Customer Reviews


388 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was thinking this would be a bit of a disappointment as I heard people saying it was rather average ...
STUNNING! Having been a fan of Marvel, Dark Horse, 2000AD etc for many years and collecting the films also, I was thinking this would be a bit of a disappointment as I heard people saying it was rather average especially compared to the other X-MEN type films. How more could they be wrong. The first 20 mins captivated me, and I knew I was watching a masterpiece of a...
Published 1 month ago by Rick Deckard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than 'X-Men Origins: Wolverine'
Okay let me just start by saying that 'The Wolverine' isn't really a good movie, it's just okay. Don't get me wrong it does have some really good moments like the action scenes, Logan having nightmares about Jean Gray and the basic premise of him being on the run works really well. However, nothing really important happens throughout this movie. I'm not joking. You could...
Published 2 months ago by K. Haigh


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was thinking this would be a bit of a disappointment as I heard people saying it was rather average ..., 26 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolverine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
STUNNING! Having been a fan of Marvel, Dark Horse, 2000AD etc for many years and collecting the films also, I was thinking this would be a bit of a disappointment as I heard people saying it was rather average especially compared to the other X-MEN type films. How more could they be wrong. The first 20 mins captivated me, and I knew I was watching a masterpiece of a movie. The acting, script, flow of story is just superb and also has a surprisingly refreshing feel. You genuinely feel attached to all of the characters and the direction of the film is just beautiful, with virtually many scenes having an almost Ridley-Scott buttery perfection to it. The action pieces are excellent and are never OTT, by far the most faithful to the comics and most 'believable', one of the highlights being the fight atop of the bullet train. The pacing is really what makes this film, it is neither too fast nor too slow, but just absolutely perfect, with each scene unfolding with a kind of serene rhythm, giving you plenty of time to take in the characters and stunning cinematography and attention to detail. Visually the effects are gorgeous, the bear in the woods being one of the highlights for being so realistic. Hugh Jackman and the other supporting Japanese character actors are just superb, rock-solid and exactly what I wanted to see and hear. The story was nothing outstanding, but it is beautifully realised from the script and certainly keeps you interested. You feel it is building up to something and the ending doesn't disappoint. I was genuinely surprised in a few places! This really is a terribly underrated film, much more enjoyable than the previous Wolverine film and that was a good effort. I place this alongside Oblivion for the most criminally underrated films of the last few years. Excellent Blu-Ray quality, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than 'X-Men Origins: Wolverine', 9 July 2014
By 
K. Haigh "Neil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wolverine [DVD] (DVD)
Okay let me just start by saying that 'The Wolverine' isn't really a good movie, it's just okay. Don't get me wrong it does have some really good moments like the action scenes, Logan having nightmares about Jean Gray and the basic premise of him being on the run works really well. However, nothing really important happens throughout this movie. I'm not joking. You could literally watch all of the other X-Men movies and skip this one and it would still make sense. Don't get me wrong this movie is still better than the travesty that was 'X-Men Origins: Wolverine' but really it's nothing more than a setup for 'X-Men: Days Of Future Past', similar to how 'Iron Man 2' is just really a setup for 'Avengers Assemble'. Overall, I'd only say buy this movie if you're a completionist or a hardcore fan of Wolverine or just X-Men in general. However if you're just a casual fan, feel free to skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and humble take on a truly interesting Marvel character, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. T. O. Brand "Tom Brand" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wolverine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you're still smarting over the disaster that was Origins (not including the title sequence, which was the only good part of that movie!)then you can feel confident that The Wolveriene will leave you with a much better sentiment.

Still fitting into the continuity of the other X-Men films but without many constraints imposed upon itself, The Wolveriene is a great standalone film which helps to flesh out the titular character, which in many people's opinions is the most interesting in Marvel lore.

On the whole Jackman does a great job at portraying Wolveriene, and slightly more nuanced than he has played the role in the past. I liked how superheroes aren't always at the forefront and it's more about vendettas and relationships. The action that does feature is, on the whole, excellent and not too 'OTT' (in contrast, I found Man of Steel to be overly action orientated) right up until the final showdown battle with Silver Samurai, which I felt went too much with the expected Hollywood ending.

Overall though it's a great film, and you don't need to be into Marvel or superheroes to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "SNICKT!", 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wolverine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After the dust had fallen from the greatly anticipated 2009 film ‘X-Men Origins: Wolverine’, it was widely flawed by fans and critics as a general disappointment to the X-Men universe and the character of Wolverine himself. Populated with as many mutants as they could use for “fan-boy” pleasing, X-Men comic nods to pin a story together, a number of big name stars who appeared amongst a heavy CGI action story, it left audiences with a sour taste in their mouths. So with the 4 year gap between films, another Wolverine headlined adventure taking place AFTER the original X-Men trilogy serving as a sequel than prequel (keep up…), this was the chance to prove that the character had a real core to be discovered and make up for a failed attempt at giving fans the hero they wanted.

I was one of the many fans disappointed by ‘Origins’ and feared another Wolverine film would simply add insult to injury. Thankfully, I was proved wrong and am so glad I was. This film is the one that eradicates ‘Origins’ as shows us a hero already established but one where there is real character development, a good story and brilliant action used sparingly but effectively.

The action is nothing new in the modern super-hero rule book, but this is a brutal and painful looking story where Jackman really owns the character more than ever, and every punch, kick and slice is felt and we even have blood stained claws at one point! The CGI is there but it is never used for the sake of it, only to enhance dangerous scenes or “super” powers that couldn’t be done in reality which I’m happy to see. There’s a violent grace to the fight sequences that appeals to all fans without being TOO violent to isolate younger fans. If anything, the Silver Samurai is a little under-used as a main threat, but it does the job of being a CGI throw-away villain and certainly looks good but never really feels as evil as it could have been.

The supporting cast is largely unknown to Western audiences, but that isn’t a bad thing because we take them for who they are – talented and understanding of their role, and authentic too. Taking away Hugh Jackman as the main pull for Western audiences, the rest of the cast is largely European and Asian as the film is based in Japan and it looks so good because of it. Not globetrotting, but developing a feeling for the country and its important history to help enhance Logan’s story and the poignancy being there. The only actor I recognised with Will Yun Lee as Harada, head of the Black Ninja Clan, who starred as Colonel Moon in 2002 Bond film ‘Die Another Day’. However Okamoto and Fukushima are great alongside Jackman and make their characters far more fleshed out and emotive than you could hope for.

With a great visual style (the opening scenes on 1945 Nagasaki are beautiful, yet terrifyingly shot), and a far greater understanding of the Wolverine character by director Mangold, this is the film X-Men fans deserved for Hugh Jackman to really get his claws into and show how excellent an actor he is and the passion he puts into the role he has made his own. A thrilling soundtrack adds to the excitement, and the film leaves room to develop Wolverine even more as a character, which is exciting to feel rather than wishing it would be over as we did in 2009.

And the post-credits sequence is something truly wonderful for X-Men fans that lead us perfectly into the era of ‘Days Of Future Past’. I just never thought I’d say this, but I can’t wait to see more of the Wolverine, because this film has reminded me how excellent a character he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars slightly off, but entertaining, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolverine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was a much better film than the last stand alone wolverine outing. The charactor is given much more time to develop, and the opportunity is taken to look at the cost of his mutation as well as the benefits. That said there are some weaknesses in the film. The enemies are not very well developed or explained, so it is hard to think of them as anything other than expendable redshirts for Wolverine to go through, and the pacing of the film seems slightly off to me with a baggy middle section that never really goes anywhere. I feel that Hugh Jackman knows the charactor so well now that he has no problem slipping back into Logans skin and bringing more to the charactor than is written which is a real strength. However some of the other acting around him is not as strong, and that does hurt the film a little.
Overall i would recommend this to any fan of the X-men films or comics. However if you are a newcomer to the charactor then i feel you will see a much better version in the first 2 X-men films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great movie and splendid comic but....., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Movie reviews are available elsewhere. This version of the movie is OK and comes with the excellent Frank Miller comic book that the film was VERY loosely based on.
Problems are:
You only get part 1 of 5 so left hanging unless you want to dip back into Amazon for the full graphic novel - in which case why bother with this?
This isn't the extended version of the movie so you don't get the full fix.
Good thing is that when I bought this it only cost 15 so looking at the current price (25) I'd say there's better ways of spending your hard earned...You could probably buy the extended version AND the Miller original for the same money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love these films., 10 Jun 2014
By 
J. Molloy "P&PMum" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolverine [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series of films. Love the storyline, characters and the cast, particularly the gorgeous Hugh Jackman. This is a great addition to the Xmen films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolverine [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie and better than the first Wolverine movie. Who couldn't like Hugh Jackman? That said the movie had very good action. Enjoyed immensely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extended Cut Unleashes Wolverine, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Positive.
1)Hugh Jackman whom knows this character inside out delivers another great performance.
2)The post credit scene is one of the best yet in a Marvel movie.
3)Extended cut unleashes the Wolverine we've been waiting for.

Negative.
1)Why is the 2D extended cut availble only on the 3D Blu Ray release?

Trivia.
1)The next X Men film Days Of Futures Past follows on from this movie.
2)Wolverine Director James Mangold also directed Copland with Sylvester Stallone & Knight & Day with Tom Cruise.
3)Stan Lee doesn't cameo in this movie.

Blu ray cuts.
Blu ray 2D Theatrical cut.
Blu ray 3D, Region 2, Theatrical cut in 2D & 3D running time 120 minutes.
Blu ray Extended cut in 2D running time 132 minutes.

Review.
This stand-alone set in the present day is the second Wolverine movie & is the untold story of Logan whom travels to Japan to pay respects to a Japanese soldier named Yashida whom Logan protected from an atomic blast in World War 2, Yashida is now an aged old man who's at death's door.

Unfortunately for Logan Vesper Woman whom is his old friends Doctor infects Logan with a implant the robs him of his immortality & for the first time in his life Logan can be hurt or killed.

Also Logan has to protect his old friends Granddaughter Mariko from attacks against Ninjas & The Yakuza while dealing with fact he can now be hurt or killed.

But who is behind all these attacks on Markio?, Could it be her own father Shingen who now want to rule his fathers empire yet as Yashida has left control of the estate to his granddaughter Markio in his will.

Logan battling his inner demons & feelings of being vulnerable for the first time in his life, Logan must now fight against adversarys whom will test his limits physically as Logan will be made to confront his own mortality as he faces off against Ninjas, The Yakuza & a final battle against a new advisory called The Silver Samurai.

I have mixed feelings on this movie!

Wolverine Theatrical cut *** Star's.

Wolverine Extended cut **** Star's.

On the plus side Hugh Jackmans performance hasn't diminished as i could see he's trying to bring an emotional side out of his character hence the flashbacks of seeing Jean Grey his one true love who's guilt of having to kill her is consuming his anger as he becomes reclusive within the world.

I also enjoyed the storys arc & thought the film had great potential to unleash the Wolverines beserker rage but this wasn't the case at all IN THE THEATRICAL CUT!

For a start in most of fights he gets his ass handed to him IN THE THEATRICAL CUT & secondly he's mortal a good 20 minutes longer than he should be in this film & the middle part of the movie suffers from pacing problems.

We were promised an unleashed Wolverine movie so were is that character, Yes there's plenty of fights just none that stand out, UNLESS YOU WATCH THE EXTENDED CUT!.

The fight sequences at the funeral of Yashida are expertly filmed as is the train attack & fight scenes which are more graphic & bloodier in the extended cut.

Another wasted opportunity is were Logan upon entering a Snowy village he is confronted by Ninjas whom instead of James Mangold filming a epic fight sequence here Logan just kills just 2 Ninjas & then gets captured by being restrained & entangled in ropes.

BUT...The extended cut contains those extra fight scenes cut from the theatrical cut were we see Logan vs the ninjas in full that delivers a great epic action sequence.

The final confrontation is ok but lacks tension & the Silver Samurai scenes should've been grittier & edgier as this is when director James Mangold needed to up the action ante & deliver the payoff but instead delivers an average conclusion.

The saving grace is the post credit scene that leads into X Men Days Of Futures Past.

The disappointment here is this could've been a classic X-Men movie instead it's a above average one, Unless you watch the extended cut which is what the theatrical cut of the movie should've been & released at the cinema as it becomes a far better movie.

This extended cut is still a 12a but adds more harder & slightly bloodier Wolverine, The fight scenes especially at the funeral & the fights with ninjas in the snow do deliver the pay off.

So why the 3 & 4 star review?, Because when it does deliver the action which is brilliantly choreographed it delivers especially the excellent extended cut, I just wanted more kick ass rage from Logan in the theatrical release hence the 3 star rating & it seems unfortunate that 20th Century Fox don't care about the fans of Wolverine on dvd by not giving them the extended cut they crave.

If you want to purchase the extended 2D Blu Ray cut you have purchase the 3D Blu Ray version so thanks 20th Century Fox for shafting the standard dvd & blu ray buyers you ought to be ashamed of yourselves.

Timelord Rating.
Extended Cut 8/10
Theatrical Cut 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fans of Claremont's Wolverine rejoice, this Wolverine does it right., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolverine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Wolverine is a solid, safe film. The pacing is right on; the action scenes are relentless, the poignant scenes are breathless,
and the dialog is sharp. there is a compelling story, a well-written script and a *superb* cast.
Unfortunately this film has some major flaws:
The unbelievably weak villain, known as Viper. We don't get a Viper back up storie, so the character looks very one-dimensional.
The rediculusy climatic battle with the twist of the big samurai thing.
I think it destroyed the whole movie, from being awesome to just good. The film's final act sink into CGI boredom.
In this final act Mangold slips a little, digressing back into a standard cartoonish antics movie instead of genuine substance.
It plays things safe for the most part, giving the viewer more or less what they expect but not pushing things beyond that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wolverine [DVD]
The Wolverine [DVD] by James Mangold (DVD - 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews