Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable from start to finish
A real feel good book, just good clean romance with a bit of humour, the characters are interesting and lively. a lovely descriptive way of writing that takes you into the story.
Published 7 months ago by Angela

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Brockway's usual standard
I'm a big Brockway fan, but this didn't work for me.

It was supposed to be set in Devon, but it didn't seem like Devon at all. More like Texas. For the first few chapters I thought that it was a Western.

And that was just the beginning of things that were just not very English historical. It takes them only a few hours to get from Devon to Brighton...
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Brockway's usual standard, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
I'm a big Brockway fan, but this didn't work for me.

It was supposed to be set in Devon, but it didn't seem like Devon at all. More like Texas. For the first few chapters I thought that it was a Western.

And that was just the beginning of things that were just not very English historical. It takes them only a few hours to get from Devon to Brighton (it takes that long now!!). There is a surreal lack of historical type propriety (no one seems to be concerned for the heroine's reputation). It squicks me rather that the hero 'pretends' to be the heroine's uncle... (ewww...) Gowns that sound skimpy even by today's standards (really?). Random jealousy and misunderstandings. Meh.

I guess that it is a book that would be considered a 'romp'. But I just didn't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
if you love historical romances, you will love this book. I however found it pompous at times and not an enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable from start to finish, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
A real feel good book, just good clean romance with a bit of humour, the characters are interesting and lively. a lovely descriptive way of writing that takes you into the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slow Start but a good read, 3 April 2014
By 
Heather Saggers "englishrose850" (broxbourne, herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Paperback)
This is my first time reading a book by Connie Brockway, and i nearly put it down a couple of times, but by the end i couldn't put it down. I felt she used unnecessary words, trying to make it seem very clever. And the first 3-4 chapters were a struggle, but i persisted as it was recommended. A couple of holes in the story, including how quickly they got around France and England. If you can excuse little mistakes like that then the main characters were likeable and amusing. And i found myself wanting to know what happened next. So apart from the beginning and a few little niggles i really enjoyed it, and will be trying another of her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars and the story was not that brilliant to follow, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very hard going, and the story was not that brilliant to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday reading, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
A very good light read for holiday time. Kept you reading. Not very much " history" involved. Kindle edition had many typos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Promise Me Heaven, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Hall (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
I have given this book 5 stars because it was such a good story. It was well written and I just loved the characters and the storyline. This is definitely a book I would recommend to anyone who loves historical novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Promise me heaven by Connie brockway, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this and like the writers style want to see what others she has written. I. Actually liked the couple in this too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyable, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promise Me Heaven (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this book, I read the negative reviews and maybe it simply a book for them. For me it was a great enjoyable read, I'm hoping the other characters have their own books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Promise Me Heaven
Promise Me Heaven by Connie Brockway
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews