Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

  • Close
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2013
The 25th anniversary re-issue of Close was a welcome reminder of my 80s pop roots, as much as it was an unwelcome reminder that 25 years had passed since I bought it on vinyl the first time round at the tail end of my primary school days.

I've dabbled in Kim's work over the years and indulged in a Greatest Hits collection since then, but it was Close that for me represents her finest work - and it was far from the start of her career. The set list hangs together perfectly and produced rich pickings for singles, though arguably most tracks on the album could have been put out as a seven-inch. Hey Mr Heartache sounds a little tame these days when memory told me it was a bit more experimental in its day, but it's good to hear it again. You Came remains a great song, as does Four Letter Word, but it was always Never Trust a Stranger that did it for me. One of the most perfect pop records ever made, it's nice to have the extended version included here on a set so far expanded that it more than doubles the track listing.

Some of the extended mixes are little too similar to warrant inclusion but you get the impression that a lot of thought went into this package and that fans of Kim, and good old fashioned 80s pop in general will love it.

If you remember the singles charts of 1988 in all their glory, or the school discos, buy this re-issue and take a trip down memory lane. Definitely one to bring a smile to your face.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
Close marked a return to form for Kim Wilde and is her best work since the early 80s RAK albums. The tracks You Came and Never Trust A Stanger are arguably amongst Kim's strongest singles. Though the production is decidedly 80s, the album still sounds fresh today which is down to the quality of the songs. It would be great to see this album re-issued with the inclusion of bonus tracks as has happened with previous albums.
55 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Kim Wilde's 1988 "Close" album is being re-issued 2nd September 2013 as a 2 Disc Expanded '25th Anniversary Edition'.

Full Track Listing

CD1
1.Hey Mister Heartache
2.You Came
3.Four Letter Word
4.Love In The Natural Way
5.Lovefs A No
6.Never Trust A Stranger
7.Youfll Be The One Whofll Lose
8.European Soul
9.Stone
10.Lucky Guy
11.Tell Me Where You Are
12.Wotcha Gonna Do?
13.She Hasnft Got Time For You f88
14.Hey Mister Heartache (Single Version)
15.You Came (Single Version)
16.Never Trust A Stranger (Single Version)
17.Love In The Natural Way (Video Edit)
18.You Came (Shep Pettibone US Single Version)

CD2
1.Hey Mister Heartache (12 Version)
2.Hey Mister Heartache (Kilo Watt Remix)
3.Hey Mister Heartache (Bonus Beats) *
4.Hey Mister Heartache (Acapella With Percussion) *
5.You Came (12 Version)
6.You Came (Shep Pettibone 12 Mix)
7.You Came (Dub Version #1)
8.You Came (Dub Version #2)
9.Never Trust A Stranger (12 Version)
10.Never Trust A Stranger (Sanjazz Mix)
11.Four Letter Word (12 Version)
12.Four Letter Word (Late Night Mix)
13.Love In The Natural Way (Extended Version)

* These 2 tracks have not been previously released!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
A great album and an almost great re-issue. I came here to say only one thing - Two of the tracks are not sourced from master tapes;

'Hey Mister Heartache [7" Version]' is a vinyl rip. You can hear crackling at the start and end.

'You Came [Shep Pettibone 7" US Edit]' is from... I don't know what! It sounds like they downloaded the audio from YouTube. There's distortion and a definite dip in quality.

These are two of the rarer tracks to be included so if you're buying for these tracks in particular, perhaps reconsider. If you can't tell, I'm rather disappointed myself.
2525 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2004
Close is one of Ms. Wilde's better albums out of print. The album features mostly upbeat catchy melodies and fine arrangements, like Hey Mr Heartache (both the album and 12" versions), You Came, and Love In The Natural Way. Hopefully, the label will see fit to release a remastered version (with additional tracks!) soon.
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2004
'Close' is arguably the best album from Kim Wilde. With 'Close' she finally finished maturing her sound into a sophisticated mix of dancefloor and lounge. It was a pity though that this album also saw the effective end of her chart career.
Tracks like 'Never Trust a Stranger' and You Came' are fairly well known but there are other tracks such as the 'European Soul' and 'Four Letter Word' which are well worth a listen also.
This album was a fitting finale to my 1980s schoolboy crush on the spike-haired faux-Punk goddess that gave us 'Kiss In America' and 'Water On Glass'. Ah, me ...
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Had this on record so decided to up date to cd, one of Kim's best albums sould of been bigger hits.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
I am not necessarily a Kim Wilde fan; I loved Kids in America and Keep Me Hanging On. However, this is one of my favourite albums of the 80's. Filled with stunning singles (You Came, Never trust a stranger, Four Letter Word being my personal favourites), the quality of the rest of the album is just as good; there are no fillers. Stone and European Soul are beautiful and were worthy of a single release. This album sounds as relevant now as it did in 1988.
What makes this reissue even better is the addition of the albums b-sides, and all the Sinlges remixes, both 7" and 12". The only songs that sound like 80's tracks are in fact the added b-sides.
This is genuinely a top quality release and for lovers of classic albums, who love pop perfection and beautiful ballads, this should be in your collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
I bought all 5 singles from this album, all 5 were UK Top 40 hits (3 of them Top 10). Bizarrely the weakest track (in my opinion Hey Mr Heartache) was chosen as the first single. This album still sounds really good with great production and the remaining tracks could have been singles in their own right. Never Trust A Stranger (wise words indeed!) is truly epic - a great thunderous maelstrom of a song. An awful lot of 80's albums sound very dated these days but this has aged extremely well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
all the remixes and original songs at last with bonus tracks all together - with some not seen on record either - expanded and remastered a gem to last for years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.77

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)