Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sensitive and provocative portrayal of a real life story
I feel I have to respond to Jude's profoundly offensive review of Philomena. Having read Martin Sixsmith's book and watched the film upon which it is based, I am frankly appalled that anybody should dismiss the film as a 'pile of pathetic anti-Catholic propaganda'. If the reviewer could bear to accept that the story is based on fact s/he would surely acknowledge, as many...
Published 16 months ago by Village person

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking.
Written and directed by awards winner Stephen Frears, "Philomena" stars the outstanding Judy Dench and Steve Coogan as strangers who become unlikely friends (despite of Coogan's character stiff upper lip) in the tale of a true story of one woman's search for a son she lost "to the system". Falling pregnant as a teenager in a catholic Ireland of early fifties of the last...
Published 14 months ago by Lola


‹ Previous | 126 27 28106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Philomena - a name to remember, 27 April 2014
By 
D. O'Donnell (Hythe, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Anyone who watched the real Philomena being interviewed will know what a courageous and inspiring person she is and Judy Dench's magnificent portrayal of her character is equally courageous and inspiring. The casting of her co-star Steve Coogan playing the part of the journalist, Martin Sixmith, who led Philomena to find her long lost son was something of a surprise to many but the chemistry between these two make a perfect partnership in this emotive and thought provoking story which will enthral you from beginning to end. Be prepared to cry a little but, don't worry, you will laugh too and, at the end of the journey through London, Ireland, New York and finally back to the tranquility of Ireland, you will feel exhausted but uplifted at the same time. This film is definitely a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interpretation!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the interpretation of the character by Judi Dench I enjoyed but did not keep pace with the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Philomena, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
A really enjoyable, moving film. I think I would have enjoyed seeing this at the cinema. DVD quality fine, no problems with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VIEWING, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
A VERY TOUCHING STORY TOLD BEAUTIFULLY. WHO WOULD HAVE THOUGHT THAT NUNS COULD BE SO SPITEFULL IN A TIME OF SOMEONES NEED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but up lifting, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
great story, great acting, very moving and as it's a true story it makes you realise what went on in the 1950's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars def worth a watch, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
A sad story line with comedy elements and not what we expected it to be.
Great choice of actors and actresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philomena, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
It is a wonderful film. Very sad in places. The acting by all the stars was superb. I recommend it to nayonw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Philomena, 26 April 2014
By 
John Harvey "harpic04" (Nerja, (Malaga), Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this hard hitting movie, and think it worthy of Oscar awards, if not for it`s honesty alone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my mum for Mothers' Day as she 'd missed seeing it at the cinema. She thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philomena, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I have waited for such a long time to see this film and it didn't disappoint. Wonderful, heartbreaking, funny, sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 126 27 28106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philomena [Blu-ray]
Philomena [Blu-ray] by Stephen Frears (Blu-ray - 2014)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews