Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read
Piers Morgan has a very engaging way with words and this book provides a fascinating and varied insight into the world of American News and Hollywood.
Published 1 month ago by M. Roper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guns & More Guns
This crusade took up too much of the book & it became boring. The least readable of all his books
Published 2 months ago by Miss Luminita Mahmood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guns & More Guns, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
This crusade took up too much of the book & it became boring. The least readable of all his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read, 8 Mar 2014
By 
M. Roper (Hazel Grove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
Piers Morgan has a very engaging way with words and this book provides a fascinating and varied insight into the world of American News and Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
Piers Morgans style of writing is exceptional in this diary it is a great insight of all that goes on behind the scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Life in American, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
That's it really, it follows the path Piers has taken since moving permanently to America. The main theme of the book being his strength of character in tackling the Gun Laws that have allowed any American to hold arms to defend themselves. His point being that you don't need automatic rifles and machine guns to do that.
It would be nice to think that Americans would buy this book and learn from reading it. Something tells me after reading the book, that that will not be the case. So yes it's okay but not gripping as we Brits are not as familiar with the people he interviews. The Diary format works very well, could he have picked this format up from The Honourable Tony Benn?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit self indulgent, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed the first three diaries of Mr Morgan. They have been informative- he does a good job of explaining the American electoral system and entertaining. In this one he seemed just a little to pleased with himself. While the gun control issue is an admirable cause and I am glad he has taken it on even if it won't go anywhere, there were too many tales of famous people telling him how wonderful he was in bringing the cause to the public's attention even if there was risk of deportation. George Clooney had a brief appearance- too brief to warrant a mention in the title. The American issues with gay rights and gay marriage are well depicted and God appears as the arc to bring them altogether. Having read the other books I can now see the pattern. Piers see trouble brewing and then shortly after the problem is revealed to the general public. It's as if he is the great seer and this is getting a little tired. His journey to replace Larry King is interesting and the right wing guests on his show are an eye opener. I can't watch CNN but I do check YouTube if I read about his more interesting confrontations in the Mail on Sunday (his weekly column). He briefly mentions his former colleagues at the News of the World who are currently standing trial for the phone hacking... I wonder if he can predict the outcome of that saga. While I am still a fan and the book is generally good it is not his best but still worth a read. Now I want to go back and read the first three again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and funny, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
Different to previous piers' books, much less about celebs with more political content but still an excellent read. Very insightful into the gun issues facing the USA today. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Self serving, 5 Jan 2014
By 
A. J. Cooper (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
While there is much interesting anecdote, it is mainly there to promote and defend Mr. Morgan. Nonetheless, I would recommend it to people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
I follow Piers on Twitter and love it. This book is more of the same; funny, informative, thought provoking and a thoroughly good read. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does shoot straight, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a journal which just flows from page to page and cannot be really faulted. Maybe it could have included a little more of Piers families life and their experiences of now living in Amercia. The book ended with Piers fine campaign for gun control and the freighting idiots he has already encounted on this campaign
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank god for Piers, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant insight into the insanity of some Americans. The all powerful NRA believes the only way to stop mass shootings is to allow pretty much anyone to have a gun. Shocking that the deaths of so many people especially children does not make people want,a change in law. Very much I love my gun more than you, shocking. Keep up the fight Piers, somebody has to be the advocate for the innocent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb443a0a8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews