Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Magic Review
The first book in the Prospero's war series is an intriguing and fascinating new urban fantasy read.

Patrol cop Kate Prospero finds herself caught in the crosshairs of a Magic Enforcement Agency task force when she kills a werewolf covered in blood of his latest victim on her nightly rounds. Earning a spot on the new task force could be the career break she's...
Published 11 months ago by Evampire

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite magic for me
After Reading sabina kane series, I thought I found an author to watch, was a little disappointed with this book. I found no characters I could root for, there was none of the humour I was hoping there to be. I found the language to be excessive and unnecessary.
Published 10 months ago by emillie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Magic Review, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Evampire (Gonzales, LA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
The first book in the Prospero's war series is an intriguing and fascinating new urban fantasy read.

Patrol cop Kate Prospero finds herself caught in the crosshairs of a Magic Enforcement Agency task force when she kills a werewolf covered in blood of his latest victim on her nightly rounds. Earning a spot on the new task force could be the career break she's waiting for, but the investigation leads to the man she walked away from ten years earlier when she swore she would never use dirty magic again.

This steady to fast paced plot keeps the reader entertained throughout with lots of action, suspense and unexpected surprises that keep the reader guessing. The story comes to life with vivid imagery and intense details that make the reader feel as if they are part of the story. The strong compelling characters are easily related to and grab the reader's attention leaving them wanting more.

The author conveys the emotions, personalities and passions of the characters with vibrant descriptions that make them seem real. There is not a lot of romance in the story except for some flirting and suggestions, but the story grips the reader with lots of tension building suspense and an interesting story line and unique elements.

I loved the Sabina Kane series by Jaye Wells, so I was really anticipating this new series and I was not disappointed. She brings a fantastic paranormal world of magic to readers using everyday occurrences doctored to fit her world and found that mixing the real issues with the paranormal added depth and understanding to the story. All the characters were wonderful and Kate promises to be a very exciting and entertaining heroine. I am looking forward to reading more books about Kate and her world of magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! I loved it!, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
Kate Prospero is a 29 year old cop who lives with her 16 year old brother whom she is the guardian of. She grew up in one of the three covens in the city of Babylon. Her coven dealt with illegal magical potions known as dirty magic. You see Kate's coven were criminals and Kate was extremely talented with making dirty magic which are potions that are addictive like drugs and will end up ruining your life. She was so good that her Uncle Abe, the coven leader, was grooming Kate to be his heir. Then one day tragedy struck and Kate wanted out. To make amends for her earlier criminal activities Kate became a cop.

One day out on patrol Kate witnesses a gruesome murder where the perpetrator has used a new dirty magic potion called Gray Wolf. Kate soon finds herself involved in the case and ends up with the promotion she has been dreaming about for years, working for the Magical Enforcement Agency. Kate has sworn off all kinds of magic for 10 years though but this case will test her resolve to the maximum. Oh and there's the little matter of her ex boyfriend being the lead suspect.

One of the reasons I give a book 5 stars is because it will keep me enthralled throughout the whole story and Dirty Magic certainly did that. I adored the world building where magic is used in every day life and is the new drug.

The characters are awesome and Ms Wells does a great job of making them real and bringing them to life. Kate is one of those characters where I can see she will annoy some readers. There are times when her sanctimonious attitude did niggle me but on the whole I really liked her. Whilst reading the book I thought there could be a potential love triangle but after the ending I'm not so sure now. Both guys are great though and I look forward to seeing how Ms Wells plays their stories out.

I haven't enjoyed an Urban Fantasy book as much as this in a long long time. I can't wait for book two which is out later in the year and I am giving Dirty Magic 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Prospero's War" series book 1, 20 April 2014
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
JW has created a dark gritty world in which magic is a very real commodity. Want to lose weight? Just take this potion. Want to look prettier? Take another potion. Magic addicts can be found lurking in Babylon's seedier areas, looking for an opportunity to fund their next fix. They may be addicted to the dirty magic available on the streets, but clean magic proves just as addictive with the same devastating results; the ingredients just happen to be better quality.

Kate has spent 5 years working her butt off for Babylon PD; however promotion always passes her by. It may be her attitude, but it also could be her family connection to one of the most notorious crime lords alive. Abraxas Prospero may be imprisoned; however Kate is all too aware not a lot happens without Uncle Abe's knowledge or approval.

Growing up with Abe, Kate was indoctrinated into the world of magic from a young age; showing skill and aptitude when cooking up new magical potions. Yet is has now been 10 years since the incident that changed Kate's life, and not only did she walk away from her old life, she hasn't cooked potions since and takes great pains to ensure her life is as untainted by magic as possible. Yet when Kate becomes entangled in an investigation involving a new potion hitting the streets, the Magical Enforcement Agency (MEA) becomes involved and dangles the job Kate yearns for in front of her nose.

There's plenty of characters introduced who contribute significantly to the story line; from the established MEA agents Kate gets to know (and like), to more personal relationships with much younger brother Danny and ex-lover John Volos. The latter may now present a clean cut respectable façade; however Kate knows if sophisticated dirty magic is washing into the streets, then John is likely to know about is and is probably involved somehow.

The magic in JW's world may be considered easily available; however there is still very much an old fashioned magical quality to what these potions can accomplish. The ideas of clean and dirty magic are clearly drawn; yet ironically both will ultimately lead to the user's destruction. There's a good amount of action and intrigue, plus Kate is a gutsy heroine who faces some tough decisions. This is a good start to a new series, and I'll certainly be checking out book 2 "Cursed Moon" when it is published later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic new series from Jaye Wells, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
Kate gave up magic ten years ago after a tragic event but after she shoots and kills a man high on some new potion, she ends up becoming involved in the case that he was a snitch for. Unfortunately this brings her in close range with magic again as well as a man she also gave up ten years ago.

I love Kate Prospero! She's a really fun heroine ... she's spunky, kick ass and has a talent for magic. She manages to fill the void left by Wells' Sabina Kane departure. Although only time will tell whether Kate will get her own Giguhl like sidekick (that'd be awesome though).

Anyone who's read my reviews of the Sabina Kane books will know exactly how much I love Jaye Wells writing. She writes really great, strong heroines and she does her research! She went to a police run bootcamp to learn more about law enforcement so she can write true-to-life characters.

I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to getting more into this series with each release. BRING ON BOOK NUMBER 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Smee (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
Really well written, funny in places with a great leading lady. It took a few chapters to wrap my head around the various types of magic and the way that it affects people but it didn't detract from the story at all and i was soon unable to put the book down!

Will definitely be reading other books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody brilliant!!!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
Jaye Wells is one of my favourite writers... yet again she delivers a world of "scary sh**"!! Totally engrossed in Kate's war with her enemy's and herself. As for LM... that's just "out there"... I love him and his sis.

The only bad thing I have to say is... book 2 is out in SEVEN MONTH'S FFS!!!!

Thanks for the ride Jaye xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking new series from a firm favourite, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I really love a new novel from a favourite author so receiving a cracking new Urban Crime Tale from Jaye Wells was a great way to start a new year. What you get is a story that has high octane action, some wonderful emotional twists as well as a principle character that has personal alongside professional quandaries to resolve.

Back this all up with an identifiable writing style, some wonderful dialogue with some great one liners and I was a more than happy reader. Magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars clean magic and dirty magic). A new potion on the street (read ..., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
Kate Prospero is a kickass cop who lives in an alternate reality (USA now but with magic; clean magic and dirty magic). A new potion on the street (read drug made with dirty magic) is killing people. What's Kate going to do to stop it?

Kate Prospero is a strong female character like Jane Yellowrock or Anita Blake, whilst the world she inhabits reminds me of Kim Harrison's alternate reality (The Hollows). The action is fast paced, the plot is solid with several subplots and already the begining of a thread is forming that will I guess continue throuhout the series...

I especially like the way the world is revealed, a little at a time, glimpses by glimpses. I cannot wait for the second book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars much better plot and characterisation than most UF, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the humour too.

This is a heroine with the standard tragic back story, but with nearly every character having a personality, motive and interesting characteristics, it seems quite fresh and new.

And (thank goodness!) there is no obvious love interest brooding in corners and oozing sexual magnetism. What a relief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Magic: Prospero's War: Book One (Kindle Edition)
Recommend this book if you like tough as nails cops, action that keeps coming, magic that forces you to believe and a plot that throws you curve balls until your arms ache and your eyes bleed. Gritty urban Fantasy has a new Heroine. On a par with Hearne and Butcher !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews