Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book. But will I remain an amazon customer?
I bought from amazon pretty much since its inception and became a loyal customer. That's why I enjoyed reading this book (on my kindle, of course) to reconstruct the company's history that I knew from a customer's perspective: the vast book offering at first, then the additions such as "search inside this book", customer reviews, amazon marketplace, the increasing...
Published 16 months ago by Dr Jekyll

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The rise and rise of Amazon.
Amazing story of a man's focus and determination to make a new technology thrive well beyond most business peoples scope of vision. Bezos attention to what matters to customers and the relentless pursuit of competitive edge should be a wake up call to all business's that trade not just online! it is a window on the future happening right now!
Published 12 months ago by Kevin Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon the greatest retailer of all time?, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
This book was a really great read for those interested in the online revolution that we are living through and business books that explain how successful businesses operate.

It appears to have been written with a great deal of help from people at Amazon and yet was not afraid to paint a picture warts and all about the Company and its founder Jeff Bezos. If I had seen that the author was someone like Tom Bower who is known for his fearless exposes of leading business figures I would not have been surprised.so you have to give full credit to Jeff Bezos for not trying to stop this book which painted a far from flattering portrait of him. But of course it was the honesty of the book that made it such an intriguing read.

Here you saw Business red in tooth and claw. It was so different from the story that many Internet companies portray about nice cuddly but highly intelligent people coming up with life enhancing new technologies and in the process making squillions

Although maybe when you think about it Jeff Bezos is not the only very forceful and idiosyncratic character in this world. Look at Steve Jobs or even Bill Gates. Perhaps the reality is that to build a billion dollar company you have to be pretty determined and when necessary ruthless.

What this book also did so well was really explain what Amazon was about and how it has achieved its dominant position. Clearly Jeff Bezos was not just someone who stumbled into this and got lucky. He was a visionary who from day one saw the potential of this idea and then moved it forward to a scale that no one else had understood was possible and was able to do that whilst often being in a major loss making situation.

Again this compares with so many other Internet success stories where uniquely for small businesses that grow big it is often possible to develop a business that is cash positive from near the beginning of the journey. I believe for example Microsoft has never owed money since it was founded and only went public because it allowed employees to cash in and the Company to have a bigger public profile

In so many ways Jeff Bezos breaks the mould and yet ultimately like Google he has completely come to dominate his competitors and set the basis for a Company that actually seems to have unlimited growth potential

This is one of the great business books of the last 14 years and is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The everything company, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant and the most entertaining book that I have read for a long time. I like the predictive text!
Certainly JB must be one of the most demanding people to work for. The detailed analysis of the rise of the company is captivating.
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!!, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
Incredibly inspirational and entertaining read. Jeff Bezos deserves to be successful since he and his team have created a wonderful recipe for retailing, especially for those of us who prefer not to journey into town every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Amazon milestones, 5 Feb. 2014
By 
Laurence Dann "LD strategy" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
There has been heaps of information in the media about Amazon over the past two decades. I have been remiss in not reading much of it at all. Consequently, I though this book would fill me in on the main threads and events on the life of a huge global force in retail and technology. On this front, I have not been disappointed.

The book is fairly well researched, but does suffer from chronology problems. I think this is due to the selection of the chapters. The end result is that there is quite bit of repetition and is sluggish in parts. The storyline does dovetail broadly over the firm's life but is insufficiently linear to build a good rhythm and momentum for the reader. That said, for someone of limited knowledge on the subject (like me) it was tolerable. For Amazon buffs, this may be a problem.

I found the criticism to be fairly balanced in also highlighting quirky management styles, testosterone, ruthless negotiating, threats to staff that left of their own free will and the financial stinginess. Bezos, was depicted as an intelligent, eccentric, driven, relentless innovator, with enormous dreams. His ego too is not spared criticism, yet the Writer's terms both missionary and mercenary seem most apt.

I would have liked more insights into the thinking and the strategy of the technical heads regards their development and evolving of their information strategy and data mining. (if possible of course) The brains trust that created a computer software network that was sold or rented to big clients intrigues me. Also, the 'scorched earth' style pricing strategy to clear competition and win market supremacy is controversial and would have created many enemies.

Only passing paragraphs are given to companies bought, sold and dumped. Many mistakes were made on the way and the shareholders were notoriously forgiving. Bezos certainly was mooted to have the Midas touch even when losses were relentless.

The book is not sordid or tacky, venting needless gossip. It also doesn't go into depth, as I mentioned earlier, so as a first step into finding out about Bezos, the consumer strategist - this is a book I liked and recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insights into the amazing story of Amazon, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
Reads like a thriller at times and full of interesting bits about how Amazon became the behemoth it is today. Must read for anyone interested in the digital world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant tour of the Amazon story and founder, Jeff Bezos - probably the best CEO in technology today. Looking forward to the sequel in 10 years, as Amazon's best years may still be ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
Interesting background on how Amazon grew from a small book operation in Jeff Bezos' garage to become the world's biggest online retailer. Many of the company's principles still hold true today.

An easy must-read for anyone interested in business and / or retail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yep, they covered everything, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
A little hard to follow at times - which year are we in again? The book nonetheless does a good job of capturing the energy and ambition of Jeff Bezos and how he projected this relentlessness onto his company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jeff this message is for you as well as all your customers, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
Jeff Bezos is clearly a complete nutter, but my sort of nutter - a brilliant and visionary guy. This is a really well told business story, so no wonder it won the Financial Times business book of the year award. So keep up the great work all you poor sods at Amazon, and tell Jeff from me he doesn't need to be quite so hard on you guys - in my view you all deserve a break and a big pay rise or a bonus - Jeff can afford it and I'm sure Amazons' customers won't mind, given the great deals you give us. If in doubt ask us - be really radical and different!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In-depth Case Study, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed the entire book. Having always been interested in how Amazon came to be the behemoth they are mixed with the fact I too will have my own ecommerce business, much of the books content was both inspirational and informative.

If you're interested in Amazon, retail, business or how we can all push boundaries, 'The Everything Store' by Brad Stone is a perfect read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews