Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great film
fantastic film loved it, great story line, with great twist really worth watching see it you wont be disappointed honestly
Published 7 months ago by princess

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average film
The plot surrounds Richie Furst who used to have a great job on Wall Street. Unfortunately, that ended and Richie goes back to college to complete his post grad. However, due to his past employment, he cannot get any help with tuition so he has to pay it all himself. Richie's character is extremely intelligent and figures that he can get sign ups to an online gambling...
Published 13 months ago by Fiction_Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average film, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: Runner, Runner [DVD] (DVD)
The plot surrounds Richie Furst who used to have a great job on Wall Street. Unfortunately, that ended and Richie goes back to college to complete his post grad. However, due to his past employment, he cannot get any help with tuition so he has to pay it all himself. Richie's character is extremely intelligent and figures that he can get sign ups to an online gambling website and receive a cut of everyone who signs up. But, the dean of Princeton threatens to expel him if he keeps it up. I liked how the beginning of the film set up the explanations of online gambling and the way that people chase money on there. But, after that, it all got a bit too crazy and unrealistic.

You see, Furst runs off to Costa Rica to confront the owner of the website face to face. He knows Ivan Block in incredibly hard to get to but figures it's worth a try anyway because he's desperate. Even though it's stated that Ivan Block is hard to get to, Richie seems to manage it with very little trouble at all. Playing Ivan Block is Ben Affleck who has had a bit of a bad run of acting jobs in the past few years. However, I quite liked him in this role for the most part. He plays a character that is quite smarmy and slick, who knows that he can do pretty much whatever he wants. Affleck acts cool, calm and collected for the most part but is also able to lose his temper and show the meaner, more devious side to him when he needs to. Even though he did a good job, there are loads of actors who could probably have done better.

Justin Timberlake hasn't had that many roles since hitting the film business but he does always manage to switch it up a little bit. In Runner, Runner Timberlake plays main character Richie Furst. I found Timberlake to be absolutely fantastic in this film. At the beginning he is confident, clever and doesn't see that he's doing anything wrong. It's only when he loses all of his money gambling online that he begins to change. He makes the change from Princeton student to wealthy and stylish very quickly which goes to show what money can buy you... a nice suit! Anyhow, Timberlake manages the transition pretty damn well and became more likeable as the film went on due to what was happening to him. However, I would have liked to have seen Timberlake lose it a little more towards the end of the film as he was too calm for what was happening around him.

Runner, Runner doesn't have the most complicated or exciting plot because basically, it's been done before. This is a film that doesn't really offer anything new which was quite disappointing. While this may not be an original film, it is still very entertaining. There is plenty going on throughout, even with a slow start, and there are little clues being dropped everywhere. I enjoyed watching Richie get to grips with his new life and to figure out exactly who he could trust around him.

There are also a few things that didn't make a whole lot of sense. Richie is supposed to be incredibly intelligent but he doesn't see what's going on around him until quite near the end of the film. He also should have been able to outsmart Ivan with ease or at least do more about what was happening. Not only that, but if he was so clever, he should have probably known that Ivan's offer was far too good to be true. Things like that just don't happen. It's a shame that such little issues let this film down.

While I did enjoy Runner, Runner, it could have been such a better film. The plot was quite standard and there were problems throughout. One to buy on DVD when it's cheap though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars House always wins....., 30 May 2014
This review is from: Runner, Runner [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Richie is a student who's having trouble paying his tuition.

He helps other students who want to gamble online, but for a small fee. When he gambles online himself, he loses but believes he was cheated.

He goes to Costa Rica, where the site is generated from, and shows the owner, Ivan Block, proof that he was cheated.

Block then offers him a job which he takes, and begins to learn how he does business. But the FBI want to nail Block, and intimidate Richie to help them......

The structure for films like this are as old as the hills.

Good guy confronts a high powered businessman, said man offers big money, there's always a good looking girl involved, cops close in, businessman tries to frame good guy, and so on.

When you watch this film, you could be forgiven with thinking that the makers have completely ripped off Wall Street, because the narrative flows in the same way that movie did, Guy thinks he's made it, but his world comes slowly crashing.

Even the dad's get involved in both movies.

To criticise this movie would be too easy, it's been done hundreds of times before, much better, but for a piece of fluff movie, with nice locations, and good looking people, you could do a lot worse.

Timberlake isn't the best actor in the world, but he can hold his own, and he has decent chemistry with Arterton, who is really just there as a plot point to get Richie and Ivan in some sort of subliminal feud.

If you thought Affleck was great in movies such as Paycheck (which he obviously did this movie for), Gigli, and Deception, you've got him back here.

He's phoning it in, and you know he just took the part for the money, and the holiday.

Mackie is the best thing here, bringing a little tension and humour to a stale narrative.

It's a dud, for sure, but it's a guilty pleasure.

Take a gamble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SUPER RICH WORKS FOR ME, 6 Nov 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Runner, Runner [DVD] (DVD)
Ritchie (Justin Timberlake) is a student at Princeton. He goes on line and gambles away his tuition money, and afterwards realizes that unlicensed off shore on line gambling web sites are dishonest. GOSH! Richie gathers the statistical evidence and travels to paradise to meet up up Ivan Block (Ben Affleck) the owner of the web site. Block recognizes Richie's genius and invites him in for a big slice of the pie. Richie recruits some of his nerd friends to help him out. About 30 minutes into the story the FBI (Anthony Mackie) confronts Richie and wants him to be an informant...or else he can never go back to New Jersey and maybe New York. Richie is faced with a dilemma of being super rich in paradise with Ivan's girlfriend Gemma Arterton clinging to him or Newark. Oh what to do, what to do.

No one plays for free.

The film is mostly a light action drama. Timberlake and Affleck looked good on the screen and tried to give some life to a tired script but only succeeded in appearing unconvincing in their roles, especially Affleck. The dialouge had some good lines, but needed more. It wasn't a film that I could get into. I couldn't help think about "21" which is a far better gambling film.

When you play against a computer designed to take your money, it isn't gambling.

Works as a rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. Implied sex. No nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Timberlake puts in another good performance and is clearly developing as an Actor, 6 Sep 2014
This review is from: Runner, Runner (DVD)
Nothing outstanding or particularly new, the main Plot provides a brief insight into the inevitable corruption associated with gambling, with high Stakes, high gains and potentially life-threatening losses featuring as a continuous Theme throughout. Timberlake puts in another good performance and is clearly developing as an Actor, Affleck plays a rather different Character from the norm and Arterton finds herself beautifully sandwiched between the two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked 'Limitless' and 'In Time' then you'll like this!, 15 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Runner, Runner [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the reviews on here and I felt that they were a little harsh. Ok, it isn't the best film out there but it is certainly an enjoyable movie.

Justin Timberlake is becoming a serious hollywood actor. I have to say that I have enjoyed every film that he has been in and that was one of the reasons that we decided to watch this film. Also, I was certain that I wasn't a Ben Affleck fan however, on watching this I am happy to say that he has completely won me over. He is excellent alongside Justin!

The film centres around a student at Princeton Richie (Timberlake) who decides to gamble his entire wealth in order to earn the money that he needs to stay at Princeton. After losing all his money he delves into the gambling world and realises that he has been conned. He sets off to meet Ivan Block (Affleck) and confront him about his gambling websites. Brock is taken aback by his courage and determination and offers him a job with a six figure pay check! Lets just say that the dream job isn't quite the dream job he thought it would be.

A great appearance and role for the supporting actress Gemma Arterton (Quantum of Solace, Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters) whom plays Richies love interest and Brocks long term friend.

All in all this is a great film to watch, I just wish it had a little more depth to the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 24 May 2014
By 
princess (wales, rhondda) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner, Runner [DVD] (DVD)
fantastic film loved it, great story line, with great twist really worth watching see it you wont be disappointed honestly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Time to Kill, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner, Runner [DVD] (DVD)
An okay film, enjoyable, more so if you like the actors, definitely one to watch, but for me anyway ,not one to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic,edge of seat stuff, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner, Runner [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film kept me on the edge of my seat and was a great view recommend. Even the wife thought it was gripping stuff. have your drink and snacks to hand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ive grown out of Miami vice, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner, Runner [DVD] (DVD)
maybe 20 years ago, but really. crocket tubbs they are not.

ive given this dvd to oxfam.maybe someone else will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars actie film, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner, Runner [DVD] (DVD)
an ok film, action and an ok story. Ben Affleck is beter in these kind of films I feel, Im not a fan of his but he was ok in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Runner, Runner [Blu-ray]
Runner, Runner [Blu-ray] by Brad Furman (Blu-ray - 2014)
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews