Customer Reviews


292 Reviews
5 star:
 (283)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPINGLY PAST THE POINT OF NO RETURN
Jax longs to legitimize Samcro's activities, create a safer world for young sons Thomas and Abel. Not a chance. In prison deposed stepfather Clay remains a threat. Attempts to quit gunrunning lead to complications and escalating violence. Out of the blue, before Episode One is over, a truly appalling tragedy is to have serious repercussions....

Samcro's...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Have not been able to watch this because for some ...
Have not been able to watch this because for some reason it is not loading asks me if network is connected, I am able to watch previous episodes therefore network is not the problem.
Published 15 days ago by Linda H


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPINGLY PAST THE POINT OF NO RETURN, 22 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Jax longs to legitimize Samcro's activities, create a safer world for young sons Thomas and Abel. Not a chance. In prison deposed stepfather Clay remains a threat. Attempts to quit gunrunning lead to complications and escalating violence. Out of the blue, before Episode One is over, a truly appalling tragedy is to have serious repercussions....

Samcro's fortunes may be flagging but the series is not. This penultimate season is crammed with intense emotions, ever-changing allegiances, general carnage, bloody departures - some of these most sudden.

Scripts remain excellent, as does the acting. Example of both? Note Jax's Episode Six speech as he tries to rally his troops after yet another major setback.

A powerful addition to the cast is C.C.H. Pounder as senior law figure Tyne Patterson, determined to bring Charming's criminals to justice. Jimmy Smits again impresses, his character hardening after a rethink about whom to trust. Always moving is Theo Rossi as troubled Juice, suicidal because of divided loyalties and some of what he has to do. A word of praise too for Dayton Callie as ex-sheriff Wayne, he now old and weakened by cancer. The gang has become his family, he always around to advise, and to look after the children on whom he dotes.

Singling the above out in no way diminishes the imput of the others - all on fine form.

13 episodes, some lasting over an hour. 2 commentaries, interesting facts emerging. (Creators had great plans for a certain character, but the actor had to be abruptly written out when filming of "Vikings" was brought forward.) The "Anarchy Afterwards" features perhaps suffer from an excess of gush, but again fascinating details emerge. How many have been aware of the baglady, apparently fleetingly appearing in the series since it began? (She unnoticed by me, I have to confess.) Apparently she is significant, how so to be revealed in Season 7. A montage is presented of this season's dramatic departures (try counting them); another looks back at how a major character evolved, all the way to a most messy demise.

Not for the fainthearted, the show continues stirringly to deliver, delving deeply into the motives of all concerned. Already many have gone, their loss felt - this a sign of the impact made. How many will remain when the final season ends? Fans have every reason to feel apprehensive - and to continue to watch, totally riveted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, a fantastic series just got better., 6 Sep 2014
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 6 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Girlfriend bought this for me as I am a huge fan of the show, and you should be too if you aren't already. This is the best season to date and sees Jax at the head of the table and trying to get the club to go legit. Again its a roller coaster that is well written by Kurt Sutter and superbly acted by the cast, I had to chuckle at the nickname given to Unser as it is mentioned in an audio commentary when Charlie Hunnam suggested it as a nickname for Dayton Callie who plays Unser .. and its hilarious. You also get to find out the truth behind the bag lady as Jax tries to fix things and seemingly just opens another can of worms at every turn. This series is vastly underated, it really is a fantastic viewing and once seen earns a place in your heart and soul. The closing scenes of the season were heartbreaking, the song playing in the background just nailed it down and it must have been dusty in my living room when I watched it, a couple of tears were shed after six season invested in this fantastic series and the characters so richly written by Mr Sutter, acted by a superb cast and directed and shot brilliantly while accompanied by fantastic music. If you have not seen SOA then do, its every bit as good as Breaking Bad. If you are already invested, then enjoy .. this is right up there with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Anarchy season 6 (SPOLIERS!), 12 Dec 2013
By 
One word to describe this season is WOW. Thank you kurt for Reminding us Eventully everyone must meet the reaper. This season has picked up so much more than last, more violence, more lies & even more tension between the sons.

Following the arrest of Tara and Clay, Jax struggles to hold SAMCRO together while Tara is imprisoned. Toric approaches both Tara and Clay and offers them deals in exchange for giving up SAMCRO; both initially refuse, but Clay later relents when confronted with being thrown into the prison's general population and assuredly being killed by inmates paid off by Damon Pope's men as a retaliation for Pope's murder. Juice returns to Charming after helping Bobby relocate after stepping down as VP, which angers Chibs, who doesn't believe Juice has been punished enough for talking to cops and later beats him. The Club also deals with a group of Iranian torture-porn filmmakers who abused Lyla; as the conflict heats up cops show up and arrest everyone; the SAMCRO members are handed off to a crooked cop who cuts deals with the locals, agrees with SAMCRO that the torture porn has to go, and has the Iranians evicted. As Tig releases the director, the man makes a crass comment about Tig's daughter. Tig then snaps and drowns the man in a bathtub filled with urine. The premiere ends with a young child, seen periodically throughout the episode, who approaches a school and pulls a machine pistol out of his backpack. He loads the weapon and enters the school; shortly thereafter screams and gunfire are heard. SAMCRO has been targeted for this shooting as the supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I found the sons of anarchy to be like a book that you could not put down, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the sons of anarchy to be like a book that you could not put down,, I understand the manic pace of the series is one of its draws, but the way the characters are formed makes there actions and sometimes there endings more poignant.

We all realise this is not the life of a 1% MC but the details of there fictional world is s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series yet, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best series yet! No spoilers, but I have to say I did NOT see the end coming!!! Can't wait for September even though I'm gutted series 7 will be the final one :'(
If I die today tell Kurt Sutter not to kill Chibs pleeeease!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T.V. doesn't get any better than this., 8 Oct 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 6 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a magnificent t.v. show, one of the very best. Gripping stories and rich, colourful characters that make you feel like you know them.
The violence is truly brutal, real adults only stuff and the plot twists are like an edge of your seat roller-coaster ride.
It wouldn't be fair to include spoilers and ruin your enjoyment, but t.v. doesn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but emotionally exhausting, 18 Nov 2014
By 
Alison Petrie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say - have followed "Sons of Anarchy" since the beginning and have been known to describe it as "Hamlet on bikes"!!!

Purchased Season 6 as couldn't find it anywhere on the television and obviously wanted to know what was happening with "the boys". Gripping and superbly acted as always but not for the faint hearted. Also, every episode is so full on that I can only watch an hour at a time - each time the credits come up at the end I think "Omigod, they've done it again".

Not one weak link in the cast and, each time a new character turns up, the acting remains at an extremely high level. Putting aside the fact that all actors who "belong" to SOA operate at the top of their game, I feel that Dayton Callie (Wayne Unser) and Peter Weller (a particularly nasty ex cop called Barosky) deserve a special mention but it is Jimmy Smits as Nero who gets to me - conveys such powerful sadness portraying a man who loves deeply but knows he is lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the end??, 7 Oct 2014
By 
Brian Coates (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yeah, still a gripping series and twists and turns abound but I confess that, round about half-way through, the implacable squalour of the club's life and times was starting to get on my nerves. You're hard pushed to believe there's a single honest person in the whole of the USA, to go by what happens here and I am starting to be irritated by the complete self-absorption of every single major character! Apparently, Sutter's putting the whole thing to bed in the next season and it's probably about time, to be honest.

It's been a good ride but it's had its day. Don't let me put you off buying this, if you liked the previous seasons, you'll like this - as usual, no one is safe from being written out with extreme prejudice and blood and guts decorate every episode - in fact, I'd venture to say this is the most violent season of the lot and that's saying something. I think I've just lost any character to identify with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beyond fantastic, 3 Mar 2014
well..if you've not been watching this show on either tv or dvd all i can say is...you are crazy!!! this for me has got to be one of the best shows to come out of america and im so sad that its meant to be coming to a end..gawd knows what im gonna do without it ;),
no but seriously this is a great show,very realistic,gory at times,funny,very sad..believe me you go through all the emotions watching it...cannot wait for season 6 will have it on preorder but will also watch on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anarchy Rules, 9 Oct 2014
By 
R. King "raking" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant show and series 6 has been right up there with the rest. Compelling stuff and boy, what a finale!! All my emotions were tugged in that episode and very sad to see one of them (I won't say who) go out of the show - but boy what a way to go. Can't wait for th 7th season (which I understand will be the last??) just to see how the remaining members of SAMCRO end up.
One thing I don't understand though is that with all the violence it only attracts a 15 rating. Boardwalk Empire has no more violence than Sons Of Anarchy (In fact it may have less) and yet that attracts a 18 rating. How does that work?? I personally think SOA should be 18 too, but who am I???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sons of Anarchy - Season 6 [Blu-ray]
Sons of Anarchy - Season 6 [Blu-ray] by Charlie Hunnam (Blu-ray - 2014)
£28.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews