Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They were the Mods., 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a refreshing compilation of tunes from the era of the originators of a movement that just won't die.
If any of you Mods out there have become dissolusioned with the music on the scene lately,or forgotten what the roots of the scene musically are,you won't go far wrong with with this fine selection of fledgeling Modernist movers...
Time to kick the Austin Powers look into touch,and remember what being a Mod is all about!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Chillen - Solid Collection, 13 Mar 2013
By 
L. Davies "Lee" (Bromley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rob Nicholls has put together a solid, expansive collection of records that played an important part in shaping the early modernist movement. Very listenable and a good addition to the collection, Rob and Fantastic Voyage have done a good all round job on this CD, I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection, Dr Robert!, 7 Jun 2013
Like this collection but I already have most of the songs on it and certainly know most of them but I've been into this sort of stuff for more than 30 years.
One query (and I got a b*llocking off an original mod for dissing the Everly Bros on another review of a mod collection): Red River Rock? Rumble? Would mods in the 60s have liked these songs? Personally, I like them, but they sort of make me think of BSA Gold Stars, Brylcreem, leather jackets, winklepickers ....
Good collection anyway. Maybe the mod/rocker musical divide wasn't as wide or as black and white as lots of us think. Be interested to hear what Rob says.
Another query: Why 'The Twist'? Surely that would've been a bit mainstream? Only asking out of interest - I wasn't around then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars product, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good cd a must to have in any rnb mod collection very very good music for any mod who loves rnb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Chillen: Early Mods' First-Choice Vinyl (MP3 Download)
Cant be faulted for the money! I already have some songs already but there's a lot of great stuff that's new to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good mix, 25 Oct 2013
This review is from: Boogie Chillen: Early Mods' First-Choice Vinyl (MP3 Download)
Never thought of the punks listening to this wide a range of music! From blues, R n B and loads more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare Mod classics, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some great classic R&B tracks, including original version of "Come On" which was the Rolling Stones first single released in1964.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Chillen, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is where it all started, loved it then ...still do. Brings back great memories of the Twisted Wheel, Manchester, and the Last Chance/Scene/Flamingo clubs in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prefect title, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Is exactly what it says on the cover, brilliant. very pleased with this cd. Some of the tracks sound as if they were taken straight from vinyl, but very good quality vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boogie Chillen, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Anthony R. Irons (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great selection of very early original MOD songs that set the stage for future bands. Definitely a recommended buy for any serious music/mod historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews