 2013
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I discovered Runrig back in 1989, when they were completely unheard of in England. The odd expat Scot I mentioned them to knew about them, but to anyone else it was "who?" The first album in this set, "The Cutter & The Clan", was the first thing I heard by them, bought unheard on the strength of a review in a hi-fi magazine, and I loved it from the first note. A fusion of Gaelic culture and language with rock music, it was and still is truly music that has no equal - bands have appeared who have been influenced by Runrig, but they did this first and still do it best. There are comparisons with Big Country, U2 - even Bruce Springsteen - but Runrig are unique.

This 6-disc set pulls together the 5 studio albums they released on the Chrysalis label between 1988 and 1995. But the real draw of the set for most fans (who will surely own all of those already) is the comprehensive set of single B-sides that are included. Checking against my own collection, I can only find one missing song (a live version of "Our Earth Was Once Green" from the "Every River" single) - every other B-side, studio or live, is on here, including a couple of really rare tracks, such as the cover of "April Come She Will" that was only released on cassette single. There are several "single edit" versions of A-sides missing, but they were all just cut down versions of the album tracks, all of which are included here. To track down all these other songs - and Runrig's B-sides were easily as good as their A-sides, in some cases better - would cost a fortune on eBay. This collection is ridiculously cheap just for the 5 studio albums; to get the rarities for this price is the bargain of the decade.

A few tracks from the superb "Once In A Lifetime" live album pad out the end of the sixth disc - a couple more are found on disc 1, as they also appeared on the "Protect & Survive" single. The only shame about this set is that they didn't manage to fit every track from "... Lifetime" on here, as otherwise this would be a complete collection, but given what is on here, it would be churlish to complain.

If you're a Runrig fan and you don't already have every single they released in this period, buying this box set is a no-brainer. If you're not already a Runrig fan, this is probably a bit of a marathon introduction, but if you end up liking them, you'll want the lot anyway, and at this price, it's worth taking a punt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars runrig collection, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Collection of all the best of older classic Runrig in one place! Perhaps a second collection of songs to date is in the offing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic runrig, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't fault it. Master songwriters and players. Simply the best era. Takes me back to the Islands all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a must have album great menories come flooding back a must have album for all runrig fans old or new fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought on impulse - no regrets!, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw the tv programme about 'The Band from Rockall', on the strength of that I bought that CD. Then I bought this one. Great price, great anthemic songs. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can do no wrong!, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are many Runrig compilations out there but this has to be the best.
It covers every point of a great period in the bands history providing a warm Celtic atmosphere, that only Runrig can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy - heaven on earth - thanks guys!, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A magnificent collection that needs no recommendation from me.
I simply wanted to say this (noting something that seems to spreading like wildfire across Amazon and totally devaluing the whole rating system).
There are 21 so-called "reviews" here.
Of those 15 are only one line long (all five star "ratings" while saying absolutely NOTHING whatever about the recording that could not equally have been used to "review" music by Susan Boyle or Andy Williams or Val Doonican for that matter), 3 run to a second line (ditto) while 3 are longer. Of those only two say anything worth reading.

It would be very easy to conclude - rightly or wrongly - from this that those entrusted with the PR for the record company have "done a job" and placed large numbers of 5 star "ratings" on behalf the issue.

If so it's incredibly sad and rather pointless. Those who are going to buy it are the tens of thousands of informed Riggies who like me have followed the band for decades in draughty halls and muddy fields and recognize the artistry, originality, sheer quality of what they are listening to that puts so much of the "music" produced these days to shame. We are not influenced by such obvious nonsense as these one live "reviews". And those weak headed noodles who might be fooled by that sort of nonsense will not even click on a page about Runrig. They're too busy buying "Britain's Got Talent" nonsense and "Eurovision Song Contest" drivel.

For heaven sake, the band deserves better than this.

Forget the vacuous reviews - buy the set - and prepare to be amazed at what proper music sounds like - tunes - rhythms - words of poetry - a passion for the language and the land that inspired it - the greatest guitarists alive (god bless Malcolm!) today and "THE VOICE" of Donnie (so totally unique, brings goose pimples up on the back off your neck - I "discovered" Runrig when browsing in the basement of the old HMV store in London's Oxford Street - vast 100 square yard square floor bustling with buyers yet when Donnie's voice came over a distant loudspeaker it stopped me dead in my tracks. I just had to buy what i was hearing - Cutter and the Clan - and that was it for me).

Enjoy. Nectar.
PS: Buy Flower of the West - The Runrig Songbook - a collectors item and work of art explaining the history and composition of these amazing songs AND contains the music / guitar finger positions. Go one - one rainy Sunday afternoon - and we have plenty of those - pour yourself something like a Broughton's beer or a glass of Talisker or Lagavulin and settle down to a journey back to where it all began". Thanks guys for it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars runrig at there best, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some of the songs makes my hair whats left stand out on the back of my head great value for the money paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this set of CDs ..all the goodies from their earlier years. A must for all Runrig fans. Playing it all the time just now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews