Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product but confusing setup instructions
Fantastic product! The whole downstairs of my flat was a WiFi dead zone but this Powerline adapter & WiFi extender kit now graces the whole flat with Internet! Merely having a WiFi connection downstairs is a joy, but I can also achieve download speeds and a ping that is as good as a direct connection to the router! The only niggle is that because I've cloned the router to...
Published 8 months ago by P. Nobleza

versus
90 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Setup far from smooth
I'm giving this a three chiefly because of the frustrating setup. 'no configuration' it isn't. 'Push a couple of buttons and you are done', nope. Took two hours. However, once up and running it seems to work pretty well.

So what happened? There are two sets of 'quick installation' instructions with the kit, which is a little confusing. Spending some time, it...
Published 12 months ago by A. ap Rhisiart


‹ Previous | 1 2 394 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TL-WPA4220KIT and TL-WPA4226KIT, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just taken delivery of a WPA4220T Kit (triple) and the TL-WPA4226KIT (with pass through plug), the second being for my daughter who is on 3rd floor of student digs and getting poor wifi currently. Obviously conscious that some of the reviews have indicated problems with setup so was prepared to have to put some effort in to get everything up and running. As it transpired there was only a minor glitch that slowed things down and that was effectively self inflicted:

Have a BT Homehub 5 in the house and paired the wifi unit from the TL-WPA4220KIT first using WPS. All indications appeared to indicate success so then installed pass though plug and got powerline indication straight away. Took wifi unit up stairs and for some reason ipad would not connect although recognized the unit which was on my house SSID. Tried laptop which seemed to connect but no internet and SSID not shown on laptop; also no internet on laptop using LAN cable so resigned myself that would have to spend sometime troubleshooting and loading the support software. The whole iteration had taken about 10 mins as I was rushing to ensure I avoided a 'your dinner's in the dog' scenario.

Post dinner decided to do a quick check of connections and straight away realised I had put the LAN cable at the router end in the WAN connector. A quick change to the empty LAN socket and everything worked as advertised. It then took a pessimistic 10 mins to install the 4220 kit in the following order: WPS clone each wifi unit (only 1 plugged in at a time), then with both wifi units plugged in inserted the small powerline unit, which both the wifi units recognised straight away (powerline led lit). Then unplugged both wifi units and positioned them where I wanted in the house.

Result - now have stable wifi throughout the house. For reference was generally getting around 8-10MB on a speed test in bedroom but with frequent dropouts due to signal problems. Now between 26-32MB with no dropout which compares to around 34-36MB if sitting a couple of feet away from the router.

So apart from my stupidity everything worked as advertised and I'm very happy with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think I've cracked it which now makes the units great, but very difficult to configure, 20 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. G. Gamp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WPA4220KIT AV500 Powerline 300M Wi-Fi Extender/Wi-Fi Booster/Hotspot with Two Ethernet Ports, Starter Kit/Twin Pack (Easy Configuration, Wi-Fi Clone for Smartphone/Tablets/Laptop) (Personal Computers)
OK everyone is very frustrated by the instructions, I think I've cracked it which now makes the units great, but very difficult to configure.
1. Plug in A End unit and connect to ethernet (Smaller Unit 4010)
2. Press the pair button for 1 second on the remote unit )Larger Unit 4220) (This is where the confusion is because if you have 2 remote units, the second one is configured the other way around).
3. Press the pair button on A End unit within 2 minutes for 1 second. It will flash and then hold. You are now connected but you may still need to clone your existing wifi network.
If you have WPS on your router (I have SKY Broadened) press the WPS button for 3 seconds and then go to the remote unit and press the wifi clones button on front of the unit for 1 second. This will clone your wifi and copy the password across so it extends the existing network.
4. If you have an addiction remote unit, plug it in but this time press the pair button on A End unit first for 1 second, then press pair button on new remote unt for 1 second, this will pair with the network.
5. Clone the existing wifi the same way, press WPS on Router and press wifi clone button within 1 minute and hey presto you are done.

Follow these instructions and you can't go wrong, then you will love the units rather than wanting to throw them across the garden which I was tempted to do until I worked it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Using, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Using BT home hub 5 with bt infinity 2, I was having wifi blackspots in a couple of our bedrooms, I have tried using a BT dual band extender, which did get wifi into the rooms but was draining our wifi speeds, which is no good in a 4 bedroom house with multiple devices, so I took a gamble and bought this treble kit and also an additional extender.
SOOO GLAD I DID, as I now have full wifi signal around the whole house with no drop out on speeds ( between 30-40 MB) over the 2.4GHz channel. This product is not dual band and only connects to the 2.4GHz channel, so anyone with a BT home hub 5 should just give there 5GHz channel a seperate ssid name.
All our wifi devices work seamlessly from one room to another and all our game consoles and smart tv's are now connected via the ethernet cables (2 on each extender), so best of both worlds.
Setting up I ignored the paper instructions that came in the box and just set them all up the way the youtube video shows you to do.
1 Plug the small adapter into a power socket and connect to router with the ethernet cable supplied
2 Place one large extender into a power socket (I did this as close to the adapter as I could)
3 Press the pair button on the front of the small adapter
4 Press the pair button on the underside of the large extender (lights will flash then top 2 remain steady)
5 Press WPS button on router
6 Press WPS button on front of large extender
And that's it, it copies your name and password of your 2.4GHZ ssid
I then brought the large extender into the bedroom that was furthest away, plugged it in and connected to it straight away, I repeated the process above for every other extender.
Would highly recommend!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TP-Link WPA4220KIT AV500 Homeplug, 24 April 2014
By 
D. Noades "Dave_N" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WPA4220KIT AV500 Powerline 300M Wi-Fi Extender/Wi-Fi Booster/Hotspot with Two Ethernet Ports, Starter Kit/Twin Pack (Easy Configuration, Wi-Fi Clone for Smartphone/Tablets/Laptop) (Personal Computers)
This kit was relatively easy to set up using the supplied utility and worked satisfactorily for a period of time.....

However, my set-up involves a relatively long length of armoured cable from my house to a garden studio and it would seem that this particular kit struggled to cope with the length of run / number of connections within my household wiring / interference and after a while the link was periodically dropping out.

Resetting everything seemed to get it working for a while, but eventually the two units refused to recognise each other's presence any more, even when I plugged them into sockets which were physically close to one another.

On contacting the supplier, they tried to give me the contact details for the manufacturer, but these were helpfully (!) obliterated by the Amazon blocking system - great!

Eventually got hold of the manufacturer who advised returning just one of the units for replacement - I knew this would achieve absolutely nothing as the new unit would still not be able to connect with the other unit!

I had recently read that Solwise made a unit (the PL600AV) that utilises a higher-end chip set that is much more resilient to interference and multiple connection losses, so I decided to cut my losses with the TP-Link set up and go with this instead. This has been very stable now for over a month, with consistent connection rates of 70 - 80Mbps over this rather difficult link.

So by all means go with the TP-Link solution if you have a relatively clean mains set-up, but if you think you have something more tricky, I would strongly suggest going with Solwise instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not work so returned it and bought a Devolo, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product generally got good reviews, so I ordered it and simply could not get it to work, even after several tries of trying to follow the the less-than-precise directions. The only customer service help I could find was through an e-mail, supposedly answered within 24 hours and I have not yet, days later, received a response. Full credit to the Amazon system which made the return and refund process as easy as possible. I both a Devolo, much more expensive and it worked perfectly, first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 200/500Mbps through a 100Mbps socket....?!, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
R J (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WPA4220KIT AV500 Powerline 300M Wi-Fi Extender/Wi-Fi Booster/Hotspot with Two Ethernet Ports, Starter Kit/Twin Pack (Easy Configuration, Wi-Fi Clone for Smartphone/Tablets/Laptop) (Personal Computers)
Ordered these Thursday and they arrived on the following Monday, been trying to find something like these for some time so was very glad when I come across them. I just have one problem....

The AV500 (TL-WPA4220KIT) states a speed of 500Mbps through the wired connection.
The AV200 (TL-WPA281KIT) states a speed of 200Mbps through the wired connection

HOWEVER, both of them have 10/100Mbps connectors on them (as per the TP-Link website), so surely the fastest speed you would EVER get is 100Mbps?!?!?! Please do correct me if i'm wrong.....

Still very good devices, that work VERY well, hence the 4/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor product and not robust, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointed with these devices (I had previously used the Ethernet only devices that TP-Link produced and have since reverted to them). I had chosen these devices to mimprove wireless coverage around the house but I have been sadly disappointed.

My experience is complex/difficult set up instructions and confusing "username" / "password" explanations.

In running, the remote devices periodically drop out (wireless) or weaken in signal strength causing lost time on online connections as you are forced to unconnect/reconnect to same device or alternative.

Overall a very poor product and not recommended. I have reverted to the messier (cables) Ethernet connections whichdo work and are robust.

Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it but only because I'm a geek, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Packaging - excellent. Instructions - well... with patience, tolerable. Not for the faint-hearted non-techie John Does.

The main marketing point of this product seems to be the plug-and-play capability, which seems to work only partially.

The powerline pairing works just fine - managed to pair the powerline module and three wifi extenders within a few minutes.

I couldn't get the Wi-Fi autopairing work with three different NetGear Wi-Fi routers (all three support WPS button connection).

Once I found the IP address of the device, I was able to log in and set up the Wi-Fi parameters within minutes. I love the fact that the device reboots super fast (unlike traditional APs, that take several minutes to restart).

Network speed via powerline will not be the advertised 500MBps, but somewhere around 200-300. I am connecting through about 10m of powerline, on the same circuit breaker.

Wi-Fi speed varies but signal is reliable ~10m outside the house (brick walls) at 72MBps (extender and target device were both in "n" mode).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fortunately having read the other reviews I quickly realised that ..., 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WPA4220KIT AV500 Powerline 300M Wi-Fi Extender/Wi-Fi Booster/Hotspot with Two Ethernet Ports, Starter Kit/Twin Pack (Easy Configuration, Wi-Fi Clone for Smartphone/Tablets/Laptop) (Personal Computers)
Just as the other reviews said the set up instructions are misleading - don't follow them! Fortunately having read the other reviews I quickly realised that the instructions wouldn't work (it just wasn't cloning our wireless network) and did what the other reviewers recommended. Then it was really simple and it works very well. So in short this is all I needed to do:

Write down the last 6 figures on the top number on the large plug in unit and also the password that is shown further down on the same unit. Plug the small unit in near to the router (ours is a Virgin superhub) and connect with one of the Ethernet cables provided. Plug the large unit in elsewhere. Press the button on the front of the small unit and then the little button UNDERNEATH the large unit - they'll flash a bit, the bottom green light on the big unit will keep flashing but you should be done now and you should have available to you a new wireless network with the name TP_LINK_xxxxxx (the x's being the 6 digits you wrote down), connect to this using the password you wrote down - you can unplug the large unit and plug it in anywhere you like to extend your wireless capability (ours is now in the shed and we can go wireless right up the garden). For ease I found it better to plug in fairly close to the small unit when setting up to save running round the house while pressing buttons. Hope that helps anyone buying one and many thanks to those who reviewed before me and saved me hours of frustration.

Just one question remains - why on earth aren't the guys who make it able to write a set of instructions that actually work?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but follow the instructions! If in doubt just reset, start again and use a Wifi channel app., 28 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WPA4220KIT AV500 Powerline 300M Wi-Fi Extender/Wi-Fi Booster/Hotspot with Two Ethernet Ports, Starter Kit/Twin Pack (Easy Configuration, Wi-Fi Clone for Smartphone/Tablets/Laptop) (Personal Computers)
I have added a pair of these to existing Powerline adapters and they all work well. But, make sure you follow the instructions!

Remove all but one adapter and connect these additional adapters one by one. If in any doubt, just reset all the adapters by pressing the 'pair button' or factory reset button underneath on the wifi longer than 10 seconds and start again. Its really quite quick and easy.
What isn't obvious is that the lowest green light on the wifi unit is the pairing button. It's a bit fiddly but it pushes in at the top of it.

However, there are two ways to set up the wifi adapter. I haven't spent time on this but you can clone your existing wifi network. Or the easiest way is to let it set up a separate wifi network. You will have to register the new network with your devices, tablet, phones etc. Then you can either manually connect to it or you can let the devices do it automatically but I find they don't choose the stronger signal.

One great tip! Download a free Wifi Signal/Network app to your tablet etc. and you can see the various wifi networks in range. You can see which is the stronger and where best to site the wifi adapter.
Also, log in and change the channel on your wifi router/hub to improve the signal. There are instructions on the internet or from your ISP. Its easy!

Whilst you can plug these into cable extensions, some with anti-surge protection can reduce the efficiency of Powerline. So plug it into the wall or an ordinary multi-plug extension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 394 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews