Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Tastic
This is the most dramatic, emotional and best X-Men movie I have ever had the pleasure of watching. You feel an emotional attachment to all the mutants even the one's that don't have much screen time, and the fight sequences in the movie are very well done my favourite being the opening fight sequence.

With it being a time travel movie I expected to pick the...
Published 1 month ago by Mathew Bennett

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this movie in the cinema but you really have ...
I really enjoyed this movie in the cinema but you really have to let your brain go on holiday for this one. The good points first: the sentinels are amazing, the action scenes in the future are great and it's another x men film.

The problems: A lot. For a start I dont think the writers had a very good grasp of telling a story or character development. They were...
Published 8 days ago by Tweakie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Tastic, 31 May 2014
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] (Blu-ray)
This is the most dramatic, emotional and best X-Men movie I have ever had the pleasure of watching. You feel an emotional attachment to all the mutants even the one's that don't have much screen time, and the fight sequences in the movie are very well done my favourite being the opening fight sequence.

With it being a time travel movie I expected to pick the movie apart, but the time travel aspects are very well done there was never really a point where I was confused. The main reason this is the best X-Men movie is that all the main characters and side characters have their moment in the spotlight, the dialogue is great and the drama in the movie is very well thought out. My favourite scene in the entire movie is the confrontation between Xavier and Eric on the Plane it gave me goosebumps.

All the performances in DOFP are top notch James Mcavoy, Michael Fassbender and Jennifer Lawrence are absolutely amazing in this movie Jennifer has made a vast improvement over her First Class performance to the point where I can say that she gives Rebecca Romijn's Mystique a run for her money and this is not a Wolverine movie, he is relegated to the sidelines and I have to say it works very well. It's very refreshing to see a much more calm Wolverine on screen Hugh Jackman's performance is arguably his best as Wolverine overall I was blown away by this latest X-Men installment and can't wait until Apocalypse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'M FROM THE FUTURE AND I'M HERE TO HELP YOU, 24 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
With all the excitement of MIB 3, we get a time travel X-men because they killed off too many people and wanted to get Jennifer Lawrence in a blue body suit by expanding Raven's roll, pun intended. It seems the humans have gained the upper hand and the mutants are on the "brink of extinction" which would also kill the franchise, something they attempted with this film. They must stop the humans from getting Raven's DNA which allows them to build better mutant killing machines.

Only Logan/Wolverine Man (Hugh Jackman) can go back in time, or at least his mind. Appropriately, he wakes up in 1973 a bit groggy with a lava lamp by his side and Roberta Flack eerily singing "First Time Ever I saw Your Face" a song more popular in 1972. Logan must get the team back together and convince them of the mission. Much of the film consisted of springing Magneto, which wittily included another era song by Jim Croce. Unfortunately they ran out of royalty checks and couldn't continue with that fun.

The action/comedy/drama was a let down from previous films. While the film maintained the special effects, I felt Jennifer Lawrence's acting talents were wasted, although I predict she will take over as the slow motion/ stop action mode blue skinned princess from that Avatar blue thing.

The film had potential, but the script fell short. Still worth watching as a fun popcorn film.

Parental Guide: 1 necessary F-bomb. No sex. Jackman shows his butt again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wibbley wobbley timey wimey scifi time travel epic, 23 May 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Wolverine is sent from a dark future where robot sentinals have hunted mutants to the brink of extinction to 1973 to stop the sentinals from being created. Director Bryan Singer's ambitious, complex scifi time travel epic unites the original X Men film trilogy cast with the cast of prequel film X Men First Class in one of the best X Men films. A tense, action packed film with very good performances from Hugh Jackman, James Mcavoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, Nicholas Hoult, Peter Dinklage, Patrick Stewart and Ian Mckellan with appearances from Halle Berry, Anna Paquin and Evans Peters as new mutant Quicksilver this is sheer entertainment from start to finish and like X Men First Class did with the Cuban Missile Crisis, this uses the end of the Vietnam war as a real life historical background. As usual with Marvel stay tuned for an after credit scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Quicksilver Show, 2 July 2014
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
No superhero movie/franchise could ever be accused of being smart, and that's doubly true when discussing X-Men and their continuity. Days of Future Past only confuses matters in that regard. Nonetheless, the latest X-Men movie is up there with the best (X2), partly because of Quicksilver but mostly due to the promising foundations of First Class being built upon and expanded expertly. What the resolution means for future titles in the series remains to be seen, as such a redaction pretty much changes the franchise's direction wholesale. Soft reboot of the modern continuity, maybe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Singer's long overdue return brings much needed life back to pulp mutants, 7 July 2014
For years, Trekkies have perpetrated the "odd-numbered curse" rumor that befell the original crew's movies. According to this theory somehow, someway the odd numbered movies are mysteriously inferior to the even numbered entries. While there is a certain truth in that, it is not because of some silly curse, nor is it a mystery. Movies do not just magically "make themselves," and the actors do not make it up as they go along. The common denominator in the even numbered Star Trek entries is Nicholas Meyer, who wrote and directed Star Trek II (1982) and Star Trek VI (1991) and co-wrote the script for Star Trek IV (1986). The strengths of Star Trek IV lie in the writing, particularly that which is clearly from the stylistic hand of Meyer. The film's weaknesses lie in Leonard Nimoy's pedestrian directing.

When the third X-Men movie, The Last Stand (2006) was released, fans (and some critics) were shocked that it fell far short of the first two entries. Since Bryan Singer directed and co-wrote both X-Men (2000) and X-Men 2 (2003), and was not at all associated with The Last Stand, that third film's lesser quality should not have been a surprise. Regardless, Singer has returned after an eleven year absence to direct and co-write Days of Future Past. With him, the franchise is vital entertainment again. Although not without flaws, X-Men: Days Of Future Past (2014) is as much imaginative dumb fun as Singer's previous efforts. Its biggest misstep is that it is not a stand alone movie. It expects the audience to have seen all the previous X-Men movies, and after The Last Stand it should be counted as almost a miracle that any future movies were even made about mutant super-people. (Except, of course, we are talking about the 21st century American market; the same market that actually made a hit of live action Scooby Doo movies, the Transformers franchise, and the Fast and Furious franchise). It is probably helpful to have along a translator who speaks Marvel Comics if you are unfamiliar with all the characters' histories--and there a lot of characters, too damned many for Singer to balance with the same level of deftness that Joss Whedon is adept at.

Like many Trek stories, this X-Men opus tackles a time travel plot, albeit an overly complicated one. Thankfully, it turns playful. There are plenty of allegories bandied about and historical parallels abound (think the Vietnam War and a Terminator-like apocalypse). An older Professor X (Trek veteran Patrick Stewart) and Magneto ( Ian McKellen) meet their younger selves (James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender), shades of Picard-meets-Kirk or Spock-meets-Spock-Prime. Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) has to go back to 1973, which means waking up to the music of Roberta Flack and the discovery that Richard Nixon (Mark Comancho) was not only deep in Watergate, but also aiding and abetting Dr. Trask (Peter Dinklage) in a robot plot (it always helps to have robots). References to the Kennedy assassination and the magic bullet are thrown in for good measure (which diverts us back to another unused Trek plot).

Singer occasionally gets waterlogged, probably from trying to appease fanboy expectations. Additionally, his return to pulp is excessively long in its last quarter. However, it is capped off with a winning finale, which feels like a teenage interpretation of "Twilight Of The Gods" (minus Wagner himself, of course). Singer keeps the film flowing through pop references galore, which helps levitate all that on-sleeve, existential mutant angst. Even the much-missed Jim Croce provides good tonic, via his legendary "Time In A Bottle," as does John Ottman's assured score. Once past the confusing opening, X-Men: Days Of Future Past shifts gear into ambitious, melodramatic fun, and has a few surprises up its sleeve, at least to those of us who forgot our Marvel concordance. Now, if the producers are smart, they'll keep Singer employed in this franchise (providing he can keep out of jail).

* My review originally appeared at 366 weird movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely incredible!, 27 May 2014
By 
Sam Hey (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
I personally think this was the best film of the whole franchise - with all of the elements that made up the film, it kept me excited throughout the whole movie.
It has definitely made it into my Top 10 favourite films list and may have even reached the #1 spot - it truly is that amazing! 10/10, I would 100% recommend that you HAVE to go see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best X-Men film AND one of the best "popcorn" films ever made..., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] (Blu-ray)
This will be free of the spoilers so fear not.

The "Intelligent Blockbuster" as they say has a new addition to the list. Ramping up both the Mutants as "pick-a-minority" allegory / metaphor, AND the action & effects, the film manages to make spectacular use of two amazing casts in a way that, for example, The Amazing Spider-man 2, failed to do with just one.

As producer of X-Men: First Class, Bryan Singer folded the Origins Magneto script into that film, which is why that film often plays like his Origin story. As director of Days of Future Past he's made a film that could described as Origins Professor X & Mystique: as Wolverine tries to drag Charles Xavier into his position as founder and soul of the X-Men, whilst, Young Magneto& Charles compete to see whether we will end up with Raven or Mystique by the end of the film. The future of the human race also happens to hang on her path.

The impression you may have gotten from the trailers is that in adapting one of the comic book industry's most famous stories the film would start in our near future and then switch to the past think again. The film masterfully switches the action back and forth between 1973 and the future, largely because the method of time travel means that those in the future remain connected, in real time, to poor old/young Wolverine as he struggles not only to change history for the better, but to undo the damage that is being caused simply because he is there and giving people knowledge of the future.

What pays off here for 20th Century Fox is what paid off for Marvel in their Avengers Universe, excellent casting of the separate films. So here we get the return of the peerless Sirs Patrick Stewart & Ian McKellen, & Hugh Jackman, et al alongside the quite superb Michael Fassbender, James McAvoy, Nicholas Hoult and Jennifer Lawrence. Both past and future sets of X-Men are a joy to watch seeing their differences and similarities in the same film is a real plus. Of the new additions Fan Bingbing's Blink is the best realised and the way her powers are used gives the White house attack by Nightcrawler at the start of X-Men 2 a real run for its money. Speaking of running, American Horror Story's Evan Peters' turn as Quicksilver is extremely memorable and I think Joss Whedon maybe watching this film and wondering if the Marvel Cinematic Universe's version of Quicksilver in Avenger: Age of Ultron (and the end of Captain America: The Winter Soldier) will stack up; I promise you the Quicksilver prison break scene will be many people's favourite part of this film!

Peter Dinklage is, as always, excellent, with his character another in that long list of people whose vision of a peaceful future for mankind includes squashing segments of society he doesn't care for. Like Stalin & Co he doesn't do evil laughs, because he truly sees himself as a hero

Good news If you hated X-Men Origins Wolverine, as this film pretty much seems to rubber stamp the consigning of that to a "What If" story, in other words it never really happened. Bad News, If you loved X-Men Origins Wolverine as this film pretty much seems to rubber stamp the consigning of that to a "What If" story, in other words it never really happened.

If you are one of those people than runs out as soon the first words appear at the end of a film (Shame on you) then you need to make sure you hang around until the very end here as the X-Men's biggest nemesis (no it is not Magneto) makes a very regal appearance 1-2-3...

It's been interesting so far in 2014 as with 5 Super hero films due this year (Captain America 2, Amazing Spider-man 2, X-Men, Guardians of The Galaxy & Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) we had one of the best ever in the MCU elevating Captain America: The Winter Soldier gave invasion of Privacy, Edward Snowden & political thrillers the Super Hero treatment. This was followed by a firm reminder of why so many comic book fans wish Sony would just let Spider-man die and return to Marvel Studios, with a duller than dishwater sequel to an already average film. Well X-Men Days of Future past, may upset those same comic book fans as Fox look to have secured their rights to Marvel's X-Men for some time to come, with their best Super hero film yet and, for my money, one of the top 5 Super hero films ever made. Over to you Guardians of The Galaxy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible on almost every level, 25 May 2014
X-Men Days of Future Past is not only the best X-Men film to date, I also think it's the best Marvel film to date. Yes, even better the Avengers and Captain America: The Winter Soldier. It is that good! The film has a fantastic script, amazing performances (James McAvoy as young Xavier being my favourite), really good action, great special effects, amazing character interactions and just a great sense of scale and emotion behind it that you get really invested in from the beginning! For X-Men fans out there, you really need to see this as soon as possible! You will not be disappointed! It's the first superhero I've ever given a 10/10. It is incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Addition to the Movie Series!, 6 Jun 2014
After the entertaining, but sadly disappointing, Amazing Spider-Man 2 I felt hoped that the new X-Men movie would be better. Boy, was I right. In comparison to the previous films this one is not the best, but it is good enough to be one of the top ones. It's just not as good as X-Men III The Last Stand,but that's my own opinion. Either way this is still a good film, and is definitely worth watching.

Set some years after X-Men III and the Wolverine this film opens up to an apocalyptic world where a robotic race, called the Sentinels, are exterminating all mutants. Because of the little hope the mutants have of fighting back, and winning the war, Charles Xavier comes up with a plan of going back in time and changing history, so that the Sentinels never existed. Wolverine is the only person who can go back in time, because of his ability to regenerate and fix any damage done to him. It is all up to Logan to find young Charles Xavier and change the future.
Now, there is only one film that I can think of that starts off with a destroyed world and within the first number of minutes you don't know what's going on, and that is Evangelion 3.33 You Can (Not) Redo. But with Evangelion what wasn't explained, due to the film being from the perspective of the main character, you know will be explained in currently titled Evangelion 4.0 Final. Day's of Future Past however doesn't have that feeling of knowing that things will be will be explained later, unless they do it in the Wolverine 2 or future X-Men films with the original cast. Don't get me wrong; the film does explain things, but it's disappointing that it doesn't explain everything since we're led to believe that this is last we'll see of the original cast. Except for Hugh Jackman.
The film sadly doesn't explain how Charles Xavier is back from the dead. Like many fans I wanted to know this since the secret ending in X-Men III the Last Stand, as well as the secret ending in the Wolverine, but this movie doesn't explain it. It would have also been nice to know how Magneto got his powers back, but we're to led to believe that he got them back over time. Also, does anyone remember that at the end of the Wolverine Logan lost his Aluminum claws and is back to his original bone claws? Well, guess what? In the future he magically got them back. Again, there's no explanation as to how this happened. I'm going to assume that these are going to be explained in the Wolverine 2, or any other X-Men movie, but it seems that it is unlikely. It just disappointing that these weren't explained. Also I found the ending to be a bit anti-climatic. It was kind of a disappointment, but when you have a good story like this it's hard to end it well. The film ended in a good way, but there were a few things I didn't agree with because they had nothing to do with the Sentinels. At least I don't think they did. I'll probably have to re-watch the movie. But even if they did it just seems like an excuse to hit the reset button.
Though I think I've go on for long enough I will say that there are some good points in this film. Such as every minute with Quick Silver on screen, and Logan's comments on certain things. Those and the actors give every minute they're all to make this film a faced paced, epic, superhero, fuel ride. Though not on the same scale as Man of Steel, and no superhero film might not be except for Justice League and possibly Avengers 2, but it still get's the point across that there is a race against time and things need to be done quickly.

OVERALL
This is a great X-Men movie, not the best, but is still good. If it wasn't for plot's way of saying that the heroes don't have all the time in world this would be lower on my list, but even though it doesn't explain things that I, my friends, and probably other people, wanted explaining it is still good. This is worth watching for any X-Men fan, though if you are a newcomer to X-Men I recommend to go watch all the other films first.
This a film that every X-Men fan should have, so I recommend that you go out and buy this. I also recommend to wait until the end of the credits, so that you can view the secret ending to this X-Men movie. If you are an X-Men comic fan you might guess who's at the end, but if you only care about the films and have no knowledge of the comics, games, or TV series, then you might not know. Either way this ends the story of the original crew nicely and sets-up future films well. Though with some disappointments it is still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xmen - Return to Singer-, 31 May 2014
Bryan Singer knows how to direct films, especially of the superhero/mutant sort. The reason he always gets this right , is because he humanizes their unusual capabilities,rather than mystifying them, so that we feel sympatico for the characters. Singer also directs action with intimacy rather than blockbuster- it's all in the details.
One of the best scenes ever filmed regarding the details of a mutants power and a peek into his personality, transpires when Quicksilver ( Evan Peters) is assisting Wolverine ( Jackman) and Professor Xavier ( McAvoy) in breaking Magneto ( Fassbender) out of the Pentagon- it was pure science-fiction ecstasy- but what really made it work were the crafty insertions of humour; genius!
Singer seems to like giant football stadiums , but rather than Superman surreptitiously landing a jet on its field, its Magneto hurling one across land.
The film as a whole is a long and winding road, but the content is rich and cohesive. If you've followed the Xmen series it's much easier to grasp, although for some reason the re-uniting at its end seemed rather corny and anti-climatic. Never mind, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men: Days of Future Past [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy]
20.75
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews