Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 19 May 2009
By 
I was lucky enough to have been Lectured by Anthony Blazevich at Brunel before he returned to Australia. A great man with a great mind. This book is clear in its definitions, quirky with its analygies, and a very easy read for someone at any level studying biomechanics. If you need a good book to see you through a degree or just for interest this is the one, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed to be worth the cover price - review from a rugby player., 8 Oct 2010
'Sports Biomechanics' is an essential read and reference book for any coach or athlete serious about maximising performance potential.

Regardless of the sport you play it is certain you will find useful explanation of practical ways you can apply biomechanics to improve your personal performances.

Understanding the principles of Sports Biomechanics has assisted me to focus my workout programs and training activities by scientifically understanding 'how' my actions on field can be improved for beneficial outcome.

As a seasoned 2nd-Row rugby player I specifically found the topics relating to sprint speed (how to run properly), Newton's Law (lineout jumping and player characteristics), collisions (attack and defence) and agility (ball-running, how to maneuver) useful and wish I had read this book years ago. Personally and at club level we have implemented a number of the principles from the book with great success. (Many of these same principles used for rugby would also work for football or other ball game sports).

Sports Biomechanics is an excellent book well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth it, 6 Aug 2007
Loved each chapter. It got better with each chapter. By about chapter 6 I couldn't put it down...even though I hated biomechanics at Uni. Wish I had this book, because now it all makes sense. Definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, All the answers in an understandable book, 4 Aug 2007
Wow. I've never enjoyed biomechanics. But as a coach I always knew it was important. I love that this book answers very interesting questions (one per chapter) while teaching me the biomechanics. At the end of each chapter I take a sneaky look at the next chapter and have to read on. That's never happened with biomechanics. An enjoyable read for anyone...coach, athlete, student. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book - reasonably easy read for biomechanics, 10 Dec 2010
By 
Sally Eade (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a manageable book - not too weighty with concise chapters dealing with practical biomechanics concepts - eg how to get the swimmer faster, how to jump higher etc. Would recommend (I am doing a Sports Med Diploma and it is a useful adjunct to the biomechanics module). SD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I completed a sports science degree at university and found this very useful for physiology topics. Good for references also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sports Biomechanics: The Basics: Optimising Human Performance (Kindle Edition)
This is a good basic book about bio mechanics which sets out the fundamentals and builds understanding through introducing ideas and concepts in a well structured way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a must buy for anyone studying a degree in strength and conditioning. Very informative and great value for money ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on sports biomechanics., 4 Mar 2014
By 
M. L. Pillai "MLPLondon" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very fortunate to attend prof Blazevich Lecture on Sports Biomechanics. the Book is a great text for all Sports professionals , coaches and athletes. Having read the book , I now have a deeper insight and discussion on sports Biomechanics.
Definitley a book that must be read by all in sports .Good reference material and citations of online resources and academic publications. Decent price, prompt delivery . Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise!, 11 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear and concise book easy to read for someone that struggles with biomechanics this is the book for you, you could also try Andy Kerr! as his book on the subject is again easy to read and has all the relevent Newtons laws etc explained!, good book worth the cash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews