Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I the only one who actually enjoyed this?
I will probably get a ton of troll comments and bad ratings, but i actually enjoyed this. It is a chilled out comedy about 2 computer illiterate guys trying to adapt to the fast growing future. It was really good. Quite a few funny scenes, but it is more of an eyeopener too. One scene mentioning about kids going to college for 4 years and been unable to get jobs...
Published 14 months ago by Isaac Blackburn

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars google males
Long review: Despite the 21st Century spin, 'The Internship' is a classic fish-out-of-water comedy. Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson play two unemployed salesmen who apply for internships at Google. When the applicants are divided into teams, no-one picks them, so they are forced to form a team with the other 'outcasts', to undertake a series of tasks to determine which team...
Published 17 months ago by Peter Parker-Penn


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I the only one who actually enjoyed this?, 22 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Internship [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I will probably get a ton of troll comments and bad ratings, but i actually enjoyed this. It is a chilled out comedy about 2 computer illiterate guys trying to adapt to the fast growing future. It was really good. Quite a few funny scenes, but it is more of an eyeopener too. One scene mentioning about kids going to college for 4 years and been unable to get jobs afterwards. It really does make you reflect on the world around you too.

I enjoyed this, even if nobody else did.

I personally recommend this film. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars google males, 7 July 2013
This review is from: The Internship [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Long review: Despite the 21st Century spin, 'The Internship' is a classic fish-out-of-water comedy. Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson play two unemployed salesmen who apply for internships at Google. When the applicants are divided into teams, no-one picks them, so they are forced to form a team with the other 'outcasts', to undertake a series of tasks to determine which team will get the jobs.
Will the group have to face humiliation at the hands of nasty brit Max Minghella before coming together as a team? Will Vaughn and Wilson teach their tech-savvy but unworldly team-mates to live, laugh and love? Will the pair finally win the respect of the crusty dean/law professor/Google head honcho?
Of course they will!
This is Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson's first team-up since 'Wedding Crashers', and, as in that film, Owen Wilson gets to be the romantic(ish) lead, while the 'broader' comedy is centred around Vince Vaughn. Although 'The Internship' is nowhere near as raunchy as 'Wedding Crashers' it does feature a scene in a lapdancing club, and enough swearing to push it close to a '15' rating (in my opinion).
Although I enjoyed 'The Internship', I never found it 'laugh out loud' funny. However, it's certainly better than the reviews suggest. It may never be considered a classic, but it's a fun, feelgood movie.
Short review: 'Revenge of the Nerds' meets 'The House Bunny'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a comedy, not just the one cliche, but a well thought out and executed journey filled with laughs and touching moments., 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Internship [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I watched this film for the first time on a plane, which should tell you how much I enjoyed it if I went and bought it after a plane viewing!

In all honesty, I really enjoyed this film. Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughan have that undeniable chemistry, but we all knew that already, so what do they bring to their latest film? For me, it is a genuinely thought provoking and highly amusing film. I'm someone who is a little older than the supporting cast, works in a technical role for a software company and has managed to get that first foot on the ladder. As a comedy therefore, it is particularly refreshing to see it tackle a number of real emerging issues, like how the relevance of degrees are diminishing because everyone has one, and that not everyone who works in the field fills the typical geek stereotype. Rose Byrne's talents are also put to good use, demonstrating how easy it is to get lost in the world of work when a company is able to provide such an immersive culture, and that you shouldn't entirely write off your 20's and 30's in a reckless pursuit of career success.

Wilson and Vaughan don't just have that chemistry with each other, they bond really well with the supporting cast. There is no real weak link, and some fantastic cameos by John Goodman, Will Ferrell and Rob Riggle. I'm also impressed that for a film of regular length, they managed to fit in so much character growth from start to finish. The story is that classic cliche of older generations being out of touch with technology, and whilst exaggerated in parts, it does an excellent job at not making it feel like one of those classic cliches. Happily, it also explores the role reversal, that the younger generation haven't experienced what many older generations have by their age, and indeed the benefits of soft skills. This is what I think gives it an edge, it shows both generations are capable of benefitting the other, given the chance.

Overall, I know this film won't be everyone. These two, the focus on Google and the tried and tested comedy format tend to polarize people, but I encourage you to give it a try. It's a smarter comedy than it initially lets on if you listen to its message, with an uplifting and thoughtful story. Instead of playing to those age old cliches, it tries to challenge them, which results in both a touching and amusing comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aw, snap something went wrong!, 1 Oct 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Internship (DVD)
Although nothing new about this movie, setting it at Google HQ was a good idea. Once the story got going I could not help thinking how very 'Average Joe's' it all was as the underdog team battled against the better team and ultimately triumphing in the end. The only difference being Dodgeball was a lot funnier. There are funny moments in the film but nothing outlandish. Owen Wilson was good though in the character he does well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE FUTURE DOESN'T KNOW LATER,,, 28 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Internship [DVD] (DVD)
Two dinosaur salesmen (Vince Vaughn/ Owen Wilson) find themselves as interns at Google. They are fish out of water as they have to deal with the youth and terminology of the tech world. They are divided into teams with our duo on the misfit team which leads to formulaic results.

This is a fun film which doesn't offend. The humor is not overwhelmingly laugh out loud, by rather tritely funny. That is not to say it is bad, but simply lacks originality.

Worth a view. Makes for a good rental.

Parental Guide: 2 f-bombs, No sex or nudity. Strip club scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "On the line", 7 Sep 2014
By 
C. Robson (Mayfair, London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You know where you are with a film that stars Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson. Vince Vaughn plays Vince Vaughn - loud, bullish giant who dreams big. Owen Wilson plays Owen Wilson - genteel fop, who flutter his eyelashes over his wonky nose and becomes endearing to women.
This is not an Oscar winner. This is not a deep-thinking thriller. This is a light-hearted comedy about two losers who get to do an internship at Google. It's not laugh out loud funny, but it is funny.
It's a Sunday afternoon film, rather than a Saturday night movie - Worth a watch, but not worth making a night of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is how you compete for a job!, 31 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Internship [DVD] (DVD)
Wedding Crashers meet the world of Business.. along with what it takes to network, create, and innovate their way to the top to win the a job at Google! This shows the day in the life of a Google worker and the interns who bust their guts to get recognised for their googlie-ness as they work together (well try to).

Laughs abound as a comedy of errors occur as you can only imagine when this pairing is involved. Well worth the watch, and a great ab workout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for only the first 10 minutes, 25 Feb 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Internship [DVD] (DVD)
Quite funny for about 10 minutes as two hapless salesmen realise that their skills are no longer required and decide to apply for internships at Google in California. It's interesting seeing Google's methods of selection but when it goes on and on ad nauseam it becomes tedious. I ended up being bored to tears with all the predictable scenarios. Not quite the worst film I've watched but very close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I stayed "on-the-line" (and I don't regret it)., 19 Nov 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Internship [DVD] (DVD)
I know the majority's opinion is that "The Internship" is nothing else but a [not so clever] product placing, yet I enjoyed it. Okay, I admit that "The Internship" goes on a 2-hour celebrating spree of the modern technology giant, following the description of the Silicon Valley headquarters that were familiar to me since reading In The Plex: How Google Thinks, Works and Shapes Our Lives (the free food, the colourful desks, the massage chairs and nap capsules), but come on, have none of you laughed a little, smirked, giggled? I did, dozens of times. Starting from webcam interview and ending with a marker-painted eyebrow of the fellow intern, it's not Vaughn and Wilson who deliver the majority of the laughs, it's the colourful ensemble of young actors, and yes, sometimes it's so absurd and clichéd, it becomes funny (in a sad way, but funny nonetheless!).

A Google ad masquerading as a bromance, correct. But seriously, I saw worse films. Three stars, not too much suffering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Internship [DVD] (DVD)
A very funny movie with a feel good message for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Internship [Blu-ray]
The Internship [Blu-ray] by Shawn Levy (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews