Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Road To Blu
Fans of HRTC the wait is over. The Blu-ray is finally here and the picture and sound is the best we could hope for. The picture quality looks great for it's age and the sound is pretty good too. It does have English subtitles and it's region free. No extras except for a trailer. I'm very happy with this Blu and I think you'll be too.
Published 16 months ago by ZZrider

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An undemanding old-fashioned but middling rather than high adventure
NB: For some reason known only to themselves, Amazon have unhelpfully lumped the reviews for various versions and formats of this film together - something they'll only change of enough people email their help pages to complain. This review refers to Hen's Tooth's US Region A-locked Blu-ray release and the Swedish DVD release.

One of Hong Kong studio Golden...
Published on 11 Jan. 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Road To China (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Great movie..fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HD?, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
Phillip T. Hammond (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Road To China (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I bought this film because it stars Tom Selleck and the reviews were quite good. Printed on the back of the sleeve it states that the sound is 5.1, my AV amp states that is stereo but it sounds mono. Out of the 107mins it is not really until 90mins that any real action occurs. Most of the film is occupied with the two mains stars shouting at each other. The picture quality is not up to HD standards, especially the first 30mins or so. The sound has a "lisp", as if it has been boosted too high in the beginning. I know it is a thirty year old film but I expected more than this from Tom Selleck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hokum But Fun Hokum, 21 May 2014
By 
Mike Blake (Deepest Debyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Road to China [ 1983 ] (DVD)
Rattles along like an Indian Jones adventure... which it was clearly meant to be emulating, and indeed Sellick was first choice for the role which made Ford a super-star. Excellent finale in the form of a battle between 'the people' and a Chinese Warlord. Fun interlude on the NWF and wild tribesmen (the leader played by Brian Blessed of full OTT roar mode). Shame the actual DVD was so poor - low colur saturation and projector noise. But hey, I paid less than the cost of a pint for it, including p&p!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Road to China [ 1983 ] (DVD)
Fantastic movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Road To China (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
A good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Road to China, 1 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Road to China [DVD] (DVD)
its been years since i saw this film - its a basic plot with some enjoyable perfomances including Brian Blessed. The quality of the film was poor with some interference but soundtrack is great. Its no blockbuster but if you fancy a sunday afternoon movie on a rainy day with a happy ending I would highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Road to China, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Road to China [ 1983 ] (DVD)
I was expecting something like "Indiana Jones", but there was far too much violence for my liking. The storyline was good and the scenery was brilliant. Tom Selleck's character was very believable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars under the net of good films, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
W. C. Chelton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ad venture film with a great john barry soundtrack very entertaining i would recomend this movie to everyone great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highroad to China, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the dvd might have another language, but the film is just as good as when l first saw it. EXCELLENT film, story and soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Road To China (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Road To China (Blu-ray)
High Road To China (Blu-ray) by Brian G. Hutton (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews