Customer Reviews


669 Reviews
5 star:
 (502)
4 star:
 (114)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the best of them.
If you think Alan Partridge, sorry Steve Coogan is a bit of a twonk and don't like his acting then imagine you have never seen him before, buy the film because you know Judi Dench is the best actress in the UK and you will smile from ear to ear witnessing great chemistry between the two. The true story is one that had to be told and if it doesn't bring a tear to you eye...
Published 4 months ago by Martin Lynch

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I read the book, then watched this... disappointing.
I'm always ready to accept that books and films of the same are often very different, and consequently watch/read with an open mind. Unfortunately this is a very disappointing result, not because it takes a different direction to the book, but because it felt too 'Hollywood'... some scenes were too contrived and far from the natural storytelling that it should have been;...
Published 6 months ago by Ell


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the best of them., 3 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you think Alan Partridge, sorry Steve Coogan is a bit of a twonk and don't like his acting then imagine you have never seen him before, buy the film because you know Judi Dench is the best actress in the UK and you will smile from ear to ear witnessing great chemistry between the two. The true story is one that had to be told and if it doesn't bring a tear to you eye you are probably not human. A classic. Also see "About Time".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sensitive and provocative portrayal of a real life story, 17 Feb 2014
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I feel I have to respond to Jude's profoundly offensive review of Philomena. Having read Martin Sixsmith's book and watched the film upon which it is based, I am frankly appalled that anybody should dismiss the film as a 'pile of pathetic anti-Catholic propaganda'. If the reviewer could bear to accept that the story is based on fact s/he would surely acknowledge, as many Catholics do, that the church has a case to answer, not least for its systemic cruelty to young women in its care and its wilful denial of information to those to whom it could have brought such comfort. The film reveals a simple but thwarted journey of discovery, albeit one that does raise issues regarding the past conduct on the part of the Catholic Church. Personally, I thought the performances of Coogan and Dench to be world class: but that, perhaps, is a matter of taste. However I am at a loss to understand the relevance of the utterly gratuitous reference to children being incinerated, and I am baffled by the abusive concluding reference to Philomena herself: …'full of hate'. The real life Philomena, as portrayed in the film and in real life, is a gentle and compassionate soul: unlike, by all accounts, the callous bigot calling her/himself Jude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life-affirming, 7 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
If I were C.E.O. of Kleenex or any other paper hankie manufacturer, I would get my name down as a sponsor of this film! The fact that the poignancy of the story is lightened by moments of laughter somehow makes it all the more real, but then it is a true story.
I have always admired Judi Dench (as has everyone else) and now I have a new-found respect for Steve Coogan who is not only a superb actor but who also collaborated on the moving, subtle, tragic, comic, life-affirming script.
(A special warning to mothers everywhere......do not wear mascara to see this one! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, emotional and poignant piece of film making., 13 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
Philomena is inspired by a true story. It is about a disgraced government adviser Martin Sixsmith. He lost his job due to a serious matter. He becomes a journalist again, as he previously worked for the BBC. Immediately, he gets involved in a story depsite inital reluctance. It concerns Philomena an Irish lady, who kept a dark secret for 50 years. Philomena was abandoned in a convent as a teenager, as father disowned hearing the news of pregnancy. The conditions the girls endured were absolutely appalling and cruel. She gave birth to a child named Anthony and was cruelly forced to give up son for adoption rights. She could only spend one hour a day with her son. The film embarks on a emotional journey to locate the missing son. Will the journey end in happiness? The real truth behind son disappearance paints a hollowing and disturbing picture of the convent. The film raises serious questions. Will the truth be exposed? Will the convent be made accountable for their cruel acts?

The subject matter raised in the film is serious. There is humour seamlessly blended in the film. Philomena is a feisty character with many wisecracks throughout the film. The audience laughed out. Martin Sixsmith character is well developed. The bonding between the two leading characters is not always great, as there is conflicts on particular matters, but they do get on. The characters are believable and easily connectable, as they feel so real. Academy winner Judi Dench shows why she is an excellent actress. She plays the part of Philomena superbly and flawlessly. Steve Coogan, a comedian has adapted well to serious roles and expanding his repertoire of acting.

Phiomoena is a beautiful, emotional and poignant piece of film making. The British film industry continues to produce quality films. Philomena joins the list. The depth in storyline and characters makes stand out really well. I throughly enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What price love?, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
Depressed by the collapse of his high-flying career as a Labour spin doctor, Martin Sixsmith tries to distract himself with a "human interest story". Philomena Lee wishes to make contact with the son taken from her nearly fifty years ago by Irish nuns, after they had allowed her to bond with him while slaving in the now notorious convent laundries to pay for their "charity" in giving shelter to an unmarried teenage mother.

Excellent as regards quality of script, acting and direction, this film is by turns unbearably sad and hilarious. Admittedly there are some stereotypes: the bigoted nun who feels that since she has kept her vow of chastity, anyone who has succumbed to sex outside marriage must pay the price for ever, or the hard-bitten editor who wants a good story at any price. There has probably been a good deal of dramatic licence in transferring the real characters of Martin Sixsmith and Philomena to the screen, but played by Steve Coogan and Judi Dench their personalities are strongly developed and complex. Coogan plays a man angered by injustice and determined to root it out, won over by the warm, frank and at times surprisingly broad-minded and perceptive Philomena, who does not hold back from commenting on his frequent cynicism, arrogance and dismissive attitude to those he regards as less intelligent. Dench portrays a still deeply religious yet fun-loving woman, whose simplicity and fondness for trashy TV series and happy-ever-after romantic fiction mask shrewd insight and tolerance. She realises the need to forgive others for one's own sake, but is not above passing up the chance to expose wrongdoing. Greater love has no woman than to think her child might have achieved a better life without her, after worrying for decades that he might be suffering somewhere, perhaps a hopeless tramp. What counts as a "good outcome" when the essential tragedy of separation for decades has been suffered?

Philomena seems too old to have a son born in 1952 when she must still have been in her teens, but this is a minor point, the price to be paid for casting Judi Dench in the role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religion!, 17 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
What an excellent film this is? It's compassionate and witty but also ultimately shocking. I would guess that most who watched this had previously seen the `Magdalene Sisters, `which was also a great watch.
The 'Magdalene institutions' were a very big thing, both here, in America and also in Europe - from the 1750's to almost the present day . In the UK some 30,000 young women were sent to the `laundries' for hard labour to repent for their so called sins or that their parents simply disowned or couldn't afford them. Once there they were imprisoned in the system, some were abused - mentally, physically and also sexually.
The Irish Government and Catholic Church issued a grovelling apology and acceptance of their crimes this year - 2013, after years of being pressed for the truth. It's very hard to comprehend but the last `Irish laundry' closed as recently as 1996.
History aside, this is a great little film. Possibly Cogan at his best and Judy Dench once again elicits all of her vast array of acting skills in portraying this particularly devout character.
A must watch in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I read the book, then watched this... disappointing., 22 April 2014
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I'm always ready to accept that books and films of the same are often very different, and consequently watch/read with an open mind. Unfortunately this is a very disappointing result, not because it takes a different direction to the book, but because it felt too 'Hollywood'... some scenes were too contrived and far from the natural storytelling that it should have been; I cringed many times and felt it didn't do the story justice. The book is interesting, but is predominantly about the Son's life, with snippets about Philomena... I cried several times, connecting in a way that I didn't get from the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasticly Moving Film- One of the best I have seen, thoroughly recommended., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
This is a true story about "Philomena" and her long lost illigitimate baby & her quest to trace him. It is possibly the most moving film we have ever watched, both Judi Dench & Steve Coogan are wonderful. I can only say this is a must of a film to watch. The secret & devious stories of how the Nun's deny the covering up of illegitimate births is quite staggering. I cannot recommend this film highly enough, but be prepared to be deeply moved if you are of a caring nature, I as a man became very emotional watching it at certain stages of the story, that I won't divulge as it may spoil it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended 'human interest' film, 18 Oct 2014
This review is from: Philomena (DVD)
In reference to one of the lines in the film, I suppose you would call this a 'human interest' film. It's certainly a great example of a kind of 'story behind the story'.
I think the only reason I haven't given it five stars is that I would have liked to have learnt a bit more about the scandal involving the Catholic church and the selling of babies abroad. It's quite a short film at around 90 minutes. Shorter than I would have expected a film about this subject matter to be. I might be being a bit harsh with that one criticism though because I suppose as a human interest story should, it involves you emotionally with the characters and makes you want to know more about what went on, and you can always do that after watching.
Judi Dench and Steve Coogan are both terrific in the roles. Judi Dench gives such great performances so often that it's kind of difficult not to take it for granted but it's clear that she is excelling here. It's also great to see Steve Coogan showing his acting chops in such a successful film. It must be difficult for him to break away from the comedy roles that people know and love him for but I was totally sold on his portrayal of Martin Sixsmith. On the DVD there is an extra on the making of the film and you can tell that he really cared about the story and doing it justice and his performance has a lot of heart.
I guess in film (especially one of this length) you don't have time to show all the nuances of a character so certain traits like Sixsmith's cynicism and Philomena's simple nature are exaggerated for effect, but the performances still ring true.
Sixsmith makes you chuckle in a kind of knowing way but when he's challenged by Philomena on his outlook, I felt challenged too, and I smiled warmly at her desire to see the best in people, and felt aggrieved at her loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philomena, 20 Oct 2014
By 
Tried and Tested (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philomena [DVD] (DVD)
I’d been in two minds about watching this film, the premise of it sounded good and I love Judi Dench but it also starred Steve Coogan who I think is a complete moron who just has to open his mouth to irritate the hell out of me. I’m glad I put my feelings for Mr Coogan aside and decided to watch this, of the 3 films I’ve watched this week, this one was by far the best. I was prepared for this to be an emotional rollercoaster, given the subject matter, what surprised me was just how much I laughed while watching it.

I think that most people throughout the UK and Ireland are now aware, to an extent, of what happened to these mothers and their children. A lot of this knowledge is due to the book originally written by Martin Sixsmith about Philomena and then this subsequent film. What I really loved about this film is the balanced view that it brought across; Sixsmith is angry at the injustice and attacks the Catholic Church, whereas Philomena is calm and collected throughout, she handles the situation with grace and shows forgiveness for the injustice shown to her. I think this juxtaposition of views is part of what makes the film such a joy to watch, at no point is it one sided.

I never had any doubt that I would love Judi Dench in this role and I thought that she played her part perfectly, what surprised me more… I thought Steve Coogan was excellent and perfectly cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philomena [DVD]
Philomena [DVD] by Stephen Frears (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews