Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the series
I really enjoyed this story. It is another great read from Mr Nuttall in his Empires Corps series. Again it is realistic and believable read and does not get bogged down with Sci-Fi techno babble.
The main character is strong and likeable and is once again different to a lot of other stereotypical Sci-Fi characters from other books (where they are all super hard gun...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. G. D. Cheal

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sadly i find the author is sliding into writing economic ...
sadly i find the author is sliding into writing economic and political polemics at the expense of simple sci fi.Many authors have pushed their political views in their books. eg g k chesterton in the 30's."Biggles" ! etc. Some might consider it insidious , others see it as propaganda .
i find the politics naive and unrealistic. His role model of the founding...
Published 3 months ago by suetian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the series, 18 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. G. D. Cheal (Crawley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story. It is another great read from Mr Nuttall in his Empires Corps series. Again it is realistic and believable read and does not get bogged down with Sci-Fi techno babble.
The main character is strong and likeable and is once again different to a lot of other stereotypical Sci-Fi characters from other books (where they are all super hard gun toting heroes.) The author covers challenging topics and makes the reader question a number of moral issues. In this instance The main antagonists are based on an Islamic background, (however I feel I must remind readers that this is a work of fiction) and covers such topics as religious extremism and the treating of women as second class citizens etc. this gives the story an anchor and reference to our world to maybe draw a comparison with, which adds to the fluidity of the story and realistic feel (much the same as some of the other Empires corps books have been compared to the current decline of social morals and poor government decisions in the UK at the moment.)
I again liked the supporting characters and they complimented the main character well. There has clearly been a lot of thought as to how such a trader society would work and look forward to seeing how they get along with Avalon.
Please write more TEC
Just one thing...Please remember that although these are a really good read don't forget Avalon or Stalkers Stalkers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to the 'Empire' Universe, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Not the strongest book that CN has written, but it does fit well with the rest of the 'Empire'series and continues to build the overall storyline (which is excellent). The lead character is well developed, but the supporting characters aren't as well fleshed out as in other of his books. The Story is also a bit too similar to some of the other books in the series.
If you like the series so far, you will enjoy this installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Religon of Peace, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Again Nuttall has taken a side road in the story of the Space Marines as he follows the career of a girl escaping from a world which is controlled by extreme Islamic principles. She has very little choice of a future other than becoming a bay manufacturer for a man old enough to be her father. Unfortunately for her family her brother asks the wrong questions and is noticed by the local religious police. Her father helps her escape while the rest of her family face incarceration of death. A family friend, if he can really be called that, helps her to leave the planet where she faces certain death in the hold of a spaceship bound for another system. From here Sameena is determined to set up her own trading empire using the skills she learned from her father and eventually return home and free her people form the oppressive religion which controls them.

The main characters are interesting, the plot flows well and there is plenty of action. It is not about the Marines although set in their universe. The timeline is parallel to the earlier stories and before Book 4. There is an unexpected twist at the end of the book which I would not spoil for other readers. Suffice to say, if you enjoyed the first four books this is worth reading as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A galactic soap opera in the making...., 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Ok...so not as good as the previous books - as another review has said, the fact that the main character is the "only" person to see the possibilities and act on them is a little unbelievable!!! Hence the 4 stars.
What the book does do is show another aspect of the Empires decline and fall, working the economic aspects nicely. Also, its begins to explore the diversity within the Empire, but rather fails to expand on this in a positive manner....
Overall, another good book - looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Bagsy (Northamptonshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
This series gets better and better. Although it is good to know what is going on in the rest of the empire i would like to go back to the marines and get on with their story. To the writer please make sure there is another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sadly i find the author is sliding into writing economic ..., 22 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
sadly i find the author is sliding into writing economic and political polemics at the expense of simple sci fi.Many authors have pushed their political views in their books. eg g k chesterton in the 30's."Biggles" ! etc. Some might consider it insidious , others see it as propaganda .
i find the politics naive and unrealistic. His role model of the founding of the usa lacks critical analysis. His rainbow version of economics is simplistic in the extreme.
i bought a sci fi book ,i didnt want a lecture on economics and politics. surprisingly if i did i wouldnt buy a sci fi book
the chapter headings i pass over as i do the final chapters. to be honest Fox news does it better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite three woofs on the interstellar scale. Read and be entertained!!, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
S. Pentney "The Scribe" (The English Riviera) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Book 5 in the series. Excellent work, well written and thoroughly engrossing. The author has a fine grasp of human nature such that you could imagine this actually being real. If you would like a book to entertain and grab your attention, this it it. A fine continuation to those already read. I reckon this to be worth three woofs on the interstellar woof scale. Give it a bash. Woof woof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Jack Alvarez (SW Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
This is another very good addition to the series. Perhaps initially disappointed that the plot didn't relate to Avalon, I found that fear to be groundless. The story is interesting and ties in well, even if the time scale of the rise of the principal character seems unrealistic (but how am I to judge a world many millennia in the future?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read in a truly fine series., 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I am really enjoying this series and love the way it develops with the stand alone novels such as this one. I can't wait to see how it all pans out over the remainder of the series. Samenna is a great character with compassion and strength who will fit in well later on I am sure. Can't recommend these books enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
So far my favourite of the Empires Corps series, even if it is outside the main stream of the story. Typical of Nuttall, good exciting stuff, told dramatically and believably, god strong character, a good thread from the initial premise, well worth the tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Outcast (The Empire's Corps Book 5)
£3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews