Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album but beware of the mess up by Amazon, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Robin (West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Its hard to find the 4 disc super deluxe box set released in 2013 on Amazon. It seems to be available as a download, but not as a box set of cd's. Beware - the link to a cd version on this page is to the wrong version. In fact many of the Amazon links are wrong.

Some of the reviews on this page date back to 2002 which can't be right as this was only released in 2013.

The 1973 LP - the first recorded after the death of Duane Allman and bassist Berry Oakley - is expanded to a super deluxe four-disc edition for its 40th anniversary (a 2 CD version is also available). It includes the album remastered, a disc of outtakes, rehearsals and jam sessions, and two discs of live material offering a complete 1973 concert recorded at The Winterland Ballroom in San Francisco.

Its a super bundle of 4 cd's but make sure you order the correct version.

This error must be affecting sales - which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers, 14 July 2002
By 
Callie (To the North) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers and Sisters (Audio CD)
I think this is the last great Allmans album.With brother Duane having moved on, Dickey Betts contributes some classics to the brothers set list.Gregg allman proves what a great blues vocalist he is with his world weary delivery.The album opens with "Wasted words" with some fine lyrics from Gregg.The two blues numbers are excellent with some fine lead guitar from Dickey at the end of "Jelly roll(Blues)the new piano player Chuck leavell adds some nice touches on "Come and go Blues" with Gregg's Hammond swirling as backup. The outstanding cut here is the rocker "Southbound" with brilliant interchange between Betts and Leavell."Jessica" as we know is a classic alongside Betts "Rambling man" "Pony boy" ends the album on a country song written by Betts,most of his solo material was country music. I can't end without mentioning bass player Brother Berry Oakley who had more freedom to play melodic bass lines due to the Allmans having two drummers.Brother Berry was killed in a motorbike crash just two blocks from where Duane was killed.After his death,for me ,that was the end of the magic !A band that didn't have much luck,but brought us some brilliant music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the first record i bought, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers And Sisters (Audio CD)
How time flies, i can't believe its 40 years since the release of brothers and sisters, the first album i bought aged 15.This album is a timeless classic, a change of direction musically, necessitated by the death of leader Duane.The band made the wise decision not to use a second guitarist, but went with a young pianist, Chuck Leavell. The original album still sounds as great as it ever did, but i recommend the deluxe 4 cd collection..Discs 3 and 4 contain a live concert from 1973 at the winterland, san fransisco.Dickey betts really comes into his own here, and i doubt if he ever played better before or since. check out rambling man live, some divine playing. the entire package is well worth the extra money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers, Sisters, Babies and Jeremy Clarkson, 4 Aug 2004
By 
dangermash (Hartlip, Kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers and Sisters (Audio CD)
This cd represented a change in direction for the Allmans. With Duane Allman no longer around, the decision was taken to stick with Dickey Betts as a lone guitarist and to bring in Chuck Leavell on piano. Two on drums, two on keyboards and one on guitar. Sounds weird, huh?

The music is the real change of direction, with Dickey taking a bigger role in the writing and the vocals. Net result is that five of the tracks have a country/blues feel to them. The exceptions are tracks 3 (a bit Supertrampy) and 4 (more Greg Allman bluesy). The country ones are the ones I prefer.

Track 6 (Jessica) if you didn't know is the theme music for Top Gear (or was until they replaced the Allmans version with something horrible, modern and tinny).

And track 7 is a great one for getting my baby son to sleep. I can sit him in my lap and tap my hands to the music on his thighs, and he's gone. Totally sparko! But I'm not telling the missus my secret.

All in all, an excellent album. I rate it above Eat a Peach and just below Beginnings and the Fillmore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A word about the 4-CD 'Super Deluxe' edition, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Andrew Sutherland "Sutho" (Surrey outposts) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers And Sisters (Audio CD)
Type ' Allman Brothers Brothers And Sisters' into the Amazon search and there's a confusing array of different versions to pick from - at least four different editions on CD; 3 of which just came out Summer 2013 from Universal - a regular 1CD version (with a remastered sound that upgrades the old Capricorn Classics edition); a pricier 'Deluxe' 2CD version and this, very pricey 4-CD 'Super Deluxe' edition which Amazon just list as 'Box Set'. (On Amazon.com it's rightly listed as '40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition'). Oddly, it's not been available direct from Amazon.co.uk a week or so since its release - only via 3rd party sellers, which is how I landed my copy. Some reviews I've read refer to it as being 'limited edition' although that's not stated anywhere on the box set itself or accompanying sticker. The version I bought is clearly a US import complete with FBI anti-piracy logo; perhaps there simply was no European pressing, hence the limited stock? It seems to be in short supply on lots of UK websites, not just this one. So is it worth going out of your way to pay extra for? In a word: yes (just about). What you're dealing with here is a 10-panel card wallet, with a 32-page booklet and 4 CDs: the (remastered) album itself; a bonus disc of rehearsals, jams and outtakes (all previously unreleased and all available with the regular 2CD deluxe edition) as well as two further discs devoted to a live performance at Winterland in San Francisco in Sep 1973, most of which are unreleased. The live discs are stunning - they've certainly been played a good deal more times by me than the album itself, which I like but don't love, or the second disc of outtakes, which feels a bit superfluous. If you want them on CD then forking out for the Super Deluxe version is your only option. The packaging's nice-looking but infuriatingly impractical; my discs are all scuffed already because they slide in and out of the cardboard wallet; there's no protective jewel case-type tray. A common mistake but doubly annoying when you're paying 40+. Anyway you could just download it for 15 - probably best if you don't have a compulsive need to own the CD itself as I do. Otherwise, yes, it's a pain to go out of your way and pay handsomely for a badly designed box set ... but then the live performance of Whipping Post alone is worth it for me. Insanely good. Wish they'd just released the concert as a stand-alone double CD though, for a tenner or so.... but then ripping off the loyal fan seems to have become the big record company's M.O. Stupidly, I go along with it. Will again next week when the new Dylan bootleg is offered in standard and `Deluxe' version for 75. Criminal. But I'm stupid enough to cough up because I love the music. Rant over. Enjoy (if you have the money).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brothers & sisters by the allman brothers band, 7 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Brothers and Sisters (Audio CD)
I've always loved the sound of the electric lead guitar and although I've heard music by some incredibly talented and skilful players since this album was made, the quality of the playing is enough for it to remain an album that I can return to again and again without ever getting fed up.
If you like lead guitar coupled with good songs and good general all round musicianship then buy this album and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Brothers and Sisters (Audio CD)
Admittadly not gound breaking and never considered an essential record by anyone regards the history of Rock Music, but for me brilliant. Definatly one of my all time top five favourite albums. Despite the loss of key members, Duane Allman and Berry Oakley in traffic road accidents the band made a breathtaking album here. The opening track Wasted Words is the only one that dips below brilliant. No matter how good a mood you are in, the instrumental Jessica will always get you a touch happier, Come and Go Blues sounds so tired and lazy until a brilliant bridge and guitar solo. Jelly Jelly ( Stormy Monday )eases in then hits you with left hook of a guitar at the end. The Country sounding Rambling Man has brilliant guitar work..... need i go on , just buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers & Sisters (4 CD Box Set 2013 Remaster), 23 July 2013
This review is from: Brothers And Sisters (Audio CD)
Brothers & Sisters is my favorite album from The Allman Brothers. This 4 CD box set has the original album on disc 1 in remastered format. The sound is quite different from the well known CD version I have had for over 20 years. It is not as top end, has a warmer sound to my ears. Brothers & Sisters is one of the most emotional, powerful albums of the 1970s and I never tire of it.
Now the bonus CDs are interesting, the studio outtakes, jams and demos CD is a bit of a let down for me. Nothing on it comes close to the released album except for the alternative blues 'Early morning blues' has the same backing track as Jelly Jelly.
The songs are ok but just don't overwhelm me.
The Live CDs 3 & 4 are brilliant. Sound very fresh and very cohesive. This is a band on the top of its game. I am surprised how many songs performed at this 1973 concert that were issued on Fillmore East 1971 album. Only 5 tracks from Brothers & Sisters are performed live, and they are as good if not better than the studio versions.
The sound on the live CDs is exceptional, with Greggs organ more up front compared to other issues of some of these tracks. The booklet is a nice read with good session info.
Overall this box is a good buy if you are a fan of The Allman Brothers Band and good blues and jamming of some great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST POST DUANE RECORDING !!, 30 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Brothers and Sisters (Audio CD)
Brothers and Sisters displays a landmark turn in the recording history of The Allman Brothers Band. Duane is gone (R.I.P), and his space in the band is filled by a new brother, Chuck Leavell, an amazing pianist, who maybe doesn't replace Duane's top notch slide guitar playing, but definately adds a new dimension to the Brothers. Listen to the pounding piano solo's on "Come And Go Blues" and "Jessica", and you will immediately see what i mean. Brothers and Sisters, to me is the end of an era, the old Allmans vein is gone and a new one is just beginning. A brilliant album, the best post Duane recording !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last great Allman Brothers album, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers And Sisters (Audio CD)
If you haven't cranked up this album for a while, by all means pick up this deluxe version and rock out. Outstanding from beginning to end, it was a remarkable achievement considering the band lost leader Duane Allman a year before, and bassist Berry Oakley during recording. Both Gregg Allman and guitarist Dickie Betts are in stellar form, Betts delivering with countrified hit Rambling Man and his greatest instrumental, Jessica. Gregg's blues drawl has never been used better than on Wasted Words, Come and Go Blues and Southbound. The slide playing may lack Duane's searing attack (Dickie didn't like playing slide, apparently), but Betts' melodic lines and guitar harmonies became the band's new trademark. The bonus disc features plenty of great Allman jamming, including One Way Out and other stage songs they rehearsed to work brilliant pianist Chuck Leavell into the band. The instrumental version of Southbound is truly dynamic. To this day they remain a great live band, despite many personnel changes, but they never reached these heights in the studio again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brothers And Sisters
Brothers And Sisters by The Allman Brothers Band
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews