Customer Reviews


5,202 Reviews
5 star:
 (4,287)
4 star:
 (523)
3 star:
 (155)
2 star:
 (74)
1 star:
 (163)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


249 of 282 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but be careful of e-mailing it
When I asked a friend of mine's wife what voucher he wanted for his 50th Birthday she said Amazon. Since I knew my friends e-mail address, I thought it was best to use the e-mail option because it might be easier to redeem for him than a printed voucher, but after I sent it, I started reading the terms and conditions which state: "Amazon.co.uk is not responsible if a...
Published on 3 Dec 2011 by Mr. William Bimson

versus
67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Offer international gift cards
I love the idea of these cards, however it would be nice if I could send one to the UK from the USA web site, one which I pay for in dollars at amazon.com, but the recipient can spend on amazon.co.uk - I am fed up with getting hit with international transaction fees on my US credit card every time I send gifts to my relatives in the UK.
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by Barry Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2521 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Offer international gift cards, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Barry Graham "bmgmusic" (Washington, DC Metro) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love the idea of these cards, however it would be nice if I could send one to the UK from the USA web site, one which I pay for in dollars at amazon.com, but the recipient can spend on amazon.co.uk - I am fed up with getting hit with international transaction fees on my US credit card every time I send gifts to my relatives in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The gift card was not sent on the day I specified, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The recipient did not get the gift card on the day of his birthday which was scheduled so it was very embarrassng
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow response, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Obviously you know exactly what you are getting with a voucher, but it took much longer to arrive than it should have and in fact I had to ask for it to be resent, so it didn't get there in time for my sister's birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


249 of 282 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but be careful of e-mailing it, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I asked a friend of mine's wife what voucher he wanted for his 50th Birthday she said Amazon. Since I knew my friends e-mail address, I thought it was best to use the e-mail option because it might be easier to redeem for him than a printed voucher, but after I sent it, I started reading the terms and conditions which state: "Amazon.co.uk is not responsible if a gift certificate or a gift card is lost, stolen, destroyed or used without permission". I then started to worry that the e-mailed certificate could be sent to a spam folder and then deleted, so I had to phone my friend and tell him to watch out for it and check his spam folder. The other thing to bear in mind is that if you get the e-mail address wrong and send it to someone else, you will probably lose it.

Having said that, they are flexible in that the amount of the certificate goes into the persons account and they can use a credit card to top up for larger purchases or combine gift certificates and if they use less than what you provide, the remainder stays in the persons account for at least a year anyway. I think if I use them again, I will print them rather than e-mail them for security. I wouldn't send them to someone who didn't already have an Amazon account because you are effectively forcing them to open one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


174 of 197 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sneaky T&C changes by Amazon, 30 Aug 2011
Amazon have just dropped their gift voucher validity down to 1 year (was 3). I have been buying these vouchers for kids as away of allowing them to save up to buy a larger item of their choice. However, Amazon, clearly not satisfied with the interest free loan I provide them, after 12 months now pocket the capital as well!! In most countries this is against the law and it beggars belief we allow companies to steal our hard earned cash like this in the UK.

Please vote with your feet and boycott Amazon vouchers until they show some sense of moral decency towards their customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 24 Oct 2011
Bought this gift voucher for our son-in-law to enable him to pay for downloads to his Amazon kindle. Devastated to learn that, when he tried to use his gift, he was unable to redeem the money for kindle downloads. Hope Amazon rectify this omission soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Failed to email to my friend., 30 Jan 2013
By 
T. P. Cannon "Tim" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was in hospital at the time of my best friend's 60th Birthday, but thought, "It's ok, I've got it covered" because I'd ordered a gift voucher to be sent to him the day before his birthday. When I got home, I found he HADN'T received it, and re-sending to his address FAILED. In the end I had to email it to myself, and then forward it. Big disappointment, big let-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 124 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon voucher, 19 April 2011
I am really disapointed in the voucher I purchased from Amazon to be sent to my son-in-law for his birthday.

It has caused all sorts of problems and these have not been resolved yet.

My son-in-law has been unable to spend the voucher despite the money having been taken from my account (so must be valid). I have sent it twice, he has not received any e-mail from Amazon confirming the gift. I have sent him the code sent tor me but Amazon have declined to accept this.

I now have the bother of chasing this all up. What I thought would be a nice and easy solution for a birthday gift has resulted in my son-in-law feeling guilty because he has had to come back to me. What a disapointment all round

Carol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Gift From US to UK, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this gift card as a gift to my English son-in-law. It was so easy to complete the purchase, just like using Amazon in the US. It was my first purchase on Amazon UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gift certificate, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Gift Certificate is an ideal present to send to friends, but in my case it did not work out. I send a Gift Certificate to a relative in South Africa to buy Kindle books with, but it could not be redeemed. When you live in South Africa you cannot download ebooks from Amazon.co.uk. Has to do with copy rights. An unpleasant surprise. But Amazon.co.uk refunded the money and told me to buy a new Gift Certificate with Amazon.com and this time, no problem. Download a success. Good service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2521 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bd16c0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews