Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the previous season!
I've been watching Glee for a couple of years and without a doubt it is one of my favourite shows on television. The first three seasons where pure gold - the best entertainment I could have possibly asked for. Lea Michele's Rachel is one of the best characters in TV history. However, after graduation occurred in season 3, I was a little apprehensive at the thought of the...
Published 7 months ago by Michael

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I loved Season 4... But are the best characters missing?
Ok, so I watched Season 1 and 2 on TV and wanted to catch up so caught up on Amazon Prime with Season 3 and 4. Season 5 wasn't available so bought it.

For me I didn't enjoy it anywhere near as much as Season 4. For me Season 4 had it all, regular updates from all the old characters Mercedes, Puck and all the characters who graduated, plus some great new ones...
Published 18 days ago by Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the previous season!, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Glee - Season 5 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've been watching Glee for a couple of years and without a doubt it is one of my favourite shows on television. The first three seasons where pure gold - the best entertainment I could have possibly asked for. Lea Michele's Rachel is one of the best characters in TV history. However, after graduation occurred in season 3, I was a little apprehensive at the thought of the cast 'moving on'. My worries were put aside when I heard about the introduction of the New York storyline as I would get to follow my favourite characters after graduation. However season 4 quickly went downhill. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't all bad and there are quite a few stand out episodes, but the main problem was that the actual cast hardly got any screentime and the new characters who aren't even in the same league were getting about 70% of each episode. I felt like fast forwarding through the high school parts so that I could watch the New York storyline. I was hoping season 5 would improve the many mistakes that season 4 had created. I was devastated to hear of Cory Monteith's passing and was sure that the show couldn't move forward, but that actually was not the case, season five is head and shoulders better than season 4.

CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS
Season five starts really well with a double Beatles tribute and it's immediately clear that the writers have shifted the focus back to the characters we actually care about. The Cory Monteith tribute episode is heartbreaking but beautifully done. There are a few fillers here and there, not to mention probably the worst ever episode that Glee has done (Puppet Master), but the storylines are much better than the previous season's. From Episode 9 onwards is where the show really picks up. 'Frenemies' is one of the best ever episodes which leads into some even better episodes. As usual with a shows fifth season, this season of Glee features the 100th episode, which to put mildly is fantastic and feels like a return to the shows roots. From episode 14, the show (finally, and rightfully) shifts to New York full time, which provides a higher quality show. No more pointless episodes about Marley or Jake - but proper storylines such as Rachel's Broadway career. The episodes from here are the best produced episodes since the shows third season. It all comes together really well, which has left me eager to see the next season!

All in all, season 5 is a much better season than season 4. I have heard that next season will be the final season, which I can fully understand, but I will find it hard when the time comes around to live in a world where Glee is not on TV. Here's to another great season!

Season 5 Hightlights: "The Quarterback", "Movin' Out", "Frenemies", "100", "New Directions", "New New York", "Bash", "Opening Night".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the same mix of wonderful music, drama, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Slowly the point of view changes from HighSchool in Lima, Ohio to New York , where some of the graduates find each other again. Still the same mix of wonderful music, drama, comedy (sometimes allmost slapstick) as it has been before in Seasons 1-4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A show to watch, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 5 is ace. The tears are streaming. A rollercoaster of a ride with the lives of my favourite show choir. So glad I purchased through Amazon instant video rather than waiting for release day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I loved Season 4... But are the best characters missing?, 15 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Glee - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so I watched Season 1 and 2 on TV and wanted to catch up so caught up on Amazon Prime with Season 3 and 4. Season 5 wasn't available so bought it.

For me I didn't enjoy it anywhere near as much as Season 4. For me Season 4 had it all, regular updates from all the old characters Mercedes, Puck and all the characters who graduated, plus some great new ones. For me Season 5 failed to continue this. Rachel, Kurt and Santana were the only original characters, the rest didn't appear nowhere near as much as the previous season. Plus I missed characters such as Brittany and Finn. Although their absences are unavoidable I felt that had their been more appearances of original characters, this would have have been less of a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've only recently got into Glee and I love it. This season is not the best but ..., 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I've only recently got into Glee and I love it. This season is not the best but does concentrate on some characters that have not previously had major story lines. Can't wait for season 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why isn't this coming out on Blu-ray?! I ..., 21 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Glee - Season 5 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Why isn't this coming out on Blu-ray?! I have the others so don't want to buy this on dvd. Any ideas?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray missing!, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
You can't go wrong with Glee! But were did the blu-ray go?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars little disapointed as had been waiting towatch for a while if you, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
little disapointed as had been waiting to watch for a while if you watch most of the different clips on you tub you will have seen this episode nothing new to see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not 100% sure, 21 Oct. 2014
By 
buyingman (County Antrim) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glee - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I really must say im in between when it comes to this season. it was okay as a whole but not the best. Episode 3 "The Quarterback" is heartbreaking especially over it being the episode to Cory Monteith. I am not a fan of the New York centric episodes and to be fair Rachel Berry is ANNOYING!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars glee season 5 dvd ;]..D, 6 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Glee - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
my daughter loves glee and this season was amazing glee fans buy it now xxxxxxx recieved at christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glee - Season 5 [Blu-ray]
Glee - Season 5 [Blu-ray] by Lea Michele (Blu-ray - 2014)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews