Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Professor Barton, He say 'Yes'"!
This book is about Dutch football as seen through the genius of a world class player, written by David Winner, author of the terrific 'Brilliant Orange: the Neurotic Genius of Dutch Football' which had my expectations raised enough to fear disappointment. It matters little that I prefer the other book, this can in fact be placed alongside the other since they're a sort...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. G. Morgan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional, disappointingly so.
As others have said, this is not a normal football autobiography and, while interesting, it's too short and lacking in much of the detail I would hope and expect to get. This book is as much about Cruyff, Ajax, Dutch football, Arsenal and Internazionale as it is about Bergkamp, and I'm pretty sure Bergkamp contributes much less than 50% of the text.

I suppose...
Published 18 months ago by Henry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 424 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's an interview not his story, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stillness and Speed: My Story (Kindle Edition)
I know Bergkamp is great, I know players he has played with think so too so it was not a great revelation that this was reflected in this book. There were some true insights which were remarkable but they were few and far between. Good read for a gooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any football fan, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book certainly one not just for Arsenal fans but also those that love the game. Great insight into his early career at Ajax, the generation of Total Football and how Bergkamp was caught in the midst of two very different footballing ideologies at Inter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stillness and Speed: My Story (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book might provide some useful insights into what life was like in the great Arsenal side of the late nineties and early 2000's. However, this book disappointed me. Bergkamp spends most of his time telling us how great Dutch football was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer quality, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating read, this book is high quality, just like the man himself. A fascinating insight into the world of one of our greatest ever footballers with some interesting input from a whole host of characters. A really great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Oct. 2013
A must read for any football fan, if you didn't realise he was the greatest thing to ever come to the premiership you will after reading this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still missed, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great reading, he was the inspiration and maestro of the glory days. Greatest player I've ever seen in the red and white shirt and I've been watching them since 1950. The book reflects Dennis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dennis Bergkamp - the god of football, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent - would recommend this book to all football lovers, especially Arsenal fans - lets hope he is the next manager!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent footballer = great read, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should start by saying I'm an Arsenal fan so I would be biased on this but whether he was an Arsenal player or not his philosophies about the game and his thoughts are great to read and to understand.

The format threw me at first because it's an interview with questions and answers however I actually quite like the way that comes across too.

Bergkamp is a guy that played for some of the World's biggest clubs and performed on the World's biggest stage with Holland. If you're a football fan then I'd suggest this as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dennis Bergkamp, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stillness and Speed: My Story well lets start at the beginning ,which i found quite hard to read or to say it better hard to get into? but i stayed with it ,, and am now nearly finished and just loved it , the little story's from other people were great just like the men himself ,,,, what a talented very funny man ,, have watched Dennis for years and am now going to look up some of the goals they talkabout which i have probley seen but some of hes goals you can watch over and over ,over ,over again,, cracking read when you get into it ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Insightful, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stillness and Speed: My Story (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the book, insightful; certain chapters weren't as interesting to me as others. The question & answer style of interviews worked well for getting many sides of the same story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 424 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stillness and Speed: My Story
£6.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews