Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars44
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£8.31+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 July 2013
Having really enjoyed the first V/H/S, I was eager to see what they could do with a 2nd entry which I saw as part of the screamfest weekend. To be honest, if you didn't like the first one then the chances are you won't like this one either but I for one loved it. It improves over V/H/S in every way, it's got better production values, has less shaky camera work (one of most viewers main complaints about the first outing) it has better effects, more gore, more jumps and scares and is an absolute belter of a horror film.

As with the first film we are introduced by the wraparound segment, which is about 2 private investigators who are sent to look for a missing teenager. When they arrive at his house, there seems to be no one home but there are a group of TV screens and VHS video recorders surrounded by various tapes in his living room. The investigators decide to watch some of the tapes, and as with the first film, the rest of the movie is based around what disturbing things lurk on these tapes. And in between each tape we get to see the events in the teenagers house, with the investigators realising that maybe they are not alone.

We get to view 4 tapes in all, each one directed by a different horror genre director, the segments are as follows:

CLINICAL TRIALS: Directed by Adam Wingard (V/H/S, The ABC's of death): A man gets fitted with a bionic eye after a car accident and this story is told directly through his vision from this implant. As soon as he returns home, he starts to see an array of ghosts that seem to be hell bent on getting his attention. This is the weakest of the 4 stories but that doesn't mean it's bad, it's still quite creepy and nervy if feeling a little rushed. 6.5/10

A RIDE IN THE PARK: Directed by Greg Hale and Eduardo Sanchez (Blair witch project): This one is a zombie movie with a difference, a guy is on a bike ride through the woods with a camera attachment on his bike helmet. He comes across a screaming woman and jumps off of the bike to try to help. Problem is, she turns out to be a zombie and bites the chap on the bike. The rest of the story is told through the helmet camera and follows our main character, as he himself, changes into a zombie and then goes on the rampage to quench his thirst for blood. This one was awesome, it's a completely new take on the tired zombie genre and it really breathes new life into it. There's gore a plenty and a very unique take which give this segment a really good vibe. 9/10

SAFE HAVEN: Directed by Gareth Evans (The Raid): Now me personally, am not the biggest fan of subtitles, not because I'm lazy or ignorant but more to do with my not so pristine eyesight. So after the first few minutes of this segment I was huffing and puffing as most of the characters in this were speaking Indonesian. I had no idea of the surprise/treat I was in for. This is the longest segment about a documentary film crew, who get the chance to enter the sacred grounds of an Indonesian cult and interview their leader. Once inside however (without spoiling it) all hell breaks loose (literally) This segment completely blew me away, it was tense, shocking in places and gory as hell (no pun intended) I completely forgot that I was reading subtitles as I was completely engrossed in the shocking events unfolding on screen. Well worth watching the film for on its own. Brilliant horror gem 10/10

SLUMBER PARTY ALIEN ABDUCTION: Directed by Joe Eisener (Hobo with a shotgun): OK after the last segment this was always going to be a bit of a let down. It is about a group of obnoxious kids who like to play pranks on their older siblings. after a couple of pranks however, they suddenly become the targets of alien beings, who are hell bent on abducting them all. This segment did have its moments and is all filmed by a dog (yes, you heard me right, a dog) It is interesting enough and the alien beings are quite scary but the thing that let this one down for me was the ridiculously shaky camera work. at times I couldn't see what was happening and yet, I was still sufficiently engrossed in the events that were unfolding. Definitely the creepiest segment but it has the poorest camera work. 7/10

Overall: Definitely the best horror anthology film to come out in years. It's gory and gruesome, scary in parts, funny in others, has some great ideas and is a complete fun thrill ride.

As I said earlier, if you are not a fan of V/H/S 1 then you'd do well to leave this one alone, even though the camera work and production values are a lot better in this one, it is still a found footage anthology. However, if you found any entertainment in the first one whatsoever, then give this one a try, it's well worth it. 9/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 15 March 2014

This is a damn fine horror film and one of those rare beasts of a sequel being better than the original and I liked the first film. It follows a similar format with a series of short films on tapes that have an effect on the people watching them, in this film it's wrapped into a story about two private investigators looking into the disappearance of a college student.

There's four short films in the sequence and they're all very good. It's told in a lost footage format and for the most part in a shifting first person perspective. Admittedly this can get a little confusing on occasion, but for the most part it works well.

The first story is about a man who has an artificial eye implanted, he then starts seeing odd visions. This was my least favourite of the stories, but the immediacy of the first person perspective works well in the context of the story.

In the second story we have a typical zombie tale (for the most part), again the first person view works well and provides an interesting angle on the story. The ending is a little different too.

The third story was my favourite and is a creepy tale about a cult seeking Heaven. It's set up very well and has a very sinister atmosphere and I enjoyed the ending.

I also like the fourth short story, this one inspired by the alien/grey abduction tale. In this one there's some excellent use of lighting and audio to reinforce the terror.

The overarching story wraps up well, overall I enjoyed watching this a lot and would recommend it to any horror fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 14 October 2013
V/H/S was a very cool and original new style anthology horror collection movie with a freaky story, well directed and bloody as hell so it was only right that it deserved a sequel, V/H/S 2 has a new story, new directors and works really well, its still bloody as hell with plenty of gore to chew on, the story is utterly crazy again, with a similar set up as before, each segment is really good, they are all totally different from the original, I think maybe the original is a tad better but this is still really worth checking out for any fan of horror in general and certainly fans of the original, this is certainly one franchise that could go on forever with endless sequels, I say for now keep them coming!!! why there is no Blu-ray version I don't know its shocking! and there are no features which sucks!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 December 2014
Okay, the first V/H/S movie wasn’t good… like, at all. It featured one really good segment out of five different horror stories – and that was at the start of the movie, which left this viewer bored for the next hour or so. It was a pretty dull, 3/10 kind of experience.

Which is why it shocks me to say that V/H/S/2 has ended up on my best of 2013 list.

Oops, I just realized I skipped ahead in telling you that these are anthology movies; meaning the main plot is usually just an excuse to string together short horror stories, each one directed by a different genre expert.

Main plot: Tape 49
Directed by Simon Barrett

Case in point, here we follow two private investigators as they get paid to break into a house and sniff about. They then stumble upon a large collection of video tapes and TVs. What are they gonna do? Watch them of course! And then we’re thrown into four segments of unexpectedly awesome horror.

This part really didn’t do much for me. At least, not until the final moments which tied everything up rather neatly. Before that point, it’s just kind of boring. And whenever these private investigators (played by Lawrence Michael Levine and Kelsy Abbott) finish watching one of the video tapes, they just sit there as if they don’t give a f*** about the bizarre s*** they’ve just witnessed. Oh well. Moving on to the good stuff!

1st segment: Phase I Clinical Trials
Directed by Adam Wingard (You’re Next)

Herman (played by the director, Adam Wingard) has just had a mechanical eyeball implant. Through an awesome first-person style, we see things through the fake eye’s camera and follow him as he starts to see strange stuff around his house. I won’t give anything else away, but once a second character is introduced, it suddenly becomes far more original and wacky.
Wingard’s directing brings plenty of mind boggling visual trickery, as well as a type of raunchy and gross-out sense of humour that can be incredibly difficult to pull off without losing all the built tension. While not instantly awesome, it more than finds its footing half-way.

2nd segment: A Ride in the Park
Directed by Eduardo Sánchez and Gregg Hale (The Blair Witch Project)

Another first person movie, only this time we follow a cyclist (played by Jay Saunders) as he gets bitten by a zombie and starts to transform into one himself. A zombie movie from the zombie’s point of view – literally. Not only is this style an original take on the zombie genre, but it also makes for a ton of gore you’re unable to peel your eyes away from; and it looks great.
In its very short run-time, it made me laugh out loud, it made me squeamish, and it even got me emotional. Really great stuff here.

3rd segment: Safe Haven
Directed by Timo Tjahjanto and Gareth Huw Evans (The Raid)

The longest of the segments, and also considered the best, is to do with a documentary film crew as they enter an Indonesian cult to report what’s been going on. Now, for three simple reasons I’d argue this to not be the best. Firstly, this is the worst documentary film crew ever, and they’re not likeable. Especially not with their overly dramatic relationship issues, which do not make them more endurable. But that’s not to say the acting’s bad, nor is anything they do pointless, as it all leads to a ballsy and gory resolution by the time all hell breaks loose (literally). Secondly, out of all the segments, this one is the least interesting as a found-footage movie. It’s almost filmed as a regular movie, because each character has a micro-camera hidden on them, as well as their multiple hand-held cameras… Not a whole lot of creativity or originality there – at least, not in comparison to the other segments (which are able to pack more of everything else in a smaller amount of time).

Having said all that, the villains and monsters here are all well cast and well made, and deliver on arguably the most intense and blood filled part of this movie. Gareth Huw Evans is no stranger to creating teeth-grinding, gory intensity, and it more than covers up any minor gripes I have with this one.

4th segment: Slumber Party Alien Abduction
Directed by Jason Eisener (Hobo with a Shotgun)

I think the title of this one is pretty self-explanatory. What makes it different is that it’s filmed from a dog’s point of view for the most part (Jason Eisener’s dog to be exact), and it also finds ways to make aliens scary again. These guys, nicknamed “the Greys”, are probably the spookiest antagonists of this entire movie. The way they’re designed and filmed really makes them, and their surrounding short movie, very creepy. And of course, it’s decently acted, funny, intense, and quite heart-breaking by the the final shot.

There you have it. Four really awesome found-footage movies wrapped in one boring one. I’ll give credit where it’s due and rate this 9/10. Total blast.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 April 2014
Normally I wouldn't even bother with horror sequels because they usually just rehash the previous movie. But, being an anthology film I expected something different.

So the first segment is quite unsettling and quiet. One interesting thing about this story with a cybernetic eye camera is the protagonist is noticeably taller than the woman who visits him, so the camera actually is at eye level, meaning it has to be angled downward to establish eye contact - its a little thing, but something that could've been easily been forgotten and makes the feel that the camera really is filming from the man's eye.

This segment's tone (not content) is closest to the fifth segment of V/H/S

The second segment is... "Colin" as found footage. It's something I can imagine being described as comedy, though it was neither straight comedy nor tongue-in-cheek or satirical. I'd expect viewers to be amused by the nature of the content, kinda like some people were amused by "The Human Centipede".

The next has a cult/sect/something similar. At first it remains low-key which is enough for viewers to get creeped out as something's clearly not quite right. Then things become less subtle about halfway though.

Finally there's another segment with kids and a sleepover. This one is kinda weird. Its tone's probably closer to the second segment of V/H/S as it focuses on characters going about their business and then suddenly throws them into a threatening situation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 26 September 2013
The movie consists of four "found footage" stories that are shown in a "Creep Show" fashion. The stories are not connected, other than the fact they are being watched by the same people, a pair of private investigators. The films include ghosts, aliens, cultist, and my favorite a "zombie cam." This is the first time I can think of where we get a zombie eye view of attacking humans.

The stories were fair and sometimes crude. There were also times when the footage deviated from the true found footage CAM as we witness the person with the camera. The DVD has two versions which I found confusing. One is the "rated version" and the other was the "unrated theatrical version." For some reason I believe versions released to the theater are law while those not released do nor require a rating.

The production is fun low brow horror entertainment. I did find the "eye cam" to reach a new low in irritating jerky motion. If you saw the first film, expect much of the same and a "VHS 3".

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, male nudity, nudity (Mindy Robinson, Hannah Hughes)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 June 2015
Blimey this was terrible.

This is a movie that's split into different stories (kind of like Creep Show) all with the theme of the action being filmed by one of the characters.

The first story is a forgettable nonsense about a guy with a replacement eye.

The second story is a really good idea about zombies, although the idea was good, the execution wasn't.

Thirdly we have a story about a cult, this seems to go on for hours and incredibly tedious.

But the icing on the poop is the fourth vignette about aliens - I only watched this as I just couldn't believe how bad it was. It looked like a high school project.

There's a pointless wrapper story which really makes no difference to the whole package.

There's some needless sex and nudity thrown in. The only thing I can think that someone could really like about this movie is that there's plenty of gore, so if that's your thing you might want to try this. But intelligent horror it isn't.

It's not the worst movie I've ever seen but I won't be bothering to see the first one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
n a case of 'if it ain't broke....' the makers have gone for another missing person case, where the PI's sift through various disturbing tapes...

The first story is the best, a man gets a computerised eye, but he sees more than he should. This really sets the bar for the rest of the film. It's full of jump scares, and the fact that its from his point of view, makes it all the more tense. It's the same shock tactics they use in all the Paranormal Conjuring movies, but because the story is so short, it doesn't have the quiet moments that hinder those movies.

The second story is about a guy who has a camera strapped to his head, gets bit by a 'zombie' and then we see him from his POV turn, and then we follow his every move. It's refreshing to have slow zombies back, and it's pretty bittersweet too.

The third story is pretty random, about some sort of spa, where people are brainwashed and they slaughter expectant mothers. It's not scary, but the violence shown here is pretty shocking and quite authentic, but then the big goat man ruins it all. Still pretty bizarre to be boring.

The final story slows the film down and is the weakest of the lot. Here we have doggy cam during an alien abduction. It's loud, messy, and really difficult to watch, as the camera is shaking all the time. If you are an animal lover, Take heed.

All in all, it's a welcome entry into the anthology sub genre. The first two stories, brilliant. The third, bonkers, but okay, the fourth, just too irritating.

The finale to the wrap around story, has a nice ending too.

Looking forward to the third movie..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
The first segment involves a man who has had an eye transplant and can now see dead people. The acting is awful, the script is awful – it aims for boo scares but fails due to the awful makeup of the supposed dead and introduces a woman just so she can get topless. Not the best start to an anthology.
The second segment is a cheap low budget first person view zombie moment, the sort of short film that you always seem to get at horror festivals, unoriginal and boring. Hard to believe it was the same director as The Blair Witch Project and Lovely Molly.
The third short about a cult has some very good gore moments and will please all the low budget gore fans out there but it all feels very immature and is far too silly to be entertaining.
Hard to believe it could get any worse but the next segment is about a bunch of kids playing tricks on each other when they are suddenly invaded by The Creature from the Black Lagoon, or aliens or whatever they are. Utter rubbish.
All wrapped up in some messed up story about a private detective and his partner who start to watch V/H/S tapes. The whole thing looks like it's aimed at school children but it has an eighteen certificate due to the impressive low budget gore of the third segment. Serious horror fans should stay clear.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Just watched this, a few days after watching V/H/S 1 and being not overly impressed.
This film certainly had the edge.
A couple of private investigators, one man, one woman, are on the search for a missing youth.
They end up in a derelict house and, you guessed it, find a room with lots of flickering TV sets and a pile of video tapes.
No "dead" body slumped in an armchair this time, but the errant youth is identified on a laptop in this room.
The man disappears upstairs leaving his colleagu to start watching some of the films.
We then descend in to some really quite horrific sequences, with some considerable gore and threat.
Some funny bits as well. The zombies in particular.
And an alien visitation too.
Oh, and a weird, weird film featuring a far eastern cult which ends predictably in death for pretty much everyone.
The snot scene at the end that befalls the last surviving member of the film crew is memorable while a devil creature looms above him.
All in all, very good.
The ending unexpectedly so....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
V/H/S [Blu-ray]
V/H/S [Blu-ray] by Lane Hughes (Blu-ray - 2013)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.