Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a behemoth of an album.....
In which our heroes discover Tool, unleash their inner prog, and in this reviewer's opinion cross the dividing line from "great", to "timeless".

I've followed Alter Bridge's career from its inception as "the good bits of Creed ditch that awful singer and get a really good one instead", through their first 3 albums (One Day Remains - solid if a little one paced,...
Published 11 months ago by Manir

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mix Bag From A Fantastic Band
I absolutely love their first 3 albums but the songs are not as good here and it feels like the album was put together too fast,no killer song like on their earlier albums but i really liked 'Cry Of Achilles','Waters Rising',Addicted To Pain' and 'Fortress',the rest did not do anything for me with 'Calm The Fire' with it's Muse like beginning and 'Cry A River',good if...
Published 11 months ago by James g


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from a great band, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Alter Bridge must be one of the most consistent bands in the world of any genre.

On the first listen of each album there were always certain songs that I connected to before the rest and the same can be said after listening to 'Fortress'. Perhaps this is because of the progressively complex arrangements of each successive Alter Bridge album but that is what makes them an extraordinary band instead of ordinary.

It was the central songs of this album, namely 'Peace Is Broken', 'Calm The Fire' and 'Waters Rising' that initially captured my attention but after several listens of the album in its entirety it didn't take long for every track to grow on me. This is the sign of a future-classic album produced by a fantastic band that cannot be recommended enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fortress Alter Bridge, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT. LIVED UP TO THE EXPECTATION. son loves it as well. he is a big fan. cant wait to see them live in 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album...or at least a very, very close second to Blackbird., 21 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as there was an offer with a pick necklace (would have been buying the album anyway but this was a bonus!). The album is amazing. Not a bad track on it, totally recommend it. My favourite track changes but definitely between The Uninvited, Cry of Achilles and Waters Rising (Mark Tremonti and Myles Kennedy sharing vocals). Guitar pick necklace was claimed by my son to wear to the Glasgow gig!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its a secret for us to keep, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
if you want the commercial stuff this is not it . Alter Bridge are the rock worlds best kept secret. word of mouth fan base building and an Alliance between band and fans that is unbelievable.
fortress is album number 4 and is a monster rock record to compliment the first three albums.
try the samples and if its for you, welcome to AB. if not don't worry we are still the happiest fans on planet rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it !, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Short : Great hard rock album.Buy it !

Long : If you consider how many albums are worth it nowadays , you ' ll find , unfortunately , that they are a few. Let me tell you , that this one is one of the best albums ever , in the top 3 of the year for me ( Along with A7X's Hail to the king and Dream Theater's ) and probably a very strong step in Alter Bridge's discography. Amazing guitars , huge bass and great drums.The vocals are outstanding.It's Kennedy man , what do you expect ? The tracks , especially 'Cry Of Achilles' , are all a masterpiece of their own . The creativity stands very high for those guys. Would definitely suggest it to you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got all of Alter Bridges albums. This is an exceptional album by an exceptional band. If you enjoy good hard rock with great vocals and musicianship then you wont be disappointed with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Fantastic band fantastic album Delivery not bad. Don't think I need to say anything else, just buy it, and the back catalogue if you have not got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never disapointed by Alterbridge, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
This is another great album love these guys. I always buy their album as soon as its released and I have never been disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Don`t think alter bridge will ever top the first album ONE DAY REMAINS . However this is still a fantastic album and ticks all the right boxes. This is one of those albums that gets better the more times you play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GENUINELY EPIC PEICE OF WORK, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
I read a lot of reviews for this album ahead of going to see AB at Wembley this year. Some comments went so far as to call it their best album yet, which made me think "Hold on a minute ... they have done 3 immense albums ... are you sure this is that good?" but having listened to it non-stop for over a month I can honestly say they are right. Awesome song writing, superb musical blend and the tunes all just get inside your head. My particular favourites are the opening track Cry Of Achilles, track 4 Lover and track 9 Farther Than The Sun. That is now 4 stonking good albums from this band, who seem to get better with each release ... I heartily recommend you buy this ...somehow they have topped AB III ...and trust me that takes some doing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortress
Fortress by Alter Bridge (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews