Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, detailed and faithful telling of a great story.
This much-awaited film has taken years to bring to screen. The makers decided that they would rather not make the film at all, if not done as accurately as possible. Years of painstaking research and attention to detail went into this movie before the cameras even started filming. Sets such as the Soweto street where the Mandela family lived, the Palace of Justice in...
Published 19 months ago by Close Range.

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Bio Than Pic
Mandela - Long Walk to Freedom (2013) directed by Justin Chadwick

A biopic that was more bio than pic. The great man’s life is of course inspiring enough without needing much drama added, but I was again reminded in watching this that real life is much messier than stories. Mandela’s story is already more mythologised than understood and this film...
Published 11 months ago by Andrew D Wright


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, detailed and faithful telling of a great story., 30 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
This much-awaited film has taken years to bring to screen. The makers decided that they would rather not make the film at all, if not done as accurately as possible. Years of painstaking research and attention to detail went into this movie before the cameras even started filming. Sets such as the Soweto street where the Mandela family lived, the Palace of Justice in Pretoria, and the maximum security jail on Robben Island, are so well made that it is difficult to believe that these were not shot on location. The film traces Mandela from boyhood, through to his inauguration as President, in May 1994. Unfortunately,some periods are glossed over while others are paid more attention. The strain on Mandela and his family is a thread that runs throughout.

The result is moving and beautifully rendered, but does not shy away from the horror of apartheid, as well as the flaws of Nelson Mandela himself. Due to the sometimes harrowing scenes, shot for the movie, or through use of actual news footage, this film is not always an easy one to experience. However uncomfortable the truth was, it forms a vital part of the story. We see verbal racial abuse in the streets, and later, brutality dealt to both Nelson and Winnie Mandela. It is interesting how each handles these abuses.

The film opens with valleys bathed in golden light, and there is much beauty throughout the long (2.5 hours) movie. The times are perfectly replicated, with clothing, cars, streets, and buildings all made very specific to the era being shown, right down to an old SA railways logo not seen for decades, in Johannesburg station. Idris Elba and Naomie Harris are spot-on as Nelson and Winnie. Despite not being South Africans, they do not put a foot wrong. There are a few factual inaccuracies, such as the playing of a Miriam Makeba song during a scene set in 1942, well before Makeba was known, and the colour of the Toyota Cressida in which Mandela was driven from Victor Verster prison was a creamy yellow, not navy blue as shown here. These are small faults though.

The film is a triumph on many levels: As a telling of history, as a love story, and about what helped make Mandela become the great leader he was. "Long Walk to Freedom" is definitely worthy of its great subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
What a great movie so glad I bought it very pleased with the price made the weekend entertaining would recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A STORY OF COURAGE AND DETERMINATION', 2 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is faithfully adapted from 'Nelson Mandela's' account of his experiences.
The story takes us from his childhood into manhood, tells of his loves and failed
early marriage, and on to his romance and marriage to 'Winnie'
Still a young man he becomes interested in 'Civil-Rights' movement A.N.C. his
life up to that point, as was the case with the majority of 'Native' South Africans,
was as a second-class-citizen under the rule of a 'White' Government who
enforced 'Aparthied'
He soon became seen as a leading figure in the movement and was seen as a
threat to the ruling authorities.
Following a campaign of disruptive activity 'Nelson' along with several other members
of the movement were sought, captured and brought to trial.
The sentence could easily have been 'death' however probably because of world
opinion, and not wishing to have the prisoners seen as Martyrs they were condemned
to life imprisonment.
They were taken to 'Robben island' in 1964 and had to tolerate inhuman living conditions,
hard labour, and abuse at first from the guards.
It was never intended that the prisoners would ever be released, however after 18 years
they were moved to a prison on the mainland where, conditions were a little better.
World-Wide opinion couple with trade sanctions eventually persuaded the government
of South Africa to reappraise the situation.
'Nelson Mandela' had served some 27 years of imprisonment, now the authorities were
talking to him.
Although he had many bitter thoughts and memories, 'Nelson Mandela' knew he would
have to approach the future with caution and send out a message of conciliation.
This is a story as written by 'Nelson Mandela'
He truly was a remarkable human being, this film is so worth taking time out to watch.
We might feel we know the story, the film takes us to a new level of understanding.
Great performance from 'Idris Elba' as 'Nelson Mandella'
Special Features-
Commentary with director - 'Justin Chadwick'
'Mandela' the leader we knew, the man we didn't.
Behind the scenes featurette.
Production Design -Costumes and make-up.
The music and Sound - Special Effects - Theatrical Trailer
Feature - Audio Description.
Run Time - 146 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the autobiography twice and this film is very true to the book. Idris Elba was brilliant in it as he sounded just like Nelson Mandela. This is a film I will watch again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NELSON MANDELA: LONG WALK TO FREEDOM WITH SOUTH AFRICA, 1 Feb. 2015
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Five INTENSE Stars! "Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom" is a movie that cannot encompass the entire life of Nelson Mandel and the origins of the brutal apartheid issue, so it focuses on Nelson Mandela from the time he became interested in politics, met Winnie Mandela, and accelerated the anti-apartheid activities of the African National Party (ANC). It contains two powerful performances: by Idris Elba who delivers a faithful representation of the voice, cadence, and mannerisms of Mandela, and by Naomie Harris as Winnie with an equally-potent performance. Along the way of the movie, there is the Robben Island incarceration, the Winnie's solitary confinement, long trousers, Thembi's fate, the compassionate prison guard, Pollsmoor Prison, the long process of Mandela's release, the actions of President De Klerk, and Mandela's ascendancy to President of the Republic of South Africa. This is a great feat of movie making showing the eventual victory of forgiveness. My Highest Recommendation. Five POWERFUL Stars. (Directed by Justin Chadwick. Rated: PG-13. Time- 2:25)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. W. S. M. Dean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
Having visited Robben Island 'Cape Town where Mr Mandela was held prisoner found this film to be of great interest. Idris Elba played his role brilliantly. An all round brilliant film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amandla!, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
Great film illustrating the life of the greatest leader of our time - good to show young people that there is always a need to challenge and defy conventional wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, touching, moving, powerful and compelling piece of film making about the great man, 1 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom is a very well delivered biographical film about Nelson Mandela. Historically, he will be remembered as a great man who touched many people hearts across the globe.The man maintained great dignity and upholded strong principles in pursuit of the long struggle to achieve freedom against the brutality and cruetly that affected South African society. This is known as the apartheid. There are enduring qualities I strongly admire about the man.Sadly, he passed away last year. The whole world paid homage to a great man.

The movie chronicles the early life of Mandela. He stood up for the rights for of the people. He campaigned for equal rights of black people through the streets.The man served a long sentense in prison for 27 years, committing acts in overthrowing the government. The government divided the country through segregation. Some of, the scenes are distressing, distrubing and hollowing. It shows the scale of the problem affecting the nation at the time. Nation experienced an civil unrest during Mandela's imprisonment. Numerous campaigns launched calling for the release of Mandela, as the country was in turmoil. The movie depicts the injustice and bruality shown by the government and prison authorities.The movie provides an excellent potrayal of Mandela surfacing as a political activist and as a family man. The strain took a toll in family life. It cover the key aspects of the man life including the eventual release of the man. He intended to buid a better future. The man showed no remorse and intent on revenge. The country needed to be reunited desperately, as division of the country was broken down and to create harmony in society. Violences in the streets escalated, stirring global attention. Nelson Mandela continued to campaign for peace and being elected for government. Sanctions imposed on the nation, which led to the country being banned in international sports.

The movie is beautifully filmed and storytelling is first class. The attention to details are superb, showing the exact locations. It feels so real and believable, as if we are recapturing the life of Mandela as unfolded in the film. I found the film engaging, moving and touching. Idris Elba and Noami Harris got a strong feel for the characters and plays the parts superbly. Fundamental questions are raised about equality, injustice and humanity facing the country. It is one of the best films about the great man, who leaves behind a powerful legacy and will be sadly missed. I was totally mesmerized by the film and felt tears flowing to my eyes. It deserves full marks, for delievering a powerful and compelling piece of film making. I would recommend the film if you express an interest in biographical film making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent account of Mandela's life., 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
I thought it was an excellent account - particularly of his early life. I thoroughly enjoyed it, as did my husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful stuff but left me wanting more, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] (DVD)
Little Nelson Mandela was given the name 'trouble-maker' by his father but all he wanted to do was to make his family proud when he grew up. And he did. He became a lawyer and hoped one day to be wealthy and influential but his goal changed when he was approached by members of the African National Congress, fighting for the same equality and freedom enjoyed by white South Africans. While Mandela (Idris Elba) resisted joining at first, more and more oppressive and restrictive laws targeting blacks only made him change his mind. An articulate and educated speaker, he soon attracted the attention of hundreds of black civilians, as well as the fear and hatred of the white authorities. Charged with terrorism, instead of receiving the death prison which would have made Mandela and fellow political prisoners martyrs, they were imprisoned for life. Who could have guessed that one day he would be freed and elected President of South Africa, a South Africa where apartheid had been abolished?

Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom (2013) is based on the best selling book Long Walk To Freedom While I haven't read the book, the movie left me wanting more. I wanted more detail about his long years held prisoner, about the treatment he received during that time, how he coped with such appalling conditions for the longest part of 27 years. I wanted to know more of the behind-the-scenes pressure on the authorities to release him, how he managed to be a political influence even from behind bars, and the extent of his wife, Winnie's (Naomie Harris), involvement in the Soweto riots and his release. I wanted to know about more about what was going on amongst the white leaders, why he was offered his freedom, (which he initially turned down), what influences caused that. It has been said in another review that the riots in Soweto were influential in his release yet there is little or no mention of that in the movie.

At times people speak of Nelson Mandela as if he were a saint but he was foremost a man and I think that the movie doesn't completely demonstrate his inner strength, or that he was an astute lawyer with the calculating mind of a politician, more than capable of manipulating his situation and fighting for his cause. The movie left me wanting to know more, to learn, and that isn't a bad thing.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD]
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom [DVD] by Justin Chadwick (DVD - 2014)
£5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews