Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good album that is now almost great.
Always had a soft spot for this CD. Has two of the greatest Marillion guitar breaks that they have ever recorded (these Chains and 3 Minute Boy) The sound and mix was always too dense and flat for me. Marillion were never happy with the sound apparenlty so hence the remix. Now Steve H can actually be understood. This remix lifts the vocals, sharpens the guitar strings...
Published 21 months ago by Jonathan Brown

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why?
Radiation, the original mix, is one of the most underrated albums from Marillion, if not the most. It includes some brilliant pieces, as Cathedral Walls and A Few Words For The Dead, but many people complained for the mix, too dense, too noise too...Even if I have to admit that it was a very different sound for a band that tends to be too "sonically correct", I...
Published 10 months ago by Beowulf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good album that is now almost great., 5 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
Always had a soft spot for this CD. Has two of the greatest Marillion guitar breaks that they have ever recorded (these Chains and 3 Minute Boy) The sound and mix was always too dense and flat for me. Marillion were never happy with the sound apparenlty so hence the remix. Now Steve H can actually be understood. This remix lifts the vocals, sharpens the guitar strings and fills out the bass. Some songs given a slight reworking but always sounding good.
Only gripes are that despite the great work done on these mixes there is a little more care needed. The final track fades then is suddenly abruptly cut off and the space between the tracks seems not to flow as well. That aside, I prefer the remix and the high points of exaltation ( of which there are many) are now truly three dimensional. I would love this approach on more of this period Marillion.
A much underrated album that demands reappraisal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time to reappraise this underrated album, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
For me, the original version of Radiation was within an ace of being one of the great Marillion albums. That it has always been seen as a disappointment by so many Marillion fans has more to do with the original mix, rather than the songs or arrangements. Steve Rothery and Mark Kelly went out on a limb with many of their guitar and keyboard sounds, which took them out of their comfort zone and challenged the listener by giving them something different to what they might usually expect from the band, in terms of a 'Marillion sound'.
This was the first time Marillion didn't use an outsider to either produce or mix an album - it was co-produced with their in-house studio engineer, who also mixed it. I guess that a mixture of inexperience, lack of objectivity by not having an outsider involved, as well as the financial constraints the band found themselves under at the time (having left EMI, this were signed to a tin-pot indie label) led to the poor production.
The accompanying tour saw virtually all the songs played from Radiation and they sounded terrific - pity that such a great set of songs didn't get the final mix they deserved on the studio versions. Glad to see a long-overdue remix now available. I'd always hoped Steven Wilson would have been drafted in to overhaul this. Nontheless, Michael Hunter has improved the sound enough to allow songs like 'Now She'll Never Know' and 'Born To Run' to really breathe - the latter particularly sounds fantastic. Can't wait to hear this album played in its entirety at the forthcoming UK Convention. For me, this was the last time Marillion actually made an album that wasn't ruined by being either too long or too inconsistent, or both.(This clock in at a perfect 47 minutes and doesn't have a bad track). Time to reappraise and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation!!!, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
I reviewed the original 1998 recording of 'Radiation' on here, advising people to avoid it. It was an album I never really cared for, and one which I thought would signal the death knell for the band. Marillion's desire for cross-over success saw them trying to emulate the 'cool' bands of the time, such as Radiohead, rather than cut their own groove. The end result was awful. 'Radiation' was poorly recorded, poorly produced and way too radical.
When I heard that long-time Marillion producer and engineer Mike Hunter was going to remix the album, I could hear the sound of turds being polished, but being the sucker I am, invested in this re-imagined version of the record. Thank god I did.
'Radiation 2013' is an absolute revelation. The fade in of samples of album tracks, culminating in Steve Hogarth's primal scream, which opened the original album is gone. Instead, we simply have the tongue in cheek, bluegrass style intro that leads into 'Under the Sun'. This track gets things moving in some style. Whereas the original version sounds congested and noisy, this version is vibrant, has layered vocals and a good, clean balance of keyboards and riffage.
'The Answering Machine', to be fair is still an awful track in my opinion. Why Marillion didn't stick with the Tull-esque, acoustic guitar based version of the song (as featured on 'Unplugged at the Walls') is a mystery. The song is just a racket with no focus. That being said, the annoying vocal effects have been removed and we have a better, cleaner performance.
I always thought that 'Three Minute Boy' was one of the only highlights on 'Radiation', so I was curious as to what a different mix would do to an already good song. What Mike Hunter has done here is take a good track and turn it into a great one. Every nuance and subtlety in the music is there and the backing vocals have been enhanced, giving the song a lovely, open sound and a real, widescreen feel. The Reeves and Mortimer impersonations at the end of the track have also been thankfully, edited out.
'Now She'll Never Know' has never been one of my favourites. I felt that the original was too sparse and minimalist. Lyrically it was way too personal for comfort and Hogarth's vocals were barely audible. This version has Hogarth front and centre with the backing a touch louder, allowing for little touches that were lost in the original recording to shine through. It's now a better song, although nowhere near a classic.
Like 'Three Minute Boy', I always thought that 'These Chains' was already a decent track that perhaps didn't need tinkering with. How wrong I was. Again, this song has been opened up and has more colour. The orchestral sweeps that were so low in the original mix, now come bursting through, giving 'These Chains' the rousing, uplifting finale that it deserved.
Next up is 'Born to Run' which is a bit of an oddity. The idea of Marillion doing a blues song should be the stuff of nightmares. As it happened, the original was ok, but nothing special despite a great guitar solo from Steve Rothery. This version is a slight improvement in so far as Steve Hogarth's vocals take centre stage and you can here Rothery's guitar a lot clearer in the verses. The problem with this track is that it's just a bit too dreary and being a Boltonian, I find Hogarth's idea of 'people of the north' to be a touch cliched! Not Marillion's finest hour song-wise by a long stretch, but not a complete disaster either.
'Cathedral Wall' is next and truly benefits from a new mix. The song is less distorted and more powerful. The dual layered vocals are cleaner, more audible and effective and the track is slightly bassier, giving it some much needed beef in the louder moments.
'A Few Words For The Dead' has always been a track that I've never been able to decide whether or not I like. I always felt that it took too long to get going and that when it finally got moving, it ended too quickly. This mix is just fresher and like most of the new mixes, brings out little nuances that weren't there in the original recordings. The 'payoff' in the track also sounds better with a much sharper attack and a smoother fade.
All in all, 'Radiation 2013' finally sounds like a Marillion album. The songs are allowed to shine without the constraints of pointless studio effects. There's a new energy to the tracks that gives the album a whole new vibe. Even the cover artwork is improved.
It's amazing what a new mix can do to an album and it can't be underestimated what Mike Hunter has done with this music. He has achieved the feat of actually making a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Thanks to him, the individual performances are there for us to hear in all their glory; Steve Hogarth's vocal performances are astonishing, Steve Rothery's guitarwork is incredible, Mark Kelly's keyboards and effects add wonderful texture and the rhythm section of Pete Trewavas and Ian Mosely hammer the music home with their usual technical precision. The frustrating thing is that all those elements were already there. They were just buried somewhere undetectable in a shoddy original mix. It's just taken a new, more discerning ear to find them and bring them out.
Marillion fans should discount the original version and go with this. The band themselves should thank Hunter on bended knee for helping to put what was a real duffer right up there with some of the band's most satisfying output.
I'd now like to see him unleashed on 'Fugazi' and 'Marillion.com'. Now that would be interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
Radiation, the original mix, is one of the most underrated albums from Marillion, if not the most. It includes some brilliant pieces, as Cathedral Walls and A Few Words For The Dead, but many people complained for the mix, too dense, too noise too...Even if I have to admit that it was a very different sound for a band that tends to be too "sonically correct", I find the final result much more interesting than other albums from that period like This Strange Engine or Marillion dot Com. This new mix offers a more "fasionable" production, clean and crisp, but I have to say, cold and devoided of emotion. I can imagine that most people who hated the original sond will probably feel more comfortable with this one but that's not my case. The original mix, with all its faults, was personal and different, nos this one sounds like any other Marillion album, which is not bad, but is not special and definitively not exciting at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad songs are bad songs... remix/remaster how you will., 9 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
I bought this because I hated the original.

I hated the original but was tired of Marillion fans (many of whom are loyal to the point of stupidity) said the remastered album made it sound completely different. It was a transformation.

So... I listened to it and though a couple of tracks have more 'energy'. Its still a dreadful album. The songs are poor.. (This coming from a Marillion fan who has bought all the other albums (there you go Lucy Jordache) not subscribed to their pathetic poor value, way in advanced funding schemes and hated the last monstrosity they put out, I even used to be a member of the fan club...

But there is no point to this album... Obviously identified as a weak spot (hence the remastering); you cant make a silk purse out of a sows ear... This is a Sows ear... as is 'Somewhere Else'. To be frank... the new one isnt far off them either... but if the Marill fanbase would listen to other music instead of heading up big 'Campaigns to vote Marillion album of the year' out of blind loyalty without actually bothering to listen to other albums you would hear as much. I'm certainly not alone in thinking you're not an objective bunch.

Oh and the original cover was way better too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - the album in a new light, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
The radiation album has some great songs on it but I always felt it suffered from the production. This new version is more than technical clean up. The new version of answering machine without the muffled vocal alone makes this album well worth £10. Born to run and three minute boy also have a new lease of life. If this was the radiation album I'd heard first time round it'd be up there with brave and marbles. Well worth rediscovered this 'new' album which has been given a new lease of life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better, 7 April 2013
By 
R. Armour (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
I had bought a couple of the madfish repackages - really love the hard back book format. Anyway when I saw they had remixed Radiation, I was a bit dubious about the whole thing. I mean a double album old mix /new mix looked like a potential ripoff. But the new mix is brilliant. There are real guitars in there - that's what struck me the most listening to it. Voices and instruments seem clearer. Anyway I have played the new mix 4 times and have gone nowhere near the old mix. I will eventually listen to this version of the old mix ...but the new mix is just so much better and clearer. The songs seem less homogenised - they have more detail. It's hard to explain without doing another track by track analysis - which has been done really well in the reviews already already. If you are on the fence about getting this - do yourselves a favour and get it. Now if they could do the same for a certain Rush comeback album ...but those plans seem to have vapourised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (MP3 Download)
I am a fan of this bsnd .their sound captures many emotions. Life begins with Marillion! The brain auditions at my window.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marillion-so underrated., 6 July 2013
By 
B. J. du Cille (West Bromwich, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
Good songs well written and performed by a seriously good band. Hogarth is brilliant as a front man and writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radiation 2013 (Audio CD)
i cannot put into words how good this band is. an alround brilliant album the musicianship is top notch a must for all marillion fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Radiation 2013
Radiation 2013 by Marillion
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews