Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars263
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2014
I didn't purchase this from Amazon but felt compelled to add my two cents worth.

Powerful, melodic rock and great to drive to, just watch your right foot doesn't push down on that right pedal too much ! I can't stop listening to this band, have their other albums too and every single one is brill, no fillers just pure top notch rock pumping out on each and every track. Will be looking out for any UK tour these guys will be doing and hopefully bagging myself a ticket !

If you love power rock then get this, you won't be disappointed !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
These guys are really talented musicians with the best vocalist in Rock. It is amazing they do not get any airplay on UK radio, people should be hearing this music. AB always manage to throw something new and exciting in the mix with their new albums and this does not disappoint. Do not expect a rerun of earlier albums - open your mind and listen to the beautiful vocals, lyrics and guitar playing - amazing. There's only one track i felt let them down but will leave that to you to check out. Go get it now, you will be glad you did - enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
I've been an Alter Bridge fan since the first album was released back in 2004, and they've continually impressed me with each new release, Blackbird obviously being a high point. But this new CD is just stunning and I feel that it shows them to be one of the most talented rock bands in the world today. Everything about this album screams awesome. The song writing is second to none and the musicianship is impeccable. Mark Tremonti's guitar work seers your ears with some of the heaviest rifs he's ever recorded and he's put down many a scorcher on tape already. Myles Kennedy is a very special vocalist indeed, with an incredible range both in terms of power and emotion, the phone book awaits as they say! And we should never forget about the brilliantly powerful rhythm section of Brian Marshall on bass guitar and Scott Phillips on drums, as these guys put down the solid and very heavy foundation that really give Mark and Myles the opportunity to shine on every single song on Fortress.

I'm not going to do a song by song run down as I feel that everyone will find different things that they love in each song. And I promise you that you will discover something new and exciting with each listen of the album. But seriously, just buy this album of sheer brilliant modern rock music, crank up the volume and languish in it's utter majesty and genius! You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
When I'm telling people about this album I tell them this is basically Alter Bridge's Master Of Puppets.
This is one heavy as hell album.
The songwriting is flawless, the guitar playing is much improved/fantastic and the singing is great too.
It's my favourite album to listen to right now and it's definitely this band's best album thus far.
I'm not even really that much of an Alter Bridge fan so my praise should speak volumes here!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Been going to gigs for 34 years and buying rock records for 40. This is up there with the very best. Having shinedown as support for the upcoming concerts is genius ..its going to be close as to who will be best on the night but with this album alter bridge should pull it off. Its a great album and worth every penny ...got to say that getting the download as well as the cd is a fantastic idea from amazon ! No waiting :-) .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
if you want the commercial stuff this is not it . Alter Bridge are the rock worlds best kept secret. word of mouth fan base building and an Alliance between band and fans that is unbelievable.
fortress is album number 4 and is a monster rock record to compliment the first three albums.
try the samples and if its for you, welcome to AB. if not don't worry we are still the happiest fans on planet rock.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Bought this as there was an offer with a pick necklace (would have been buying the album anyway but this was a bonus!). The album is amazing. Not a bad track on it, totally recommend it. My favourite track changes but definitely between The Uninvited, Cry of Achilles and Waters Rising (Mark Tremonti and Myles Kennedy sharing vocals). Guitar pick necklace was claimed by my son to wear to the Glasgow gig!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
loud and melodic, better voice than axl, what's not to like about alter bridge. fortress is as good as blackbird, great to sing along to in the car. alter bridge grew out of creed but are not the same and even though the singer also records and tours with slash and the conspirators again they are not similar, alter bridge have their own identity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
WOW!

Every time AB produce an album I say it can't be topped but each time they prove me wrong. And rarely is it so satisfying to be proven wrong.

This album is as epic as Tremonti and gang suggested in interviews, it's the heaviest AB record to date and the most versatile. Songs you might expect to be run of the mill like Lover took me completely by surprise in their tone and heaviness.

AB continue to prove that they can make a song 5,6,7 or 8 minutes long and have it as catchy and appealing as their 3 minute ones. Cry of Achilles is a helluva opener and sets the album up great, very similarly to Slip to the Void on ABIII and Ties That Bind on Blackbird, AB prove they know how to get you in the mood!

The standout songs for me, as of only 2 listens is Cry of Achilles, Lover and Peace is Broken but there are no bad songs!

If you haven't yet got this album do so, you won't regret it, AB hits a home run again with Fortress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
It's a shame that this is not as good as the other albums!. For me it seems that they rushed to finish it and with all of the other things that certain members of the band are doing it seems that it is interfering with the chemistry and ability of the band!. What a shame.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)