Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole new is waiting !!!
A small change, a tiny ripple in our history.
That's what this novel is about and as you read about our hero and his attemps to keep up with changes he's cause.
In the background more tiny ripples are happening and some of them are merging and getting bigger!

This is a very good short story with a great deal of promise.
If you know your...
Published 14 months ago by Ahchi Cappleman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
I like history, and this is an interesting interpretation of a dark period of our history. Lacks a little because we never really get to know the characters except superficially. But more than good enough for me to look forward to the next installment.
Published 13 months ago by JoeG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole new is waiting !!!, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Ahchi Cappleman (North Yorkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
A small change, a tiny ripple in our history.
That's what this novel is about and as you read about our hero and his attemps to keep up with changes he's cause.
In the background more tiny ripples are happening and some of them are merging and getting bigger!

This is a very good short story with a great deal of promise.
If you know your history of the "Dark Age" You will pick up the little ripples in the background.
And realise that this could lead to a whole series of really good novels.

I really enjoyed mr Jones style and humour and will be buying any more novels he writes.

Very very well done Mr Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read from this Author, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
Ok it is too short but there is no waffle and the story bowls along at a great pace. It examines what happens if a Roman Optio develops the stirrup to stop his trainees falling off their horses. This story compares well with Rosemary Sutcliff's books about the Aquila family and Roman Britain especially "The Lantern Bearers" which is credited by the author. It develops its alternate history well and like the other reviewers I really want to find out what happens next. A minor quibble although you can work out Ambrosius' motives quite easily those of the Vitali are not so clear although there are some hints especially if you know your Mary Stewart as well as your Rosemary Sutcliff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short but Really Good, 21 July 2014
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
I actually reviewed this book along with book 2 as they are both short stories and publishing the separately I think was a mistake . I will however state again that they are excellent short stories, well researched, very well written and a really good read.

I hope author Mark H Jones has a few more episodes up his sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
I like history, and this is an interesting interpretation of a dark period of our history. Lacks a little because we never really get to know the characters except superficially. But more than good enough for me to look forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Class 'What-Iffery', 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
As a child who was addicted to Rosemary Sutcliffe's wonderful historical recreations of Roman Britain e.g. 'The Eagle of the Ninth' I found Marc Jones's book to be highly readable with hardly a single unnecessary word. Well done Marc! When is the sequel coming out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suffolkcanary, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
A little lacking in detail and character but an excellent, well written read which moves at a canter. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Subject - what might have been but it wasn't a read - it was a browse, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
Hardly got into it before it had ended, I did enjoy reading it but it gets me when these noivels are made into excerpts This practise reminds me of how Charles Dickens made a fantastic amount of money from his books by making monthly magazine excerpts of them and distributing them around the world. In those days you could sell the magazine on to someone else because Dickens work was in demand Marc Jones is fairly good at writing novels but he's not Charles Dickens ..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent roman what if, 22 Jun 2013
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed the premis of the book. the problerams facing Briton in ealry 400s is well laid out and thought about the ction is well wrtitten and the politics complementry. I recomed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCITING AND INTERESTING, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
ONCE YOU ACCEPT THE CONCEPT THAT THE HERO ENJOYS PROMOTION AND ADVANCEMENT DUE TO INVENTING STIRRUPS,THE STORY RATTLES ALONG. THE AUTHOR HAS OBVIOUSLY RESEARCHED HIS SUBJECT VERY WELL AND THIS ADDS TO THE FAST STORY LINE MAKING THIS A CRACKING NOVEL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cato's Cavalry (Kindle Edition)
I have studied Roman military history for over 40 years and never been able to work out why they didn't come up with the stirrup. Marc has done a grand job in showing what might have happened if they had. I eagerly await book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cato's Cavalry
Cato's Cavalry by Marc Jones
£2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews