Customer Reviews


250 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance
This film is simply brilliant. Lots of people have said it before but they're completely correct- it's a modern day Goodfellas. The rise and dramatic fall of a character who you may even have sympathy with at the end (although sympathy is a very strong word) pays testament to the brilliance of yet another Sorcese/DiCaprio megacombo. The manner in which DiCaprio...
Published 1 month ago by Mr E P T Wright

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problematic
Honestly, this is a big "hmmmm..."

If you mash up Limitless with Wall Street you get this... and at 3hrs, it is a looong film. Broadly speaking, a biopic, we see the debauched and immoral lives of stock-traders from the end of the 80's through to the mid 90's. And of course, it is supposed to echo the nonsensical trading that went out before the current...
Published 12 days ago by M. Adil-smith


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This film is simply brilliant. Lots of people have said it before but they're completely correct- it's a modern day Goodfellas. The rise and dramatic fall of a character who you may even have sympathy with at the end (although sympathy is a very strong word) pays testament to the brilliance of yet another Sorcese/DiCaprio megacombo. The manner in which DiCaprio encapsulates the antihero is astounding and a doff of the (hooker filler drugs) cap goes to Jonah Hill for a brilliant supporting role. I cannot recommend this to (over 18's!!!) enough. At three hours long, you'll wonder how the time flew by so quick....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!!, 8 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Most I've laughed at a movie for a long time, DiCaprio and Jonah Hill had me cracking up with their drug fuelled degenerate ways, brilliant film!! Scorsese at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a film, and what a life that man had simply amazing good good great amazing cool exciting amazing good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problematic, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Honestly, this is a big "hmmmm..."

If you mash up Limitless with Wall Street you get this... and at 3hrs, it is a looong film. Broadly speaking, a biopic, we see the debauched and immoral lives of stock-traders from the end of the 80's through to the mid 90's. And of course, it is supposed to echo the nonsensical trading that went out before the current recession.

The problem with this movie is that it suffers from exactly the same problem as Wall St and Limitless - the central character is a drug addled, amoral, criminal. There is no coverage on the effect that his action had (all the blue collar workers who lost their life savings), and it just seems to revel in its debauchery as a pale imitation of Scarface or Blow. I spent three hours wanting Di Caprio wanting him to get badly hurt.

Did he? Not really - three years in jail and then a successful speaking career. Wholly dissatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Long, 1 Jun 2014
By 
N. Baseley (Haslemere, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Can I say Martin Scorsese is ill-disciplined?! Maybe I missed something, but it felt to me like a good movie was struggling to get out of this one. Twice as long as it felt it needed to be. Some wonderful scenes contained herein, particularly one featuring three foot of water!

So for me a shame that I was largely bored. Can't say I agree with those who say the main character is unlikeable - I really liked him. I didn't mind the language, sex, party scenes. Just too long between plot points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Making money = mainlining adrenaline.", 15 April 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The above quote is attributed to Jordan Belfort, the real life rogue trader who set up "pump and dump" Long Island stockbroking firm and who is portrayed in 'The Wolf of Wall Street" as a daredevil sybarite with an appetite for drugs and prostitutes (both A-list). The film is a crazy, more often than not over-the-top black comedy staring our boy Leonardo DiCaprio (simply put: amazing), Jonah Hill (a good laugh) and Matthew McConaughey (charismatic as always).

In theory, Belfort is an American anti-hero, he embraces the destructive and obnoxious side of the late twentieth century America with its obsession on all things material and capitalism generally. Belfort's extravagant antics (from illegal money making machine to money laundering) in the nineties helped, it is believed, to get the financial crisis of 2008 on its way.

The three-hour saga of life (and near-death, a number of times) of the sexist, witty, self-deprecating and occasionally romantic Jordan Belfort is deranged and exhilaration, everything about his life (and the film itself) is excessive. Yes, the screen play is witty and the characters are all fantastic (and fantastically portrayed), the film is enjoyable, but only, I found, in the first 90 minutes or so. Then it becomes somewhat tiresome. And the moral? Is there one? Vanity Fair accused 'The Wolf of Wall Street" of praising and glorifying criminal behaviour and lack of morals in the finance, food for thought, eh?

The bottom line: Leonardo DiCaprio is fantastic, when you are tired of the repetitive imagery of endless cocaine parties and naked women, he shines his artistic star. DiCaprio carries the film to its glorious (and long-awaited) finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ledgend, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
this film is mazing i love it , funny crazy and not a dull moment , has to be watched at least oce well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'WHAT GOES UP - MUST COME DOWN' ??, 23 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film has had mixed reviews both from critics and indeed reviewers,
having watched the film, I can easily understand how after watching the
movie a reviewer could easily give the film 5/5 equally I would understand
a score of 1/5.....it's that sort of movie, you either love it or hate it.
A Film by acclaimed director 'Martin Scorsese' actually based worryingly
on real events.
'Jordan Belfort' gets hooked by the cut and thrust of the world of stockbroking
at an early age, he's taught by a skilled fraudster, and soon gets used to the
high-life.
When the Stock-Market crashes, 'Jordan's new-found lifestyle seems to be on
the slide, however a newspaper advert noticed by his first wife gets him back
in the saddle.
What he'd learnt in his earlier position, he uses to feather his nest, corruption
had become a way of life.
Setting up his own trading centre, natural progression.
The money soon roll's in life-style changes take hold pretty speedily, there is in
truth more money coming-in than he and his staff know what to do with.
'Jordan' earning himself the name 'The Wolf of Wall Street' because of his
predatory style of trading.
Interest from the press draws unwelcome attention from the F.B.I.
The Film - a constant stream of partying, drug taking, mixing with prostitutes with
frequent nudity sequences, and of course dodgy dealing.
Crude, rude and loud......over confidence could well prove to be 'Jordan's' downfall.
Not sure I'd go along with the film being incredibly funny, though there are moments,
a sequence where 'Jordan' get's high and is trying to return to his car, is, in truth
absolutely priceless, and there is a certain irony to the story's outcome, it's actually
quite pleasing.
American humour does not always sit well with many this side of the 'Atlantic' I myself
did find the film 'a little in your face' so to speak, after watching the first two hours,
I left the final hour for another night, but am pleased to have taken time out to do so.

Special Features -
* The Wolf Pack.
* Running Wild.
* The Wolf of Wall Street.
* Round Table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars watch it if you haven't ur a noob, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
awesom emovie thats all i gotta say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013]
The Wolf of Wall Street [DVD] [2013] by Martin Scorsese (DVD - 2014)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews