Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experience a world of freshness
I can't stop listening to this. It is not Al at his boundary pushing best but it is for my money classic Ministry. If your image of the ideal Ministry album is Psalm 69 I think you might find on the face of it that this is a dis-jointed musical challenge but if you have found something to enjoy in everything Ministry, like me, then this will grow on you fast...
Published 13 months ago by Donny

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as he used to be.
I have been a Ministry fan for more than 1/4 of a century and sad to say Al Jourgenses (who is Ministry) has had better decades. The drugs and rocknfoll lifestyle has cought up with him on this album, It is tired and repetative and i gave it 3stars out of respect for the band, they used to be amazing sadly this album is not.
Published 10 months ago by ian fox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experience a world of freshness, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: From Beer To Eternity (Ltd. Digi) (Audio CD)
I can't stop listening to this. It is not Al at his boundary pushing best but it is for my money classic Ministry. If your image of the ideal Ministry album is Psalm 69 I think you might find on the face of it that this is a dis-jointed musical challenge but if you have found something to enjoy in everything Ministry, like me, then this will grow on you fast.

It is sample heavy and that will no doubt have the `bUt iTs pRo-TOoLs!' crowd out against it and it is being promoted as the `last album' that will steam some people up (because whoever heard of a band releasing and promoting albums to make money, the cheek) but really it is the content that matters and in this Al is still at his blunt and uncompromising best...besides the samples are great.

If you are at all unsure give it a listen and if you think `Side F/X' is a work of genius go and get the whole album, if you find yourself wishing it would end then this album is probably best avoided.

The Ltd digi has two remixes that are both ok but as usual not really worth it if you have to pay way more to get hold of. One final thought, I really liked Relapse (last album) which was a lot more straight forward but maybe not as rewarding in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to their best, 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: From Beer To Eternity (Ltd. Digi) (Audio CD)
Another last ever Minstry album,Al seems to say it for the last three or four cds.this is what you would expect from Minstry,wicked downtuned guitar riffs,controversial political lyrics and samples all delivered by Al Jourgensons awesome singing,personally i miss real drums and the superb late great bass playing from Killing Jokes Paul Raven,but this still a brilliant album from the almost legendry Minstry and hope this isn't their last cd.keep rocking Al
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If This Is The End then it's not Tragic......., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beer To Eternity (Ltd. Digi) (Audio CD)
Surprise hit of 2013!!!! Having really enjoyed Relapse & been impressed by the London July gig, the silence that followed over the coming months made me assume that either that was it or would be another few years till the next, mortality permitting. So the summer announcement came as complete shot outta the blue, in fact first heard about it was thru ViveLe Rock Facebook messages. Expectations shifted, was this gonna be another interesting item or a huge dissapointment like Filth Pig & Animositisomina. However through watching the "making of" series of video clips it became clear that something amazing could be taking place. And inded it has proved. What an LP!! Highlighting all that is best about the band & with a large dose of variety that has definitely been missing from several of the last LPS. And like they said elements of past work are all over the place, from Dark Side type vocals, Psalm 69/Mind type noises, humourous & perfect samples & yes even nods to Twitch. Even the bits that were cited as similar to Filth Pig are very few and mercifully tonnes better in the production & musical stakes. Definitely album of the year & just a shame that there may be no more to come. So raise a toast to ole Mikey!! Although hopefully there will be another Lard LP, if it lives up to its past as well as this will be another classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but not a classic, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beer To Eternity (Ltd. Digi) (Audio CD)
good album to go out on by ministry - yes its supposed to be their last again! not a classic though.does everything a ministry album should do except push boundaries.
and amazon why no autorip ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My friend loves it!, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a gift for a friends 'big' birthday and he absolutely loves it. Not for me but brilliant for those who do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as he used to be., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Beer To Eternity (Ltd. Digi) (Audio CD)
I have been a Ministry fan for more than 1/4 of a century and sad to say Al Jourgenses (who is Ministry) has had better decades. The drugs and rocknfoll lifestyle has cought up with him on this album, It is tired and repetative and i gave it 3stars out of respect for the band, they used to be amazing sadly this album is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the future!!!!, 11 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: From Beer To Eternity (Ltd. Digi) (Audio CD)
Uncle Al takes it right back to the beginning and emerges with what I believe to be one of the best and most complete Ministry albums of all time.

From the opening of 'Hail...' to the sample laden/hardcore speed of 'Side FX' and the sublime 'Lesson Unlearned', 'Perma War', 'Perfect Storm' and 'Thanx but no Thanx' the whole album drags you at breakneck pace across the whole Ministry back catalogue sound yet never sounds out of date, in fact it sounds like the next level after the 'Bush' baiting trilogy and the excellent 'Relapse'.

Al has stated this is to be the farewell album dedicated to the late 'Mike Scaccia' and 'Raven', my thoughts though are 'don't stop now' keep going there is obviously a lot left in the fertive mind of Uncle Al if this album is anything to go by.

There's not a bad track on it and if it was sent out on a major label with flags and waving then the critics would be lapping it up and lauding it with excess/success...but then Al never listened to the critics and that's why Ministry remain so important in alternative music.

If this is the last hoorah then grab it now and enjoy the party...oh and Al here's a cryptic clue...maybe we'll see u on a Rehabilita-Tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Beer To Eternity (Ltd. Digi)
From Beer To Eternity (Ltd. Digi) by Ministry (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews