Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed fun
This isn't a Hollywood Blockbuster with an over inflated budget and A list superstars. This is a British film with a modest budget, a cast of fine young actors and some British acting royalty. With that in mind I highly recommend this film.

If you like fast paced action, violence and a great cast, you'll love it. Many of the cast went on to star in the...
Published 21 months ago by Ivy Mike

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KISS MY AXE
King Bagsecg (James Cosmo) is on his death bed. He tasks his son Steinar (Charlie Bewley) to find his older brother Hakan (Elliot Cowan) who had been banned. Steinar travels with a group of men to find Ivar (Ivan Kaye) who may know his whereabouts. Steinar has a brother (Finlay Robertson) and half brother(Theo Barklem-Biggs), neither of which are warriors.

Ivar...
Published 20 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Of The Gods [DVD] (DVD)
I like this type of film but this done on a shoe string budget it not bad enough to be good b rated movie it just rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars war in the everglades, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a very different sort of story with these men setting out
to get somebody it was action alll of the way picking them off
and in the end is winning all of the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Of The Gods [DVD] (DVD)
there was lots of hype and promotion that did not meet expectations. To say okay is about right.Worth watching if you get it cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not even remotely viking!, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Of The Gods [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge fan of Viking films, this was a complete let down! One of the most inaccurate Viking films I have ever seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quite Boring, 6 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Hammer Of The Gods [DVD] (DVD)
The Viking king is dying and he sends one of his sons Steinar (Charlie Bewley) to find the first born and bring him back to become the new king.

Steinar is leaving to find his brother with just a few men and in their way they hack and kill every Saxon they encounter.

The film is quite boring. All you see from beginning to the end are a group of Vikings killing people to accomplish their quest. No thrilling, no strong characters just hacking. Rally boring... I would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars HAS NO REAL IMPACT, 2 Oct. 2013
Whilst quite brutal,this film has left me disappointed. The story just lost it's grip on my attention at about the halfway mark.
The main story being a Viking warrior being ordered to find his brother and bring him home. This task means he has to trust people he'd rather not along the way and finding out just who is trustworthy in the long run. The action is great for the most part,but the story wanders some,as did my mind. It wasn't long before I stopped caring who was who or what or why. There are better Viking warrior movies out there and once you've got over the splashing of blood,this one doesn't have much to offer. Some might love this for the action and if the story keeps their attention,but I had to stop myself swinging a hammer at this movie,so that I can sell it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Film, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Of The Gods [DVD] (DVD)
Long and drawn out film. Not hat impressed and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Will see if anyone can take this off my hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing We Haven't Seen 1000 Times Before., 20 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Hammer Of The Gods [DVD] (DVD)
Hammer of the Gods is a seemingly gritty, blood-drenched, fun action-packed Viking send-up of Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness.

Centered on a motley crew of Vikings during the 9th century as young warrior Steinar (Charlie Bewley) is sent out by his dying father King Bagsecg (James Cosmo) to find the king's eldest son and heir to the throne. Cue a cross-country Lord of the Rings-style ramble with bloody fights and bloody cliché dialogue with cardboard cut-out characters taken from historical romps of 2000's films past.

It offers nothing new that we haven't already seen in films such as Ironclad, Centurion, The Eagle, King Arthur or Apocalypse Now. Nothing gels and so little shines with creative thought that you begin to do a count of what film you've seen it all in before. Each character is a role call of other historical character stereotypes, specialty weapons and all. You have the kill-crazy nutter, the doubting Thomas/traitor, the spiritualist, and the tough and attractive female slave-turned-warrior.

Steinar's arc, although blindingly apparent, is a fairly so-so launch pad for the rest of the paper-thin plot, and the fight scenes - and there are many - are competently composed and filled with spraying blood and gouging sound effects. So gore hounds will be pleased. Credit where credit is due though, director Farren Blackburn captures the British Highlands scenery in much intimidating detail and cold beauty as ever and, although it lacks a mystic etherealness, there are shots set up that add a grand scope to the film.

However, there is no true saving grace to the film it is stodgy, overtly clichéd to the point of lawsuits nearly being put out for bare-faced ripping-off. The movie just has so little going for it that it becomes almost forgettable to the point of non-existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful waste of money, time and effort., 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Of The Gods [DVD] (DVD)
A bunch of Viking thugs wandering aimlessly around the digitally enhanced Welsh countryside for far too long, occassionaly encountering and fighting with Saxon thugs. Lots of violence and the odd glimpse (for no apparent reason) of a topless woman. The 'extras' section clearly show the people involved to be so arty and up their own backsides that you hope they never get money to make a sequel. They are under the impression that this is a great example of the genre - the genre being rubbish film, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed..., 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Of The Gods [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointed - I love the way the movie was made, and I liked the gritty texture to it, the colouring was perfect, but honestly, the story really started as the movie finished - they should have cut the entire movie, and started from the last 30 minutes - then it would have faired better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews