Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cycling Training Book for Years
Bought this book with modest expectations ( There are so many books written on the topic of training ) Really pleasantly surprised, its just a good read. G.O. has clearly put the same amount of effort and approach into this book as he puts into his training. He writes well and says it as he sees it. 90% of his to the point advice would easily be corroborated by the...
Published 21 months ago by M. L. Knudsen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Having read the other reviews and given that he was very successful as a racing cyclist, I expected a lot more help than I actually got.
The chapter on food is laughable. His breathing technique is overly complicated. Other chapters seem to be thinly done or simply standard advice for example the psychology chapters (6 & 7) and the bike set up chapter.
On the...
Published 16 months ago by Parson Owner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cycling Training Book for Years, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Obree Way (Paperback)
Bought this book with modest expectations ( There are so many books written on the topic of training ) Really pleasantly surprised, its just a good read. G.O. has clearly put the same amount of effort and approach into this book as he puts into his training. He writes well and says it as he sees it. 90% of his to the point advice would easily be corroborated by the 100 other training related books and experts. The difference is that this is a fun book to read, it delivers much good advice and avoids B.S. I may not follow every suggestion, but I'll know that by ignoring some of this I'm less likely to get faster. Recommend this book for any serious cyclist who are interested in how training really works. Best of all you don't need a PhD in exercise physiology to get something from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Obree Way, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Obree Way (Kindle Edition)
I bought the original, autographed, edition sometime ago and now this new version for my Kindle. Re-read it with pleasure and will probably do it again! To say the author 'knows his stuff' would be an understatement of the year - you are buiyng a bit of cycling history with this book. Although largely aimed at competitive cyclists, many tips and techniques apply to everyone on two wheels who just wants to go a little faster. Refreshingly, no 'training schedule' or 'plan' in sight.
A great, inspiring read for all interested in the discipline and an insight into the mind of one of cycling greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and motivational, 2 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Obree Way (Kindle Edition)
Great read , a wealth of knowledge generously given from the technical riding sections on breathing and pedalling techniques to the psychological aspects of cycling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read and he has walked the walk! No BS in here., 20 Sept. 2013
By 
Zorba "Zarbos" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Obree Way (Paperback)
If you are interested in cycling at any level this is a very good book. If you are about to buy a bike it has constructive non commercially orientated advice, if you are a keen club cyclist it is stacked with practical non commercialised advice. He points out simple things that the manufacturers ad men might have you believe no longer apply, for example "the laws of physics have not changed" and on aerodynamics and materials for frame design (I won't say which material he refers to here "...they tend to be very blobby". Written in a style that is down to earth and comprehendable Graham Obree has achieved something here that few training manuals achieve, accessible and understandable information to the non medically trained reader and I guess of great interest to the medically trained.

The book is written from a base of knowledge and experience that few can rival and the best part for me is he clearly has no agenda to sell. He just wants to add value to your cycling experience whether you are a cyclist or an armchair fan or someone who wants to learn more about the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 20 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Obree Way (Paperback)
Having read the other reviews and given that he was very successful as a racing cyclist, I expected a lot more help than I actually got.
The chapter on food is laughable. His breathing technique is overly complicated. Other chapters seem to be thinly done or simply standard advice for example the psychology chapters (6 & 7) and the bike set up chapter.
On the whole I found the book difficult to read and the labelling of everthing with O'bree slightly ridiculous.
Joe Friel's Training Bible is still by far and away the best training guide for cyclists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so much a training manual...., 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Obree Way (Paperback)
Personally I would say that this is not so much a training manual, more a collection of training philosophies. Don't expect to open this book and learn exactly what you should be doing and when; it doesn't tell you (and to be fair, one underlying point Graham makes is that what is good for one person isn't necessarily good for all)... The problem is that despite reading and re-reading I'm not entirely sure what I should be doing... It says a 7 day training period isn't optimum but doesn't really say what is better... I think it recommends that you should do a hard turbo session at the beginning of each period, but I'm not entirely sure... Etc etc.

Each chapter is basically written as one long section of prose, which does make it more enjoyable to read (I pretty much read it cover to cover in one session; always a sign of a well written book), but that means it doesn't work as a quick reference guide (you can't flick through it to check a minor detail for instance).

Basically its a fun quirky book that will stay in my collection, but isn't like to get read or referenced very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cyclingmad, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Obree Way (Paperback)
An excellent book for all cyclists. I was particularly interested in his breathing technique. I race criteriums and road and sometimes find that my breathing is a limiter in certain races i.e. constant short sprint efforts. His analysis and explanation on breathing is insightful and makes a lot of sense. I will definitely be training with his technique to develop better control. For me, the final sections on the mental aspects of riding are the best part of the book. I have always enjoyed Jens Voigt's quote's and especially his 'Shut up Legs'. Well, the books digs into that very personal part of cycling i.e. How to deal with the pain and suffering and having the mental toughness and the right mindset to WIN! He writes about these subjects in a most personal way, as if your are in conversation with the author. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helping me to improve, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Obree Way (Paperback)
Graeme Obree is a legend, and this book sheds some light on how the good sports personalities can become great ones. Obree shares with the reader his training/stretching/breathing techniques, and winning mentality, in a down-to-earth manner that is easy to read.

As well as being extremely enjoyable, the information has helped me to improve my average speed on the turbo and on the road. All for the price of a pint, if you buy the kindle edition.

A no brainer for those of us who like to get out on a bike, and worth reading if you simply want an insight into the psyche of a sporting legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sets out his particular foibles, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Obree Way (Kindle Edition)
I'd originally skipped this as I had expected it to be rather predictable. In the end I relented, having been impressed on a tv program that he can be articulate, and obviously his results speak for themselves. As he acknowledges himself, it is more personal notes on preparing for a successful circa 1990's time trialling career. Mostly it is not ground-breaking, but gives some for thought. I'd put it on the long list of additional reading, unless you're an old school time triallist, in which case you'll own a signed copy already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More details wanted, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Obree Way (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this. Graeme Obree is an inspirational figure. His writing style is very readable. The chapters on motivation/psychology, nutrition, selection etc are all very interesting. However, the actual training chapter could have done with more detail for me.

- How to measure/work out when you are fully rested
- Some examples of training timetable

eg. Aerobic, Glycogen, rest, rest, Aerobic..
or Aerobic, Glycogen, rest, rest, rest, Aerobic

I was left with some questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Obree Way
The Obree Way by Graeme Obree
£12.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews