Customer Reviews


458 Reviews
5 star:
 (336)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sensitive and provocative portrayal of a real life story
I feel I have to respond to Jude's profoundly offensive review of Philomena. Having read Martin Sixsmith's book and watched the film upon which it is based, I am frankly appalled that anybody should dismiss the film as a 'pile of pathetic anti-Catholic propaganda'. If the reviewer could bear to accept that the story is based on fact s/he would surely acknowledge, as many...
Published 5 months ago by Joyce

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I read the book, then watched this... disappointing.
I'm always ready to accept that books and films of the same are often very different, and consequently watch/read with an open mind. Unfortunately this is a very disappointing result, not because it takes a different direction to the book, but because it felt too 'Hollywood'... some scenes were too contrived and far from the natural storytelling that it should have been;...
Published 3 months ago by Ell


‹ Previous | 124 25 2646 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my mum for Mothers' Day as she 'd missed seeing it at the cinema. She thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philomena, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I have waited for such a long time to see this film and it didn't disappoint. Wonderful, heartbreaking, funny, sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very touching, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
The best movie I have seen in.along time. The acting was very down to earth and believable. I thought Steve Coogan was very good alongside Judy Dench.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Was bought for wife., 26 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
Was quite surprised - though I should not have been, given the cast - at ho well this story was told and we enjoyed the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must see, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena (Amazon Instant Video)
A necessary story told with humor; with fine performances from the leads - Dench is utterly believable. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philomena, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
It's an extremely good film very true, as unmarried mothers were treated so badly,

and half the time it was rape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Amazing film,very funny in parts and sad in others, with an unexpected ending. Everybody should see it. I love true stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed Philomena , after reading the book bought the dvd from Amazon as well, both very enjoyable, think the book went into more detail about her sons life in America. but really enjoyed them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Did not know what to expect., 26 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
A thoroughly absorbing story acted superbly by Dame Judy and Steve. The film just flew by which is always a good sign. Defo deserves recognition by the award councils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
it was a fabuous film great film to watch me and the wife really enjoyed it we will deal again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 2646 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philomena [Blu-ray]
Philomena [Blu-ray] by Stephen Frears (Blu-ray - 2014)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews