Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, Better and scarier in every way
Having really enjoyed the first V/H/S, I was eager to see what they could do with a 2nd entry which I saw as part of the screamfest weekend. To be honest, if you didn't like the first one then the chances are you won't like this one either but I for one loved it. It improves over V/H/S in every way, it's got better production values, has less shaky camera work (one of...
Published 9 months ago by D. Krol

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOUR BUTT DIALED ME
The movie consists of four "found footage" stories that are shown in a "Creep Show" fashion. The stories are not connected, other than the fact they are being watched by the same people, a pair of private investigators. The films include ghosts, aliens, cultist, and my favorite a "zombie cam." This is the first time I can think of where we get a zombie eye view of...
Published 6 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, Better and scarier in every way, 11 July 2013
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having really enjoyed the first V/H/S, I was eager to see what they could do with a 2nd entry which I saw as part of the screamfest weekend. To be honest, if you didn't like the first one then the chances are you won't like this one either but I for one loved it. It improves over V/H/S in every way, it's got better production values, has less shaky camera work (one of most viewers main complaints about the first outing) it has better effects, more gore, more jumps and scares and is an absolute belter of a horror film.

As with the first film we are introduced by the wraparound segment, which is about 2 private investigators who are sent to look for a missing teenager. When they arrive at his house, there seems to be no one home but there are a group of TV screens and VHS video recorders surrounded by various tapes in his living room. The investigators decide to watch some of the tapes, and as with the first film, the rest of the movie is based around what disturbing things lurk on these tapes. And in between each tape we get to see the events in the teenagers house, with the investigators realising that maybe they are not alone.

We get to view 4 tapes in all, each one directed by a different horror genre director, the segments are as follows:

CLINICAL TRIALS: Directed by Adam Wingard (V/H/S, The ABC's of death): A man gets fitted with a bionic eye after a car accident and this story is told directly through his vision from this implant. As soon as he returns home, he starts to see an array of ghosts that seem to be hell bent on getting his attention. This is the weakest of the 4 stories but that doesn't mean it's bad, it's still quite creepy and nervy if feeling a little rushed. 6.5/10

A RIDE IN THE PARK: Directed by Greg Hale and Eduardo Sanchez (Blair witch project): This one is a zombie movie with a difference, a guy is on a bike ride through the woods with a camera attachment on his bike helmet. He comes across a screaming woman and jumps off of the bike to try to help. Problem is, she turns out to be a zombie and bites the chap on the bike. The rest of the story is told through the helmet camera and follows our main character, as he himself, changes into a zombie and then goes on the rampage to quench his thirst for blood. This one was awesome, it's a completely new take on the tired zombie genre and it really breathes new life into it. There's gore a plenty and a very unique take which give this segment a really good vibe. 9/10

SAFE HAVEN: Directed by Gareth Evans (The Raid): Now me personally, am not the biggest fan of subtitles, not because I'm lazy or ignorant but more to do with my not so pristine eyesight. So after the first few minutes of this segment I was huffing and puffing as most of the characters in this were speaking Indonesian. I had no idea of the surprise/treat I was in for. This is the longest segment about a documentary film crew, who get the chance to enter the sacred grounds of an Indonesian cult and interview their leader. Once inside however (without spoiling it) all hell breaks loose (literally) This segment completely blew me away, it was tense, shocking in places and gory as hell (no pun intended) I completely forgot that I was reading subtitles as I was completely engrossed in the shocking events unfolding on screen. Well worth watching the film for on its own. Brilliant horror gem 10/10

SLUMBER PARTY ALIEN ABDUCTION: Directed by Joe Eisener (Hobo with a shotgun): OK after the last segment this was always going to be a bit of a let down. It is about a group of obnoxious kids who like to play pranks on their older siblings. after a couple of pranks however, they suddenly become the targets of alien beings, who are hell bent on abducting them all. This segment did have its moments and is all filmed by a dog (yes, you heard me right, a dog) It is interesting enough and the alien beings are quite scary but the thing that let this one down for me was the ridiculously shaky camera work. at times I couldn't see what was happening and yet, I was still sufficiently engrossed in the events that were unfolding. Definitely the creepiest segment but it has the poorest camera work. 7/10

Overall: Definitely the best horror anthology film to come out in years. It's gory and gruesome, scary in parts, funny in others, has some great ideas and is a complete fun thrill ride.

As I said earlier, if you are not a fan of V/H/S 1 then you'd do well to leave this one alone, even though the camera work and production values are a lot better in this one, it is still a found footage anthology. However, if you found any entertainment in the first one whatsoever, then give this one a try, it's well worth it. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..EXCELLENT SEQUEL..", 14 Oct 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
V/H/S was a very cool and original new style anthology horror collection movie with a freaky story, well directed and bloody as hell so it was only right that it deserved a sequel, V/H/S 2 has a new story, new directors and works really well, its still bloody as hell with plenty of gore to chew on, the story is utterly crazy again, with a similar set up as before, each segment is really good, they are all totally different from the original, I think maybe the original is a tad better but this is still really worth checking out for any fan of horror in general and certainly fans of the original, this is certainly one franchise that could go on forever with endless sequels, I say for now keep them coming!!! why there is no Blu-ray version I don't know its shocking! and there are no features which sucks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic set of short films in a decent wrapper, 15 Mar 2014
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V/H/S 2 (DVD)
V/H/S/2:

This is a damn fine horror film and one of those rare beasts of a sequel being better than the original and I liked the first film. It follows a similar format with a series of short films on tapes that have an effect on the people watching them, in this film it's wrapped into a story about two private investigators looking into the disappearance of a college student.

There's four short films in the sequence and they're all very good. It's told in a lost footage format and for the most part in a shifting first person perspective. Admittedly this can get a little confusing on occasion, but for the most part it works well.

The first story is about a man who has an artificial eye implanted, he then starts seeing odd visions. This was my least favourite of the stories, but the immediacy of the first person perspective works well in the context of the story.

In the second story we have a typical zombie tale (for the most part), again the first person view works well and provides an interesting angle on the story. The ending is a little different too.

The third story was my favourite and is a creepy tale about a cult seeking Heaven. It's set up very well and has a very sinister atmosphere and I enjoyed the ending.

I also like the fourth short story, this one inspired by the alien/grey abduction tale. In this one there's some excellent use of lighting and audio to reinforce the terror.

The overarching story wraps up well, overall I enjoyed watching this a lot and would recommend it to any horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOUR BUTT DIALED ME, 26 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The movie consists of four "found footage" stories that are shown in a "Creep Show" fashion. The stories are not connected, other than the fact they are being watched by the same people, a pair of private investigators. The films include ghosts, aliens, cultist, and my favorite a "zombie cam." This is the first time I can think of where we get a zombie eye view of attacking humans.

The stories were fair and sometimes crude. There were also times when the footage deviated from the true found footage CAM as we witness the person with the camera. The DVD has two versions which I found confusing. One is the "rated version" and the other was the "unrated theatrical version." For some reason I believe versions released to the theater are rated...by law while those not released do nor require a rating.

The production is fun low brow horror entertainment. I did find the "eye cam" to reach a new low in irritating jerky motion. If you saw the first film, expect much of the same and a "VHS 3".

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, male nudity, nudity (Mindy Robinson, Hannah Hughes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Betamax [rental], 20 April 2014
This review is from: V/H/S 2 (DVD)
Normally I wouldn't even bother with horror sequels because they usually just rehash the previous movie. But, being an anthology film I expected something different.

So the first segment is quite unsettling and quiet. One interesting thing about this story with a cybernetic eye camera is the protagonist is noticeably taller than the woman who visits him, so the camera actually is at eye level, meaning it has to be angled downward to establish eye contact - its a little thing, but something that could've been easily been forgotten and makes the feel that the camera really is filming from the man's eye.

This segment's tone (not content) is closest to the fifth segment of V/H/S

The second segment is... "Colin" as found footage. It's something I can imagine being described as comedy, though it was neither straight comedy nor tongue-in-cheek or satirical. I'd expect viewers to be amused by the nature of the content, kinda like some people were amused by "The Human Centipede".

The next has a cult/sect/something similar. At first it remains low-key which is enough for viewers to get creeped out as something's clearly not quite right. Then things become less subtle about halfway though.

Finally there's another segment with kids and a sleepover. This one is kinda weird. Its tone's probably closer to the second segment of V/H/S as it focuses on characters going about their business and then suddenly throws them into a threatening situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice gore but very childish, 20 April 2014
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first segment involves a man who has had an eye transplant and can now see dead people. The acting is awful, the script is awful – it aims for boo scares but fails due to the awful makeup of the supposed dead and introduces a woman just so she can get topless. Not the best start to an anthology.
The second segment is a cheap low budget first person view zombie moment, the sort of short film that you always seem to get at horror festivals, unoriginal and boring. Hard to believe it was the same director as The Blair Witch Project and Lovely Molly.
The third short about a cult has some very good gore moments and will please all the low budget gore fans out there but it all feels very immature and is far too silly to be entertaining.
Hard to believe it could get any worse but the next segment is about a bunch of kids playing tricks on each other when they are suddenly invaded by The Creature from the Black Lagoon, or aliens or whatever they are. Utter rubbish.
All wrapped up in some messed up story about a private detective and his partner who start to watch V/H/S tapes. The whole thing looks like it's aimed at school children but it has an eighteen certificate due to the impressive low budget gore of the third segment. Serious horror fans should stay clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good job you cant buy VHS's anymore, 21 Mar 2014
This review is from: V/H/S 2 (DVD)
I loved the first film, thought it was a nice different way to put some small horror stories together but this was just out there. They were rubbish films, and just not even entertaining just rubbish. I think it should be the end for V/H/S for good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Horror Anthology, 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the first film and so was looking forward to this. Plenty of special effects. Good acting from the cast. Some female nudity which is always a bonus. Independent film makers doing what they want and enjoying it. I shall watch the first one again. You might also want to see The ABCs Of Death. Contains lots of gore, violence, swearing, nudity. I am selling my copy on ebay (mrkish09). If you like films like Paranormal Activity, REC then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was as good as the first., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
V/H/S 2 is a great sequel. But wasn't perfect by any means. This movie had four story's and a wraparound story for the main plot. The story's were interesting especially the third, which I'm not going to give away because it's the best part of the film and I don't want to spoil it. The most weak part of the movie is obviously the last story. It was basically a generic alien abduction with some special effects thrown in. I was very disappointed with this because you could think of pretty much anything but chose something which has been done in movies thousands of times. So something different would off been great. It felt they just ran out off production time or they just simply ran out ideas. The other three story's and the wraparound story ranged from good to brilliant. So overall if you have seen the first movie defiantly try out the second because it is just as good. I hope they make a V/H/S 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outdoes the original in every aspect!, 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
So here we are again with the phenomena that is `V/H/S,` a
collection of stories centered around a back story of a
missing college student. In a nutsehell two private detectives
hired to find a student and break into a house he is suspected
to be in. Inside the house is a TV, video player and a suspicous
collection of tapes surrounding which may hold the clues to his
disappearance.

Sound familiar? Sure! I expected it to suck like the original but was
in awe of V/H/S 2. I know there was much debate on the original, people
loved and hated it but I was one who hated. V/H/S 2 surpasses in every way.
There is extreme gore, frights and a hell of a lot of originality. The only
minor complaint I have was the back story. It could have been handled alot
bgetter and fell flat. Other than that prepare to be scared and bring a sick bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

V/H/S/2 [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import]
V/H/S/2 [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import] by Fachry Albar (Blu-ray - 2013)
Used & New from: 13.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews