Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great science fiction story.
Last month I reviewed Daimones, the first in a trilogy by Massimo Marino, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and the sequel Once Humans was equally as good. It follows on nicely from book one, although it could easily be read as a stand-alone.

Now, seven years have passed and on Eridu (Earth), Dan and the other ‘selected’ are building a new life, along...
Published 7 months ago by Susan Keefe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Once humans
Readers who enjoy horror will probably give this book a better rating, as there's too much discussion of dead bodies, producing neurochemicals from brain matter, and malevolent aliens for me to be completely comfortable with the read. If you're still keen, there is plenty of other material in Once Humans.

Dan has been genetically altered by an invading alien...
Published 4 months ago by Clare O'Beara


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great science fiction story., 6 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
Last month I reviewed Daimones, the first in a trilogy by Massimo Marino, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and the sequel Once Humans was equally as good. It follows on nicely from book one, although it could easily be read as a stand-alone.

Now, seven years have passed and on Eridu (Earth), Dan and the other ‘selected’ are building a new life, along with other people the Moirai decided to spare. However, in this new world, Dan is finding it harder as time goes by to face the knowledge that he will never die, whilst he must watch his family age and go through other suffering as humans.

The ‘selected’ work alongside the Moirai in creating a ‘perfect’ world, however, now things are beginning to go wrong, there is unrest. Then Dan makes another discovery, there is a third race the Kritas, who are at war with the Morai.

What was the truth about the culling, what did happen to the dead? Dan learns that secrets have been kept from him about the past by the Moirai, and with events unfolding all the time, Once Humans is a very clever, action packed story which should delight science fiction fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As riveting as the first book, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
Reading the book 1 made me want to follow Dan's story, which I'm very glad I did. The second book in the series is as enjoyable, as action-packed and riveting as the first one.
I loved the story line and loved how the characters developed and grew along with the plot. Dan becomes more of a leader, but the secrets he unearths are comprising more and more worrisome picture. Whom to trust? Whom to distrust? Why those who helped him in the first place did not tell him all of it, apparently? As the plot thickens, Once Humans becomes more and more difficult to put down. Will read the book 3 right away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much like "Ender's Game" in its penchant for allegory, 22 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
Fate and ancient gods conspire.... "Once Humans" is part of Massimo Marino's "Daimones Trilogy", but don't let that keep you from reading this book right now.

Solid and complex, much like "Ender's Game" in its penchant for allegory, the story centers on what choices the human race must make, or be forgotten. Those with historical interests will find many references and apt symbolism, such as Eridu,an early Mesopotamian city, once thought the earliest city in the world. In Eridu lived Enki (Lord (of the) Earth) god and founder of the city, the Akkadian Ea. In Abzu lay an aquifer from which all life stemmed.

In "Once Humans", ancient elements play important parts as mankind struggles to find its place in a surprising universe. Second volume in a promising trilogy with a uniquely informed point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing story!, 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
In this book, Once Humans by Marino, we get to experience a whole new world of fascinating creatures and environments. It is a real page-turner, and one thing that I really appreciated with this book was that it distinguished itself quite radically from a lot of other books I've read in the same genre. Marino has made sure to avoid any obvious clishés and stereotypes. Instead, we get a nice blend of intriguing and well-rounded characters, each with their own little quirks and personalities. The plot is sealed tight, and we are constantly being surprised with how the story changes, page by page. I'm already looking forward to reading more from this author, I think there's potential here, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Once humans, 19 Nov. 2014
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
Readers who enjoy horror will probably give this book a better rating, as there's too much discussion of dead bodies, producing neurochemicals from brain matter, and malevolent aliens for me to be completely comfortable with the read. If you're still keen, there is plenty of other material in Once Humans.

Dan has been genetically altered by an invading alien race which plans to farm a small number of humans. For no reason I can see, in the first book these aliens were called the Daimones by Dan, and the trilogy has that name, yet the name Daimones never appears again within the story. The aliens have another name for their race and that is used. I am going to keep calling them Daimones in my reviews for a sense of connectedness.

Dan and his little family are among the survivors of the invasion, now farming a compound in southern Europe. Other people have decided to rebel and attack the co-operating group. Dan risks his own life as he fights them off, but there are few people left and nobody wants more dead people. When he asks the Daimone masters for advice they instead take him off in a mind-controlled spaceship to show him Jupiter... implying that they have issues of bigger scope at hand. Dan is again given a long philosophical lecture on the history of his race and destruction.

This is not, to my mind, a book for young adults as the horror imagery and the pitched battles of the later scenes are more suited to adult readers, especially those interested in SF warfare. We are kept guessing as to what the Daimones are really doing on Earth and what the fate of Dan and his family will be... all will be revealed in the third exciting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Danger! Danger!, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
An excellent Sci-Fi thriller that has a touch of Aliens about it. It's not the first in the series however, this can still be read as a stand-alone book and it's immensely enjoyable none the less as humans are endangered and another alien species comes to wipe them out. The Moîrai, the ones helping Dan and the other humans, may not be as they seem either. It's an intriguing book with wonderful characters and a great plot. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing after Daimones, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
Read Daimones and loved it. Once Humans was not as interesting or gripping as Daimones for me, I found it easy to put down. The book seemed a little rushed and quite a few errors appear to confirm this. Even so it is worth a read if you read the first book and enjoyed it. Once Humans follows on with the characters from Daimones, although I felt there was a gap between the two books. I was left feeling that Once Humans could have been so much more,

To be fair maybe Daimones was a tough act to follow, Fingers crossed for the third book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars once humans, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
The Wizard of Oz (Brisbane, Australia.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
I'm not surprised this is an award-winner. It is sci-fi at it's scintillating best and tells the continuing story of the coming together of the human and alien races exceedingly well. Grab book one as well, gain some traction on what the story is, and settle in for the ride of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 26 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
A Sci-Fi thriller that is hard to put down. Loved it! Even though it's in a series, it's a great stand alone book. I was intrigued by the well developed characters. The Moirai who help Dan and the others are creepy. Highly recommend. Now I have to read the first one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... to this book but it's more than just a nice cover and a cool name, 26 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2 (Kindle Edition)
The cover drew me to this book but it's more than just a nice cover and a cool name. I'm interested in reading the whole series now. It's a well-written and creative series. I don't think I've seen this idea before, about a rebirth of humanity. Very clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once Humans: Daimones Trilogy, Vol.2
£3.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews