Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dripping with Nostalgia.
What an innovative and brilliant series MadMen is.
Set in a 1960's advertising agency on Madison Avenue, hence the title MADison MEN this whole show is about relationships
and corporate America.
Using real products and Brands from the time, which evoke strong memories as well. the show centres around Don Draper played by the outstanding John Hamm . We watch...
Published 2 months ago by S. Broadbent

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE DISC I. 3 / AND 1. 2 ...
THE DISC I .3 / AND 1.2.3. DISCS ON SEASON TWO HAVE A PROBLEM OF STOPPING AND JERKING, I HAVE PLAYED THESE DISC ON 2 DIFFERENT RECORDERS AND MY LAPTOP STILL THE SAME PROBLEM. I HAVE NOT REPOTED THIS PROBLEM BEFORE KNOW BECOUSE I DID NOT WANT TO GO THOUGH THE PROBLEM OF REPACKING AND SENDING THEM BACK. DENNIS RIORDAN
Published 4 months ago by dennis riordan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dripping with Nostalgia., 26 Feb. 2015
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
What an innovative and brilliant series MadMen is.
Set in a 1960's advertising agency on Madison Avenue, hence the title MADison MEN this whole show is about relationships
and corporate America.
Using real products and Brands from the time, which evoke strong memories as well. the show centres around Don Draper played by the outstanding John Hamm . We watch his car crash lifestyle and the creation of his own agency develop at a nice pace with gripping storylines that are entirely believable.
the show is brilliantly written, the attention to detail astonishing (Time Period) and the acting is superb.
Watch the first couple of episodes from series one and you will be hooked.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CAROUSEL OF NOSTALGIA, 17 July 2013
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
When things get bad, we tend to look to the past. And the bleaker the future looks, the further back we search for comfort. As the new millennium keeps disappointing us, TV shows set on the 50's and the 60's (once a rarity) keep growing in numbers. Many have tried and failed. MAD MEN tried and closed the deal. And have been doing so for 6 seasons now.

Meet Don Draper (Jon Ham), a Madison Avenue water-walker (and based on real life ad-man, George Lois). He is an enigma wrapped in a mystery. He is brilliant and secretive. He wants to keep walking the tight rope with no safety net. And definitely no contract. He is a chain-smoking, hard liqueur guzzling, womanizing alpha male. He is a loving father of three, married to a picture-perfect ex model. He has it all. And yet he cannot find peace. Because he learned early on that the world is always yawning at your heels, eager to yank everything you love away.

From bursting with joie-de-vivre Roger Sterling (hilarious John Slattery) and ever scheming Pete Cambell (baby-faced Vincent Kartheiser) to the gorgeous women (such as barbie January Jones and refined Jessica Paré as his first and second wife, respectively), the cast is one perfect pick after another. And the writing is brilliant, reproducing the tastes and smells and nuisances of the era around Camelot, while drawing you in to the personal stories of characters polished yet inevitably flawed.

The 50's and the 60's were before my time so it is not nostalgia that makes me love the show. Yes, I find the era mesmerizing and (probably undeservingly) less complicated. If nothing else, though, back then they knew how to dress. Women looked feminine and men looked manly. You see January Jones on the red carpet, for example, all dressed up and groomed for a Hollywood function - and that modern image cannot hold a candle to herself dressed for everyday(!) life in the early 60's. When did we loose it? When did we decide men should stop wearing suits and hats and women should start wearing sweat-suits outside the house? I, for one, blame the hippies!

This is one of the best TV shows ever and this box-set includes all seasons, 1 though 6. Season 7 has been green-lighted whereas we can only hope that the show will not stop there. As I have said again before, good TV is best watched on DVD. Make weekends out of it. It is much more enjoyable to watch an entire season in a couple of days than having to wait week(s) between episodes. And (quite ironically, in this case), you will not have to suffer the...commercials.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M(AD) MEN, 18 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD collection features 18 discs and all 78 episodes, up to and including the very latest 6th Season, of the truly brilliant Mad Men Series. A series that The Times called the "planet's coolest TV drama".

The first Season of Mad Men kicked off featuring the time period between March and November 1960 in New York's Madison Avenue.

It was Peggy Olson's first day at the office of advertising agency Sterling Cooper. The new kid on the block was secretary to (M)ad man Don Draper. He seemed to be one of the head honchos in the outfit.

This was the launch pad for all that followed through the next several years, including the Swinging Sixties.

Totally engrossing, this box set takes us bang up to date where the series is now - at the end of Season 6.

Political incorrectness runs rife. Cigarette smoke is everywhere. Cringe at the treatment women receive and have to put up with in this era. Look at all those typewriters and carbon paper!

Showered with industry awards, the retro cool Mad Men was one of the best drama series to hit TV screens in a long time. Last time I looked, it had won a staggering 15 Emmys, 4 Golden Globes and 2 BAFTAs. It will probably have won something else before this review is finished.

This collection would make a fantastic Xmas present for some lucky individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well I am hooked, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
It took a couple of episodes before I was hooked. I had forgotten how non-pc the 50s and 60s were! I am now waiting for season 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She loved it and has started to atch it all over ..., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my partner to watch whilst she was recovering from a foot operation. I didnt hear her for over 2 weeks. WOW!

She loved it and has started to atch it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect present!, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a Christmas present as requested. The recipient seemed very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Very good value for money compared against similar deals.
Great watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mad about amdman, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
great way to catch up on favorite show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series., 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is brilliant especially if you like the 50's. The characters draw you in as you get to know them. Really worth watching but be patient as it takes time to get going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
3 months of entertainment sorted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD]
Mad Men - Season 1-6 [DVD] by Jon Hamm (DVD - 2013)
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews