Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best
When I hear this album, it really takes me back to my first concert. I went to see them at Hammersmith Odean 25th October 1982. Fantastic night which is still with me to this day. This album is a lot darker than Speak and Spell. This was to map the future direction for depeche, from poppy pop songs to a more darker serious pop song. This album just gels, it has some...
Published on 4 Oct 2006 by J. F. Northfield

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars old school depeche
This really is old school Depeche, when I was at school back in 82, boy I couldn't wait for this album. Of course I loved it then, but what about now in 2005, has it stood the test of time. After all most of the band don't look back fondly on anything before Black Celebration and that was 4 years away.
Some tracks haven't aged well, Monument,Satellite and Shouldn't...
Published on 11 Jan 2005 by Mr. M. Perkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best, 4 Oct 2006
By 
J. F. Northfield "joff183" (stevenage, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I hear this album, it really takes me back to my first concert. I went to see them at Hammersmith Odean 25th October 1982. Fantastic night which is still with me to this day. This album is a lot darker than Speak and Spell. This was to map the future direction for depeche, from poppy pop songs to a more darker serious pop song. This album just gels, it has some awesome synth sounds plus the laid back soft vocals with the odd deep harsh chords from Dave work like a dream. The sound is almost dreamy. Tracks that stand out for me are ' my secret garden', 'sun and the rainfall', 'shouldnt of done that', and the underated single,'leave in silence'. Awesome!!! You must realize how before its time this album was, but would of failed at any other time, which to me gives it its class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs In The Classic Early 80's Synth sound., 13 Feb 2000
By 
John Lewin (Macclesfield, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
The songs from this album bring back memory's to me of the early 1980's like no other 80's CD. Each track has some very powerful lyrics along with clever bass lines and wonderful melody's, and although all 10 tracks are brilliant, the most outstanding tracks from this CD are tracks (2) My Secret Garden, (7) The Meaning Of Love, and (10) The Sun And The Rainfall. I bought this album back in 1982 on vinyl, and these three tracks alone were enough to warrant me buying this on CD now.
Truly outstanding
John Lewin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars old school depeche, 11 Jan 2005
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
This really is old school Depeche, when I was at school back in 82, boy I couldn't wait for this album. Of course I loved it then, but what about now in 2005, has it stood the test of time. After all most of the band don't look back fondly on anything before Black Celebration and that was 4 years away.
Some tracks haven't aged well, Monument,Satellite and Shouldn't have done that. Oh lets not forget The Meaning of Love, what were they thinking! But Some are still a good listen, See You, A photograph of you & Leave in silence. But what makes this album essential for old school mode fans, is The Sun & the Rainfall, a haunting beauitful song without cheese!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a perfect peice of electronic 80s pop!, 26 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
i never bought the album when it came out..i bought the 3 singles and loved and adored them..still do!!!

how does it stand up as an album as on sacd!

before i start i prefer my depeche mode with a pop sound rather than the grunge/goth/rock of later albums...all respect to those fans!

the overall sound on sacd is brilliant..crisp, clear and with the odd bit of tinkle which you miss on the regular cds...

the standout tracks are the three singles "the meaning of love" and "see you" are perfect pop songs! "see you" especially is a pop masterpeice of its time! i loved it then and i love it now! "leave in silence" was a big change from the first two singles but its a brilliant track and deserved to do much better than it did in the charts!

as to the rest of the tracks..."the sun and the rainfall" and "my secret garden" stand out and "the sun" could have been a great single!

the rest of the tracks are ok but nothing special but still good!

if you love 80s electronic music this is a must!

i havent yet listened to it in 5.1 or watched the dvd but its great value when if they had wanted to cash in on their fans they could have released the two separately! a lovely package..a great cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great underrated second album, 23 Aug 2006
By 
A. Huebner "Andrew Hyde" (Düsseldorf) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
Even in a back catalogue like Depeche Mode's (a band who have always gone out of their way not to repeat themselves) this album sticks out as markedly different. Having lost their former main songwriter, Vince Clarke, "A Broken Frame" was recorded as a trio, so Martin L. Gore had to prove he had enough good songs to fill an album. From their third album onwards, DeMo would flirt (and, indeed go to bed) with Industrial influences and be always on the lookout for interesting sounds to sample. Here, we find the band relying on the analogue synth sounds available to young bands. Nothing thus to distinguish them from their contemporaries? Actually, there was plenty to make this a standout album, and it all lies in Gore's songwriting and in the band's tender approach to their material.

Opener "Leave In Silence" is a lovely, sad song, so unexpected after the blue-eyed synth pop of their first album. The dreamy "My Secret Garden" treads softly, too, and "Monument"'s quirky little sounds and funny words confuse at first, then you've just got to love it.

Now, with track 4, the album seems to "get going": there's a faster, danceable tune coming up. Great chord changes, fantastic synth hook line - but no vocals! Personally, I rather dislike instrumentals, but "Noting To Fear" is just great. (I've been wondering now and then what it could have been like with Dave Gahan singing over it, but I presume the band found it good enough the way it is - and it is.)

"See You", the most successful single off the album, has lovely vocal harmonies, and is, again, so tenderly produced. "Satellite" is slow and moody again, followed by two bouncy synth pop songs. Even the rather superficial "A Photograph Of You" is a cut above most Vince Clarke compositions for DeMo.

"Shouldn't ..." is the only "experimental" song here (great harmony vocals again), and the album finishes on a rather melancholic note again with "The Sun And The Rainfall", a song both dreamy and straightforward that really should have been a single so more people would know it.

"The Broken Frame" is a fantastic album, and the cover is probably their best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the 5.1 surround mixes are mindblowing., 30 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. S. R. Dhain "shekhardhain" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
I wont go into the details of individual tracks and the merits/ demerits of the songs as only fans/ diehards will shell out for these editions. But what i will say is...it is ABSOLUTELY worth it.

The nice packaging aside, it was daniel miller himself who supervised the 5.1 mix for this, and although I get the felling some of the tracks were replicated using softsynths for some reason (either that, or the original mastering wasnt very good and too smothered in reverb), the 5.1. mixes are unbelievable and breathe new life into songs that even Ive heard hundreds of times, it really is incredible how much of a difference they make to every song; it's silly things like slight timbral variations to synth horns and such like, or even some of the backing vocals beign slightly out of tune and dava gahan's vocals sounding crisper, drier, as do all the musical parts.

the enclosed documentary is also excellent and a brilliant insight into what was a slightly tough transition phase for them. But coming back to the package as a whole, it really is worth getting if you're a fan, simply because of the 5.1 mixes alone.

Incredible nostalgia, yet new and crisp at the same time. This strange paradox works because of the strength of the songs- yes, even on this, their supposedly difficult second album- and daniel miller's original production work. An analog delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 19 April 2013
By 
J. Podger "podgereeno" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent old album and good extras, but was disappointed that the extras could not be played on a CD player (only available through a DVD players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HD Audio, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Tash (cleckhuddersfaxdewsley) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Broken Frame (Audio CD)
Just technical facts for those who care about this sort of stuff:

Like many of the Depeche Mode CD+DVD releases, the music tracks on the DVD are recorded in DTS 96/24 (5.1) and LPCM Stereo 24 bit 48KHz. They all sound brilliant.
This particular release is that bit more special as the CD is actually a Hybrid SACD. Awesome :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of their so-called 'Dark Phase'...., 9 April 2011
By 
Dm Blackwell "Dazmb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's ok as an album - no one who has listened to DM albums from more recent times will be under any illusions that this is not their finest hour. But it has a couple of great tracks on it (The Sun & The Rain + Leave In Silence), some good (Meaning Of Love) and some just ok (the rest). But it was work in progress at the beginning of the Gore song era, and as a defiant message to the world that life would continue post V Clark then it succeeds IMO. The band had yet to get discover samplers and the sound is classic analogue. Without a master musician in the band yet (queue Alan) the melodies and arrangements are quite simple. But that has a charm in itself (if only they had taken note of this album & paired down the production on the analogue synth based Sound of the Universe album to make it less claustrophobic sonically...)

It's a good CD/DVDA package, the DVDA 5.1 mixes are great, the documentary is very insightful and interesting (and it does feature Alan Wilder too even though he was only a live performance keyboard player at the time... come back Al, all is forgiven!!), and the bonus live and studio tracks are worth a listen too.

Perhaps the main reason to buy this package with DVDA is that you get a chance to gaze at that incredible album cover picture upscaled on your big flatscreen TV! Worth it for that alone IMO.

Has there ever been a more wonderfully striking album sleeve picture? I for one can't remember seeing one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The often misunderstood and under appreciated classic, 29 April 2010
By 
Scott Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must be backwards as far as DM fans go. Where many fans and critics think this is the band's weakest album, while they praise Violator as their best, I'm the complete opposite. Having been a fan since 1985, I think Violator is one of their weakest albums, (though I don't own either of the three albums that came after it), while I think A Broken Frame is one of their best.

OK, so I do admit there is some bad material here, yet one of the band's worst songs from this period, the sickly sweet 'See You', was a big hit for the band.
Another along the same insufferable style is the embarrassing 'A Photograph of You'.
And though 'The Meaning of Love' is pretty close, I still find that song a fun bit of nonsense.

The super-bouncy songs previously mentioned could be very misleading to the fact that A Broken Frame has some of Depeche Mode's best early bits of minimalistic dark music.
'Leave in Silence' is a classic single in the style that fits one of the group's later nicknames, Depress Mode. Cold, minimalistic and very cool.
Probably one of the most hauntingly stunning tracks from their entire catalog is the classic 'My Secret Garden'. This song was an instant classic for me, and all these years later is still one I play on a regular basis. Martin Gore's songwriting was still developing, but the results on this album were very experimental and sometimes very exciting.
Speaking of experimental, the definition of that would be the bizarre 'Monument'. Like with 'My Secret Garden', a haunting element is added with the Martin Gore's diffused background vocals.
And like most fans, I do agree another standout track is the beautifully melodic 'The Sun and the Rainfall'. I couldn't have asked for a better closer to this brilliant album.
Aside from tracks like 'See You', (and the super embarrassing TV appearance of the song with the group in a barn setting holding chickens), Martin Gore should stop bashing this album and embrace it for the successful bits therein.

The remastering on the reissue series involved former band member, Alan Wilder. Alan did great at ensuring these remasters did not suffer being a victim of the "Loudness Wars", i.e, the volume is not blown so loud that most dynamics are squashed out in favor of LOUDNESS. All of the remasters that I have purchased sound amazing and retain their full dynamic range, (though the first note of 'Satellite' on the CD is lopped off). Most bands these days allow their work to be destroyed by overzealous mastering engineers who think having their name attached to a CD that's LOUD will draw them more clients. Unfortunately, it may actually work for them, but audiophile fans who don't listen to compressed MP3's through poor sounding "earbuds" are the ones who suffer. Thankfully, the DM catalog has proven to be a wholly satisfying listening experience. That being said, I agree that it stinks having all the extra tracks condemned to the DVD.

The DVD documentary with all of these reissues is a real bonus. The in depth detail of each album is very enlightening, and viewers are teased with lots of clips of rare music videos and TV appearances. At the very least, all of the original promo videos should have been included as well, regardless of their perceived artistic quality in retrospect. I actually enjoy the multi colored cornball video for Leave in Silence. Plus, the video for The Meaning of Love displays a rarely seen playful side.

Though I don't consider A Broken Frame to truly be a 5 star album, I'm giving it the full count for the quality of the good material, and for the remastering quality. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa72bc54)

This product

A Broken Frame
A Broken Frame by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews