Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ibra!
As a massive fan of Zlatan i was worried this book might change my opinion of him. However in actual fact it made me even more of a fan. This controversial but truthful insight into his life provides surprise at every turn of a page. Even if your not a fan, this book will hook you in for a rolla coaster ride of admiration and controversy!
Published on 2 Jun. 2012 by C. Marshall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I am an egomaniac": Not a 'character', childish.
It's worth confessing that I am no fan of him as a player, since he tends to do poorly against English clubs, but his record speaks for itself: he can play a bit. But anyone calling this "the best book ever" has either poor judgement or simply not read much; anyone seeing him as a 'character' has confused throwing fireworks about, has confused his being 'a wild...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. G. Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I am an egomaniac": Not a 'character', childish., 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. G. Morgan "wes" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's worth confessing that I am no fan of him as a player, since he tends to do poorly against English clubs, but his record speaks for itself: he can play a bit. But anyone calling this "the best book ever" has either poor judgement or simply not read much; anyone seeing him as a 'character' has confused throwing fireworks about, has confused his being 'a wild and crazy guy' with moral strength. In fact he is NOT a strong personality, he's just rather childish. As a Bosnian immigrant into Sweden his book gives a useful sidelight on growing up roughish, with a father who drank, a mother whose problems are often left (politely ) unspecified and a sister who took to drugs. This is the most appealing aspect of the book, and the growth of young Zlatan from petty thief to star footballer is interesting. The problem is that as a character Ibra is not especially compelling (the poverty of the nickname Ibracadabra recalls the silly Battigols one for Battistuta and speaks poorly of some fans' imaginative limits). The 'controversial' aspect of the book is overplayed and melodramatic, reminding you that football long ago ate itself. The player, revealingly writing in the third person, seems pitifully unaware that that football is a team game: he seems utterly unable to empathise with others, let alone sympathise; as early as the first page we find him totally unable to understand Guardiola because the latter totally fails to understand him. Likely there are two sides to this story but if so, I am none the wiser; one great coach dismissed like THAT! This the pattern: there's Zlatan's view, then there's a void where his antagonist's might be supposed to be; this is the very territory where a great autobiography should be eloquent and it is silent. The very title speaks of vanity. And as for the writing, it is either a bad translation or he is none too articulate: one account of a move for Ajax was simply incomprehensible and that of the match in which it was made non-existent. The title itself hardly indicates it is going to be an exactly elegantly told tale; talk about clumsy and unimaginative! Too many reviews are likewise hardly literate; they too are infected by a tendency to simple-minded exaggeration and clumsy, child-like 'enthusiasm'. Speaking 6 languages or being very rich is NOT a definitive measure of intelligence; it is to believe in the Planet Football hype. Just as Ibra's fury at being MERELY voted 2nd Greatest Ever Swedish Sportsman bespeaks egomania (Larsson, Edberg, Wilander, Stellan Bengtsson, Borg, etc..); well if he thinks the world will be aware of him 10 years after his career's over, he has another think coming. Yes he is honest about details of misbehaviour, games, others; rather more so than is wise as he embodies what we British call a 'prat'! About himself his insight is somewhat limited and plainly he overrates himself something rotten: HOW MANY competitions has he shone in? precisely. Sense of proportion badly needed, both by player and uncritical readers. The most overrated sports book I have read in years; for children of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ibra!, 2 Jun. 2012
As a massive fan of Zlatan i was worried this book might change my opinion of him. However in actual fact it made me even more of a fan. This controversial but truthful insight into his life provides surprise at every turn of a page. Even if your not a fan, this book will hook you in for a rolla coaster ride of admiration and controversy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book about a dreadful human being, 14 Mar. 2015
Zlatan is unquestionably one of the world’s great footballers but there’s no escaping the fact while he is a genius on the field, he is a money-obsessed, boorish, petulant child off it.

His story is an interesting one. Son of immigrants raised in a tough neighbourhood and battles his way to the top. However, instead of insight, all we get is a picture of an ego out of control that spends large portions of the book bragging about being a thief, throwing fireworks at people, buying or driving fast cars, engineering his latest transfer or fighting with team-mates.

If you really want to understand Zlatan, then the passage about him buying his house in Sweden sums him up. I want it, I’ll put pressure on you, I’ll pay over the odds and then brag about it. His apologists would call him determined, but the rest of us see a vulgar and classless individual who thinks money can buy anything.

It may be because of the translation, but it’s not terribly well-written either. On too many occasions chapters are ended on a supposed cliff-hanger like ‘I was going to pay a heavy price’ and then, nothing to explain why.

It’s possible to read biographies about people who aren’t particularly sympathetic but still find them compelling and interesting. This isn’t one of them. Off to the charity shop and let some other poor soul read about a shallow narcissist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 1 May 2014
By 
Doog (birmingham uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read Funny and interesting Some strong opinions about personalities within the game.Very enlightening.A very good read that keeps you laughing at his wicked put downs of people he has crossed swords with during his time in the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely fascinating and interesting book about one of the most opinionated footballers in the world. Highly recommend this book to any zlatan fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get zlatanized !, 30 Nov. 2013
You can easily have your reservation/opinion about someone as outspoken and seemingly more than self-confident individual as Zlatan Ibrahimovic, but this is such an honest and entertaining account of his life and career so far that at least one gets a deeper understanding of the man and his motives. If his constant bragging about his goals and achievements gets to your nerves, I'd recommend to pause reading and switch to YouTube and see for yourself. Not quite great literature, but by far the best recent biographical work on a still-active sportsman, and just like a hopeless defender in an opposing team you cannot avoid to get zlatanized in the end !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Entertaining, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never been a huge fan of Zlatan but after I read this book I'm more of a fan now. Just keeping the review short, its a highly entertaining book that feels very much in most parts that its Zlatan talking. Its certainly different to any other biography I have read due to Zlatans personality which shines through. It feels really honest & genuine which is refreshing and gives you an insight behind the curtain of his career, the clubs hes been at, agents etc. Just as a football fan I really enjoyed the book and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, I was a little surprised by his personality comes across with a huge ego but really more walk the walk talk the talk person which is what I like about him, thought he was a bit harsh on Pep perhaps Mourinho rubbed off on him to much but completely disregards him as a manager and from other books I'm reading his players where in awe of him but seems about right on his description of Barcelona in everyone does what there told, all in all great read and insight into what actually happens in transfers etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shallow, egotistical, surprisingly self-aware....kicks all other footballer bios clean off the pitch, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's a lot that can be said about Ibra (his nickname is Ibracadabra, but I've never heard anyone calling him it...) but he certainly has a lot to say too. His insights into Barca, Juve, Milan; his thoughts on Guardiola, Messi, Mourinho; even his thoughts on life and his interests. All of these are presented in such a way that is above all else, honest.
His views and thoughts on his life, his colleagues come through in an uncompromising, unfiltered way very much unlike many of the corporate footballer bios that litter football fandom.
The book starts with his career at Barca, before it delves into his early years, ending not particularly conclusively, with a to be continued....
The book also gives a good insight into the modern footballers experience in immigration and moving jobs. Not enough is really said about this, but Zlatan does so with good humour (the light-tone throughout the book is refreshing to say the least. He's no tactician but he enjoys his game)
Credit must go to his ghostwriter and also, the translator. Without these I doubt Zlatan's input would be as potent as it is presented here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book out there, the reviews are not lies!, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a cracking tale of a lad that came from nothing to become one of the best strikers in the world. It gives hope to people that have nothing an shows you can change you just need to want it. It is funny and he really does not dress anything up, if he thinks something is s*** he will say it haha in the book a few swear words make it funny and this gives a great insight into his life and what a struggle he had as a kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews