Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2013
What a refreshing compilation of tunes from the era of the originators of a movement that just won't die.
If any of you Mods out there have become dissolusioned with the music on the scene lately,or forgotten what the roots of the scene musically are,you won't go far wrong with with this fine selection of fledgeling Modernist movers...
Time to kick the Austin Powers look into touch,and remember what being a Mod is all about!!
33 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Rob Nicholls has put together a solid, expansive collection of records that played an important part in shaping the early modernist movement. Very listenable and a good addition to the collection, Rob and Fantastic Voyage have done a good all round job on this CD, I enjoyed it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Like this collection but I already have most of the songs on it and certainly know most of them but I've been into this sort of stuff for more than 30 years.
One query (and I got a b*llocking off an original mod for dissing the Everly Bros on another review of a mod collection): Red River Rock? Rumble? Would mods in the 60s have liked these songs? Personally, I like them, but they sort of make me think of BSA Gold Stars, Brylcreem, leather jackets, winklepickers ....
Good collection anyway. Maybe the mod/rocker musical divide wasn't as wide or as black and white as lots of us think. Be interested to hear what Rob says.
Another query: Why 'The Twist'? Surely that would've been a bit mainstream? Only asking out of interest - I wasn't around then.
55 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
A fantastic range of late 50s and early 60s rhythm and blues, and much more. Never mind the mods and rockers debate this collection has been put together with care and flair. Will reward experts and novices to this era of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Brilliant Album for anyone who was part of the London Mod scene in the early 1960s. Especially if you attended The Scene of Flamingo Clubs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
very good cd a must to have in any rnb mod collection very very good music for any mod who loves rnb
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Good value, lots of favourite tracks from my youth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
memories of a great period in my life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Some great classic R&B tracks, including original version of "Come On" which was the Rolling Stones first single released in1964.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Cant be faulted for the money! I already have some songs already but there's a lot of great stuff that's new to me!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)