Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (200)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HOPE A TRUCK HITS US AND WE ALL DIE
The film starts by introducing the two main characters. Sandra Bullock plays FBI Special Agent Ashburn. She is smart, confident, arrogant, cocky, and disliked by all her fellow employees.

Melissa McCarthy plays Mullins. She is a street smart Boston cop with her own way of doing things. She has a potty mouth and even arrested her own brother to the dismay of her...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Heat is on
One by the book F B I agent, Sarah Ashbourne is forced to team up with loud unconventional cop partner Shannon Mullins when they realize that they are both after the same drug dealer and must put their differences aside to work together despite hating each other. It's a familliar buddy buddy cop action comedy with the big twist that the 2 cops are women being the best...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HOPE A TRUCK HITS US AND WE ALL DIE, 13 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
The film starts by introducing the two main characters. Sandra Bullock plays FBI Special Agent Ashburn. She is smart, confident, arrogant, cocky, and disliked by all her fellow employees.

Melissa McCarthy plays Mullins. She is a street smart Boston cop with her own way of doing things. She has a potty mouth and even arrested her own brother to the dismay of her zoo family.

Circumstances forces these polar opposites to work on a drug case in Boston with formulaic results.

Melissa McCarthy was simply hilarious, stealing scenes from Bullock on a grand larceny scale. The humor at times is slapstick and other times crude, but always funny. I had to laugh out loud just watching Melissa get out of her car. It was a marvelous performance. The plot of the story proved to be immaterial as I waited for the next gem to flow the mouths of Bullock and McCarthy.

This is a comedy worth owning.

Parental Guide: many F-bombs. No sex or nudity. Bullock in bra. Sex talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot hot hot, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
Well packed & fast delivery. It's got Sandra Bullock in it & so is most definitely hilarious, (excellent actress) cried with laughter. recommended to all Miss Bullock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film - amazing price considering its new release and it was double the price in the supermarkets. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be any funnier?, 25 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: The Heat (DVD)
This is hilariously funny movie. I actually did forget what the plot was half way through the movie as it was son funny. Sandra Bullock was excellent as always. Melissa McCarthy was hilarious. I think she even stole the show from Sandra, setting herself of as the leading lady of the movie. Yes many of the jokes were on the more crude side but movie definitely comes across as funny rather than dirty.

Sandra plays the ambitious, arrogant, straight arrow FBI agent with a chip on her shoulder. In fact her straight faced play by the rules attitude just seemed to make Melissa's slapstick, scruffy, foul mouthed playing by her own rules badass cop that much funnier.

After closing more cases than anyone else, Bullock thinks she would be a shoe in to be promoted in place of her soon to be promoted boss. She is told the main reason she is not going to get the job is because all her co-worker hate her (nobody hates their boss right?). Anyway the only way she is going to be able to show she should get the job is by showing people she can not only solve the case nobody else could but also that she can co-operate with others. So of course fate pairs her up with McCarthy who is just as alienated in her department because everyone else is scared of her. What follows is an explosive, funny, movie with many twists and twists and turns, albino cops, comedy, pretty boy drug lords, sadist enforcers, comedy, obligatory drunken night of girl bonding, and did I mention comedy. One of the funniest movies I have seen this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY' - 'A MUST SEE', 26 Nov 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ambitious 'F.B.I' agent 'Sarah Ashburn' who's seeking promotion is sent
to 'Boston' to investigate 'drug-barons'
Her path crosses with 'do it my way or no way' cop 'Shannon Mullins.
'Mullins knows her way around the block, the F.B.I. agent will reluctantly
need her help.
Now, the two are teamed up, they really don't appear to have any common
ground on which to build a partnership.
However despite a different approach to the job, their thinking isn't so very
far apart.
The investigation will put them at odds with 'their own' as well as rattling
the drug barons cage as they get closer to the top.
Hugely entertaining, great chemistry between 'Sandra Bullock' and 'Melissa
McCarthy'.....the film is 'coarse' 'rude' 'brash' and pretty damn funny....
one of those films you just have to see.
'Sandra Bullock' has been involved with many superb roles down the years, my
personal favourites 'The Blind Side' and 'The Proposal'
Can't wait for the release on the Blu-Ray format of the film 'Gravity' in which
she co-stars with 'George Clooney'
The disc includes both the theatrical and extended version of the film, the
additional features include, the very funny 'bloopers' 'deleted scenes' and
a number of commentaries.............quite a large amount of extra viewing on
offer in truth.
( The Sub-title options include - 'English' 'French' 'Catalan' 'Danish' 'Dutch'
'Finnish' 'German' 'Italian' 'Norwegian' 'Russia' 'Swedish' 'Arabic' 'Estonian'
'Latvian' 'Lithuania' 'Turkish' 'Ukrainian' ( and I think 'Mandarin )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Heat is on, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heat [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One by the book F B I agent, Sarah Ashbourne is forced to team up with loud unconventional cop partner Shannon Mullins when they realize that they are both after the same drug dealer and must put their differences aside to work together despite hating each other. It's a familliar buddy buddy cop action comedy with the big twist that the 2 cops are women being the best most original thing about the whole film. Sandra Bullock and Melissa Mccarthy are both good as the mismatched partners and there are some decent action and laughs but plot wise you've seen this sort of thing before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
When this film came out my friends and I went to go and watch it. We all thought it was a really good film so I bought it on DVD for us to watch anytime we have a girly night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family fun with older kids, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my husband because my adult daughter saw it at the cinema and we missed it. It was exciting and comical in places and I will watch it again and lend to friends. Good value for the amount of use we will get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heat, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
Another good film from Sandra Bullock,A very good story line and action fully recomend to each and every one of you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of laugh out loud moments in "The Heat"., 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
Hilarious movie, I really enjoyed it. An uptight FBI Special Agent is paired with a foul-mouthed Boston cop (McCarthy), to take down a ruthless drug lord. Melissa McCarthy is brilliant and hilarious as usual, playing the tough talking cop with very alternative approaches to policing on her local "patch" in Boston. This contrasts nicely with the strait laced "play it by the rule book" FBI Agent played by Sandra Bullock, who arrives on McCarthy's path to investigate the real identity of an elusive drug lord. Bullocks' OCD approach to her investigative work thoroughly irritates her own co-workers, and later (in Boston), McCarthy. Needless to say McCarthy reacts with resentful and outright hostility to this FBI Agent intruding onto her patch and the two characters, (with their very different approaches to crime fighting), clash head on. The strained relationship between the two makes for some very funny scenes in this movie. As the movie progresses, an unlikely (if at times, strained) friendship develops between the pair, leading to each accepting the other and their policing methods, by movie's end. Some very funny and memorable dialogue/one liners from Melissa McCarthy also, throughout this movie !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heat [DVD]
The Heat [DVD] by Paul Feig (DVD - 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews