Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great comic of a great series
Hedge Knight is a prequel to George RR Martin's excellent book series Songs of Ice and Fire. Actually it does not have much to do with the series itself except that it's located in Westeros in the time when Targaryens were still in power, about a hundred years before the events of A Game Of Thrones.
The graphic novel starts with the death of Ser Arlan. His squire,...
Published on 7 Aug 2004 by MK

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what we were expecting and very disappointing
The same as for the Sworn Sword - a waste of our money as my husband cannot make the text large enough to be able to read it - also it needs to be in colour, I suspect so not much good on a Paperwhite!
Published 9 days ago by janeydawse


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great comic of a great series, 7 Aug 2004
By 
MK (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hedge Knight (Paperback)
Hedge Knight is a prequel to George RR Martin's excellent book series Songs of Ice and Fire. Actually it does not have much to do with the series itself except that it's located in Westeros in the time when Targaryens were still in power, about a hundred years before the events of A Game Of Thrones.
The graphic novel starts with the death of Ser Arlan. His squire, Dunk, mourns. But after the burial he figures that he could become a knight as well, claiming that Ser Arlan gave him the knighthood before his death. So Dunk becomes Ser Duncan and he decides to join a tournament at Ashford Meadow, so that he could make a small fortune for himself with a few easy victories. Naturally events unfold and the book ends up being a journey into what the true essence of Knighthood means.
The illustration by Mike Miller and Mike Crowell is excellent throughout the book and the story gets you immediately hooked in a true GRR Martin fashion. All the familiar family names and locations make it an intriguing experience. It's a a must buy for any SOIAF-fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best graphic novel I've ever read, 26 April 2008
This review is from: Hedge Knight TPB (Paperback)
This is, in short, superb. I am a massive fan of GRRM's work and I definitely think that anybody who has read A Song of Ice and Fire will enjoy this as a wonderful addition to their experience of Westeros. Set about a century before the ASoIaF books, it tells the story of Ser Duncan the Tall, a Hedge Knight and his experience at a tourney during the Targaryens' reign. Filled with juicy little additions to flesh out the back story of the kingdom and especially of the Targaryen family, it will make you very excited about the whole world and since I've read it whilst waiting for A Dance with Dragons, it's a great way to fill time until then! And it's not just filling time, I have to say. It is worth every penny and I will definitely re-read it many times.
The illustrations are glorious, I cannot think of a single fault with them. The cover pictures (two for each of the six issues inside this book) are stunning. I could stare at them all day. But what's better is that all of the pictures have a similar effect. There is no skimping on detail and there is such well-chosen perspective and well thought out movement shots that you will really feel a part of the book.
Of course, I am speaking as a big fan of the ASoIaF series; if you haven't read this (although I'd highly recommend you do anyway) then you can still enjoy The Hedge Knight. Granted even for a fan some of the familial storylines can be confusing but it'll only intrigue you and make you want more and more of this world.
I genuinely can't think of any criticisms, which is rare for me. Read and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent graphic novel!, 24 Sep 2008
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hedge Knight TPB (Paperback)
This excellent tale from the redoubtable George RR Martin is beautifully illustrated by Ben Avery. A mighty collaboration.

So why only 4 stars? Surely it rates 5? Well, maybe it does.

It might just be me, but I experienced some hesitation in following the text bubble sequence. Something did not flow easily for me - not as it would normally when reading this sort of book. And I do read a lot of books. Hopefully this will not reduce your enjoyment, but it did mine, a bit. Hence 4 stars.
Be interested if others find the text bubble arrangement problematic. Comments invited.

If you enjoy the works of Ben Avery or GRRM, this will probably suit you really well, since both do an excellent job here. I am waiting eagerly for the paperback edition of the next in the series:
Sworn Sword (The Hedge Knight): 2

Of course, you could always go for the hardback version:
Sworn Sword (The Hedge Knight): 2

"Hedge Knight" is recommended for its beautifully detailed depiction of a story of knightly valour and human values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent artwork, must-see and most-read for the George R. R. Martin fans, 5 July 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"The Hedge Knight" is comic book/graphic adaptation of George R. R. Martin novel that bears the same name introducing reader to world beautifully pictured in his A Song of Ice and Fire" book series. Originally, George R. R. Martin published this novel as a part of Robert Silverberg's Legends anthology, back in the 1998.

The story takes place almost hundred years before the events pictured in first book - "A Game of Thrones". Lord Ashford had organized a great tourney, inviting warriors and knights from each and every of the Seven Kingdoms. One of them is Sir Duncan the Tall, a hedge knight seeking for a fame and fortune. Dunk's master, Sir Arlan, recently died and Dunk picked up his sword and shield, intending to carry on his former master's noble ways. Along the way, Dunk would be joined by an unusual boy wanting to become his squire, Egg. All of the Dunk's plans would need to be changed when he provoked the fury of Prince Aerion Targaryen, but after a series of events and some unusual discoveries Westeros future will begin to irreversibly change...

This graphic novel published by the Marvel Enterprises comes in a nice hardcover version and was beautifully illustrated by Mike S. Miller and Mike Crowell's, accompanied by Robert Silverberg, Elio Garcia and Linda Antonsson. Visually, this graphic adaptation looks excellent with a depth of detail that "forces" reader to look for a long time at each panel. As a bonus feature, at the book's end reader can found short part from the sequel "The Sworn Sword", picturing the Battle of the Redgrass Field.

The only drawback, mainly for those who are not familiar with George R. R. Martin work is level of details concerning names, houses, their relationships and events from the past. Although I don't have problem with that, being big fan of Martin's series, for someone who would just want to read a comic book it could be frustrating how many characters and relationships between them are present. Maybe for some next edition inclusion of the family tree to keep track of all of them would be great add-on.

"The Hedge Knight" is both must-see and most-read for the George R. R. Martin fans, but also for all those interested in comic books due to excellent artwork that can be found inside. Also this is the beginning of a new series, a graphic adaptation of the turbulent events that occurred before the Game of Thrones began, events that laid the foundations for the outcome described in the A Song of Ice and Fire" series.

High recommendations and I can hardly wait to enjoy its sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite gripping!, 11 July 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Hedge Knight was the first graphic novel I ever read, for lack of any new full fledged novels set in Westeros from GRRM, I was not disappointed. Even though the comic takes place 100 years before the books there are still some characters avid readers will recognize, not to mention many of the great houses. As far as the comic adaptation goes I am no expert but I thought the artwork was pretty decent, in particular the scenes toward the end were quite gripping. As to be expected from the Song of Ice and Fire there is no lack of violence, though not much sex (maybe for the better).

All in all I thought it was an enjoyable read, even though the story is much cruder than the novels and this medium will never have the same depth as a book of a thousand pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like ASoIaF then you'll like this., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedge Knight: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones) (Kindle Edition)
It was the first graphic novel I've read which i chose because Im an ASoIaF fan. I still prefer reading real books but I'll read all the graphic novels in this series. The art work was really impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedge Knight: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones) (Kindle Edition)
Another expansion to the history of G R R Martin's world. Every bit as gripping as the novels. Simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The plot is well written and this adaption in comic-book form has amazing artwork, a real page turner and a must ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Hedge Knight is a short story written by George R.R Martin that expands on the world of ASOIAF. Set 100 years before the main story-line shown in Game of Thrones, it follows a hedge knight named Dunk as he journeys to Ashford to take part in a tournament. The plot is well written and this adaption in comic-book form has amazing artwork, a real page turner and a must have for all ASOIAF fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing quality and the product was up to my expectations. Gave the novel to my boyfriend as a present who doesn't ever read comic books but he said that he wants to read the next parts, so I'm guessing it blew him away too. I 100% recommend it if you want to relax for 2 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moral tale, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedge Knight: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable and engaging. If you like Game of Thrones this will whet your appetite. My 17 year old friend enjoyed it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews