Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 18 August 2013
I really enjoyed this story. It is another great read from Mr Nuttall in his Empires Corps series. Again it is realistic and believable read and does not get bogged down with Sci-Fi techno babble.
The main character is strong and likeable and is once again different to a lot of other stereotypical Sci-Fi characters from other books (where they are all super hard gun toting heroes.) The author covers challenging topics and makes the reader question a number of moral issues. In this instance The main antagonists are based on an Islamic background, (however I feel I must remind readers that this is a work of fiction) and covers such topics as religious extremism and the treating of women as second class citizens etc. this gives the story an anchor and reference to our world to maybe draw a comparison with, which adds to the fluidity of the story and realistic feel (much the same as some of the other Empires corps books have been compared to the current decline of social morals and poor government decisions in the UK at the moment.)
I again liked the supporting characters and they complimented the main character well. There has clearly been a lot of thought as to how such a trader society would work and look forward to seeing how they get along with Avalon.
Please write more TEC
Just one thing...Please remember that although these are a really good read don't forget Avalon or Stalkers Stalkers
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2014
There is no doubt that the author is making a political and theological statement here, one which I agree with in many ways. Religious extremism is the curse of mankind, particularly those religions which elevate the dominant clergy above everybody else, and make others, particularly women, totally subservient and shackled.

Sameena escapes Jannah, a planet with a particularly harsh religious regime, and carves out a trading conglomerate as the Empire disintegrates. Years later, as her power and influence climbs, she is confronted by a terrible plot from her home planet, which needs dealing with to prevent the religious fanaticism she escaped from reaching the rest of the sector, and remains of the Empire.

The plot is reasonably good, and I rate the book at three and a half stars, but it suffers from (IMO) being too neat and tidy. However, well worth a read.

One final thing to the author: stop using the word SCOWLED every five minutes. This is endemic in all of Christopher's books - I'm sure different descriptions can be found. :-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 September 2013 not as good as the previous books - as another review has said, the fact that the main character is the "only" person to see the possibilities and act on them is a little unbelievable!!! Hence the 4 stars.
What the book does do is show another aspect of the Empires decline and fall, working the economic aspects nicely. Also, its begins to explore the diversity within the Empire, but rather fails to expand on this in a positive manner....
Overall, another good book - looking forward to the next one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 2 July 2013
Not the strongest book that CN has written, but it does fit well with the rest of the 'Empire'series and continues to build the overall storyline (which is excellent). The lead character is well developed, but the supporting characters aren't as well fleshed out as in other of his books. The Story is also a bit too similar to some of the other books in the series.
If you like the series so far, you will enjoy this installment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 October 2014
sadly i find the author is sliding into writing economic and political polemics at the expense of simple sci fi.Many authors have pushed their political views in their books. eg g k chesterton in the 30's."Biggles" ! etc. Some might consider it insidious , others see it as propaganda .
i find the politics naive and unrealistic. His role model of the founding of the usa lacks critical analysis. His rainbow version of economics is simplistic in the extreme.
i bought a sci fi book ,i didnt want a lecture on economics and politics. surprisingly if i did i wouldnt buy a sci fi book
the chapter headings i pass over as i do the final chapters. to be honest Fox news does it better
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 August 2013
This series gets better and better. Although it is good to know what is going on in the rest of the empire i would like to go back to the marines and get on with their story. To the writer please make sure there is another one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Again Nuttall has taken a side road in the story of the Space Marines as he follows the career of a girl escaping from a world which is controlled by extreme Islamic principles. She has very little choice of a future other than becoming a baby factory for a man old enough to be her father. Unfortunately for her family, her brother asks the wrong questions and is noticed by the local religious police. Her father helps her escape while the rest of her family face incarceration or death. A family friend, if he can really be called that, helps her to leave the planet where she faces certain death in the hold of a spaceship bound for another system. From here Sameena is determined to set up her own trading empire using the skills she learned from her father and eventually return home and free her people form the oppressive religion which controls them.

The main characters are interesting, the plot flows well and there is plenty of action. It is not about the Marines although set in their universe. The timeline is parallel to the earlier stories and before Book 4. There is an unexpected twist at the end of the book which I would not spoil for other readers. Suffice to say, if you enjoyed the first four books this is worth reading as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 September 2013
This is the second of the stand alone stories set within The Empire's Corps universe.

The tale of a young Muslim girl from a very planet with a very harsh religious culture and government who is forced to escape or die. She joins a trader ship and rapidly sets about creating her own trade empire. How fast she achieves her goals is a bit of an imagination stretch but it does not detract from a good storey.

Like the first of the stand alone books (When the Bough Breaks) this give the reader a look at the various aspects of the Empires fall that are not covered in the main stream books.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I have enjoyed reading this series by Christopher Nuttall. He has woven a history of mankind that to me is completely believable. While I am not at all good with political or economic matters, the author makes the breakdown of society on Earth and the greed of the so called elite understandable.
I am sure that I have read other books based on a Trader Society, this is the first one that I have read where you are taken through how such a society might come about.
I hope that there are more books based on this group of characters, as well as the view as seen by Avalon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Mr Nuttall has built off the initial Marines book, and created a universe.

It is tough when you want to hear how things are moving on with the characters you know, but this book is similar to Rise of a Merchant Prince in how it is setting the scene and explaining the politics that have been mentioned in previous books.

It's a tough one as I am reading the author's other books but I want to know more!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.