Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the series
I really enjoyed this story. It is another great read from Mr Nuttall in his Empires Corps series. Again it is realistic and believable read and does not get bogged down with Sci-Fi techno babble.
The main character is strong and likeable and is once again different to a lot of other stereotypical Sci-Fi characters from other books (where they are all super hard gun...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. G. D. Cheal

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story to supplement the Empire Corps series
There is no doubt that the author is making a political and theological statement here, one which I agree with in many ways. Religious extremism is the curse of mankind, particularly those religions which elevate the dominant clergy above everybody else, and make others, particularly women, totally subservient and shackled.

Sameena escapes Jannah, a planet...
Published 5 months ago by Malcolm Haig


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the series, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. G. D. Cheal (Crawley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story. It is another great read from Mr Nuttall in his Empires Corps series. Again it is realistic and believable read and does not get bogged down with Sci-Fi techno babble.
The main character is strong and likeable and is once again different to a lot of other stereotypical Sci-Fi characters from other books (where they are all super hard gun toting heroes.) The author covers challenging topics and makes the reader question a number of moral issues. In this instance The main antagonists are based on an Islamic background, (however I feel I must remind readers that this is a work of fiction) and covers such topics as religious extremism and the treating of women as second class citizens etc. this gives the story an anchor and reference to our world to maybe draw a comparison with, which adds to the fluidity of the story and realistic feel (much the same as some of the other Empires corps books have been compared to the current decline of social morals and poor government decisions in the UK at the moment.)
I again liked the supporting characters and they complimented the main character well. There has clearly been a lot of thought as to how such a trader society would work and look forward to seeing how they get along with Avalon.
Please write more TEC
Just one thing...Please remember that although these are a really good read don't forget Avalon or Stalkers Stalkers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to the 'Empire' Universe, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Not the strongest book that CN has written, but it does fit well with the rest of the 'Empire'series and continues to build the overall storyline (which is excellent). The lead character is well developed, but the supporting characters aren't as well fleshed out as in other of his books. The Story is also a bit too similar to some of the other books in the series.
If you like the series so far, you will enjoy this installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A galactic soap opera in the making...., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Ok...so not as good as the previous books - as another review has said, the fact that the main character is the "only" person to see the possibilities and act on them is a little unbelievable!!! Hence the 4 stars.
What the book does do is show another aspect of the Empires decline and fall, working the economic aspects nicely. Also, its begins to explore the diversity within the Empire, but rather fails to expand on this in a positive manner....
Overall, another good book - looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Bagsy (Northamptonshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
This series gets better and better. Although it is good to know what is going on in the rest of the empire i would like to go back to the marines and get on with their story. To the writer please make sure there is another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite three woofs on the interstellar scale. Read and be entertained!!, 14 Aug 2014
By 
S. Pentney "The Scribe" (The English Riviera) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Book 5 in the series. Excellent work, well written and thoroughly engrossing. The author has a fine grasp of human nature such that you could imagine this actually being real. If you would like a book to entertain and grab your attention, this it it. A fine continuation to those already read. I reckon this to be worth three woofs on the interstellar woof scale. Give it a bash. Woof woof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
So far my favourite of the Empires Corps series, even if it is outside the main stream of the story. Typical of Nuttall, good exciting stuff, told dramatically and believably, god strong character, a good thread from the initial premise, well worth the tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story to supplement the Empire Corps series, 25 April 2014
By 
Malcolm Haig (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
There is no doubt that the author is making a political and theological statement here, one which I agree with in many ways. Religious extremism is the curse of mankind, particularly those religions which elevate the dominant clergy above everybody else, and make others, particularly women, totally subservient and shackled.

Sameena escapes Jannah, a planet with a particularly harsh religious regime, and carves out a trading conglomerate as the Empire disintegrates. Years later, as her power and influence climbs, she is confronted by a terrible plot from her home planet, which needs dealing with to prevent the religious fanaticism she escaped from reaching the rest of the sector, and remains of the Empire.

The plot is reasonably good, and I rate the book at three and a half stars, but it suffers from (IMO) being too neat and tidy. However, well worth a read.

One final thing to the author: stop using the word SCOWLED every five minutes. This is endemic in all of Christopher's books - I'm sure different descriptions can be found. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good marine corps story, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Great book and good ending with the commonwealth meeting with the trader federation and looking like becoming allies. Looking forward to reading the next book which I have just purchased :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a refreshingly different sequal, 29 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
i have really enjoyed the other books in this series and therefore i was prepared for it to start going down hill as it hit book four. however it has not happened as chris has the courage, unlike most, to change the characters and the setting so that they dont become too repetitive. well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Building the universe, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Mr Nuttall has built off the initial Marines book, and created a universe.

It is tough when you want to hear how things are moving on with the characters you know, but this book is similar to Rise of a Merchant Prince in how it is setting the scene and explaining the politics that have been mentioned in previous books.

It's a tough one as I am reading the author's other books but I want to know more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5)
£2.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews