Customer Reviews


282 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HOPE A TRUCK HITS US AND WE ALL DIE
The film starts by introducing the two main characters. Sandra Bullock plays FBI Special Agent Ashburn. She is smart, confident, arrogant, cocky, and disliked by all her fellow employees.

Melissa McCarthy plays Mullins. She is a street smart Boston cop with her own way of doing things. She has a potty mouth and even arrested her own brother to the dismay of her...
Published 13 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, but...
I paid 7.00 for this film, from a supermarket, and maybe should've waited a wee bit longer. I have to say, the story was actually quite good. Lots of comedic moments (not surprising, really, as it was a comedy), lots of action and a few tender moments. Highlights include (spoiler alert, maybe) a car bomb, a group of bad guys getting blown to smithereens by an ebay...
Published 8 days ago by The Wolf


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HOPE A TRUCK HITS US AND WE ALL DIE, 13 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
The film starts by introducing the two main characters. Sandra Bullock plays FBI Special Agent Ashburn. She is smart, confident, arrogant, cocky, and disliked by all her fellow employees.

Melissa McCarthy plays Mullins. She is a street smart Boston cop with her own way of doing things. She has a potty mouth and even arrested her own brother to the dismay of her zoo family.

Circumstances forces these polar opposites to work on a drug case in Boston with formulaic results.

Melissa McCarthy was simply hilarious, stealing scenes from Bullock on a grand larceny scale. The humor at times is slapstick and other times crude, but always funny. I had to laugh out loud just watching Melissa get out of her car. It was a marvelous performance. The plot of the story proved to be immaterial as I waited for the next gem to flow the mouths of Bullock and McCarthy.

This is a comedy worth owning.

Parental Guide: many F-bombs. No sex or nudity. Bullock in bra. Sex talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot hot hot, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
Well packed & fast delivery. It's got Sandra Bullock in it & so is most definitely hilarious, (excellent actress) cried with laughter. recommended to all Miss Bullock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film - amazing price considering its new release and it was double the price in the supermarkets. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a 'chick flick', 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
This is a buddy cop movie that men and women will both love. Avoid the trailers, ignore those who dismiss this film as a chick flick. This is an action comedy that had me laughing so much I was actually crying. A real pleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny dvd, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
Hilarius DVD I laughed out loud all the way through well worth the money and good family DVD I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!!!!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
You can't get any other actresses together as funny as these two. The extras are brilliant too on this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
When this film came out my friends and I went to go and watch it. We all thought it was a really good film so I bought it on DVD for us to watch anytime we have a girly night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family fun with older kids, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my husband because my adult daughter saw it at the cinema and we missed it. It was exciting and comical in places and I will watch it again and lend to friends. Good value for the amount of use we will get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heat, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
Another good film from Sandra Bullock,A very good story line and action fully recomend to each and every one of you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, but..., 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Heat [DVD] (DVD)
I paid 7.00 for this film, from a supermarket, and maybe should've waited a wee bit longer. I have to say, the story was actually quite good. Lots of comedic moments (not surprising, really, as it was a comedy), lots of action and a few tender moments. Highlights include (spoiler alert, maybe) a car bomb, a group of bad guys getting blown to smithereens by an ebay purchased WWII grenade, a shock reveal (for me, anyhow) and a kidnapped kitty. Sandra Bullock is an FBI agent who rather reluctlantly teams up with a foul-mouthed cop played by Melissa McCarthy. My feelings were summed up by Bullock's character, after McCarthy unleashes another torrent of filth, she is asked 'Do you really need to talk like that?" Cut down the language (not cut out altogether, cos some of it, especially when Bullock's character, who uses words like "F-ing", finally unleashes a torrent of her own, coming to the defence of McCarthy (not present in the room) who is being badmouthed by colleagues, is pretty funny) In concluding then, it is a film, that had it not been for an abundance of f words and body parts, I would've been happy to give a four star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heat [DVD]
The Heat [DVD] by Paul Feig (DVD - 2013)
6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews