Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, detailed and faithful telling of a great story.
This much-awaited film has taken years to bring to screen. The makers decided that they would rather not make the film at all, if not done as accurately as possible. Years of painstaking research and attention to detail went into this movie before the cameras even started filming. Sets such as the Soweto street where the Mandela family lived, the Palace of Justice in...
Published 9 months ago by Close Range.

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Bio Than Pic
Mandela - Long Walk to Freedom (2013) directed by Justin Chadwick

A biopic that was more bio than pic. The great man’s life is of course inspiring enough without needing much drama added, but I was again reminded in watching this that real life is much messier than stories. Mandela’s story is already more mythologised than understood and this film...
Published 1 month ago by Andrew D Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
Good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandela, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
This was an amazing DVD into Mandela's life and I think Idris played him very well. A very enjoyable film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, 21 Jun 2014
By 
David B. Lambert (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
Classic film, meant to see it at Cinema but never did. Very powerful, helped me to understand the man better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mandela's Long Walk, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
We watched this DVD on a Saturday night, when generally the programmes are poor on TV. We both found it a little slow, but it told Mandela's story in a touching way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long pastiche, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
It is impossible to document Mandela's whole career, especially when not in prison, but this does a good job through what is really a series of pastiche scenes.
Some actors are born to play certain characters (Gandhi, Simon Ward as Churchill etc) and Mr Elba may well fit in to that category. he certainly does a very good job with the body movements and the voice.
Good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful stuff but left me wanting more, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
Little Nelson Mandela was given the name 'trouble-maker' by his father but all he wanted to do was to make his family proud when he grew up. And he did. He became a lawyer and hoped one day to be wealthy and influential but his goal changed when he was approached by members of the African National Congress, fighting for the same equality and freedom enjoyed by white South Africans. While Mandela (Idris Elba) resisted joining at first, more and more oppressive and restrictive laws targeting blacks only made him change his mind. An articulate and educated speaker, he soon attracted the attention of hundreds of black civilians, as well as the fear and hatred of the white authorities. Charged with terrorism, instead of receiving the death prison which would have made Mandela and fellow political prisoners martyrs, they were imprisoned for life. Who could have guessed that one day he would be freed and elected President of South Africa, a South Africa where apartheid had been abolished?

Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom (2013) is based on the best selling book Long Walk To Freedom While I haven't read the book, the movie left me wanting more. I wanted more detail about his long years held prisoner, about the treatment he received during that time, how he coped with such appalling conditions for the longest part of 27 years. I wanted to know more of the behind-the-scenes pressure on the authorities to release him, how he managed to be a political influence even from behind bars, and the extent of his wife, Winnie's (Naomie Harris), involvement in the Soweto riots and his release. I wanted to know about more about what was going on amongst the white leaders, why he was offered his freedom, (which he initially turned down), what influences caused that. It has been said in another review that the riots in Soweto were influential in his release yet there is little or no mention of that in the movie.

At times people speak of Nelson Mandela as if he were a saint but he was foremost a man and I think that the movie doesn't completely demonstrate his inner strength, or that he was an astute lawyer with the calculating mind of a politician, more than capable of manipulating his situation and fighting for his cause. The movie left me wanting to know more, to learn, and that isn't a bad thing.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU ALONE ARE SMALL. YOUR PEOPLE ARE MIGHTY,, 22 Dec 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
The film covers from the time Mandela (Idris Elba) was a child entering manhood to his election. It touches on problems in his personal life, including infidelity. It touches on tire necklaces. It ignores much of the pressure brought on by the international community.

I liked the acting. At 2 1/2 hours, the film weighs on you as you watch it. Mandela in prison struggling to get long pants while international boycotts go unmentioned. Granted this was not a documentary about the movement, but a bio of Mandela. Still I felt his significance on the world front was diminished. From a human point of view, I liked the film "Winnie Mandela" with Jennifer Hudson better than this one.

The theme, You alone are small, your people are mighty, was mentioned a couple of times, but the film didn't make any great lengths to demonstrate it. A better theme would have been one of forgiveness, something mentioned in the film. Mandela's involvement in the 1995 Rugby World Cup I think would have made a better ending, driving home the point of unity and forgiveness.

Parental Guide: No sex, people undressing as if to have sex. No nudity, prison men in underwear. Maybe an F-bomb of two, hard to tell with accents. 3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Mandela movie - missed opportunity., 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
This is a terrible film. It has a stilted direction and simplistic script, it does not convey the power or historical impact of Nelson Mandela's life on his own country and the World. Idris Elba comes out of it ok but while he has charisma there is no gravitas which Mandela had in large measure. Tick for not being afraid to pull punches about their personal lives, and yet then perhaps a story like this doesn't need salacious details. I wasted opportunity. Rushed out too fast probably, due to the death of the eponymous person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WIILL MANDELA'S LEGACY PREVAIL ?, 16 July 2014
A superb film of the life and times of a very great man, who fought for and succeeded in eradicating a hateful regime in South Africa. Nelson Mandella deserves the greatest credit as the movie proves, however he has been blighted by some of his extended family and the antics of many of those who could be classed as "hangers-on". Winnie Mandela also remains in the picture and could be classed as a bigot. The question is: What progress has South Africa made since coming under the control of the ANC ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Mike G (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Overlong and somewhat simplistic. Doesn't get anywhere near the 'soul'of the man. Read the book instead. Whilst it will take you a few more hours (days?) you will end up with a better understanding of the humanity and ability to turn a country into a better country. A real disappointment that there were, and are, fewer people lie him; driven by trying to bring along the best for all his peoples, irrespective of race, colour or religion. A dip of the toe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD]
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] by Justin Chadwick (DVD - 2014)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews