Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!
This book is so full of information, and answers so many of the questions I had. I am new to spinning, and this book explains all the technicalities and vagaries you hear when you're trying to learn from the internet and other books.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to improve their spinning technique.
Published on 13 April 2010 by G. C. Clarke

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing I hadn't seen before
This book would be great for the new spinner who hadn't read much about the craft. Nice photos and some interesting novelty yarns to try.
Published on 15 Feb 2010 by Crafter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 13 April 2010
By 
G. C. Clarke (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is so full of information, and answers so many of the questions I had. I am new to spinning, and this book explains all the technicalities and vagaries you hear when you're trying to learn from the internet and other books.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to improve their spinning technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild with wool, 17 Feb 2010
Bought this for a friend, but have had to borrow it myself, its packed with useful information that allows for many different textures in spinning, very nice to read and I found it very easy to follow. Highly recommended if you want to produce different textures and styles without spending a fortune on accessories. It may not be for the beginner, although if you love spinning you will grow into the book, but there is something for everyone no matter what the level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informative with beautiful photos, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book shows you, with photos, the different results of doing different things with your spinning. For instance single ply, two ply, finishing and not finishing. It helps you understand what makes the difference when you spin. It is wheel based spinning but tells you a lot about the wools themselves and there is only one chapter about working with your wheel. Having only started spinning 3 months ago all the information is still sinking in. It is useful for extending yourself from the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing I hadn't seen before, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Crafter (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This book would be great for the new spinner who hadn't read much about the craft. Nice photos and some interesting novelty yarns to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Anyone, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has everything a spinner needs to spin better yarns from preparing the yarn to spinning enough yarn for any project. I have found it a constant companion to my recent spin times. I would give this book to anyone starting to spin for the first time whether by spindle or wheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really good book, brilliant for the beginner has lots of help and advice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written and illustrated, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spin Control: Techniques for Spinning the Yarns You Want (Kindle Edition)
Great book with tons of beautiful photos and excellent spinning advice which is given in both photographic and written form. Lots of troubleshooting tips and knowledge here. I downloaded it straight to my mac to make the best use of the format - glorious! Totally recommended as it is helpful both for beginners and for people who want to extend their skills into art yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews