Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a worthwhile addition
Goodness knows why people would be moaning about the sound quality, it really is fine for a 1974 radio broadcast, and it's rare to have such a document of Jeff Baxter-vintage Steely Dan before they retired from touring.

Yes, there are numerous "lost in our vaults up till now" items appearing from the 60s, 70s and 80s that often disappoint, but this isn't one of...
Published 7 months ago by JW

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it --just about
If you are a super fan like myself (only the Beatles rank alongside them for me ) then you will see the worth of getting this cd.It is a chance to hear early Dan and how they sounded live.Obviously the sound quality isn't great but it was a 70s radio recording.As a consequemce the guitar solo can bearly be heard on Rikki dont lose that number.It is obviously a cash in by...
Published 8 months ago by Jim Averill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a worthwhile addition, 31 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Going Mobile (Audio CD)
Goodness knows why people would be moaning about the sound quality, it really is fine for a 1974 radio broadcast, and it's rare to have such a document of Jeff Baxter-vintage Steely Dan before they retired from touring.

Yes, there are numerous "lost in our vaults up till now" items appearing from the 60s, 70s and 80s that often disappoint, but this isn't one of them.

True Dan fans, worry not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it --just about, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: Going Mobile (Audio CD)
If you are a super fan like myself (only the Beatles rank alongside them for me ) then you will see the worth of getting this cd.It is a chance to hear early Dan and how they sounded live.Obviously the sound quality isn't great but it was a 70s radio recording.As a consequemce the guitar solo can bearly be heard on Rikki dont lose that number.It is obviously a cash in by the label; in the limited liner notes they even credit Walter Becker with the lead vocals. !!!.Despite this there are some positives ; great live versions of the Boston rag and Reeling in the years,two of my alltime favourite songs.The previously unheard instrumental work out of Your gold teeth and never released song This all too mobile home are also interesting.There is a good version of Any major dude will tell you with a fine guest lead vocal by Royce Jones.If you are a mega fan like me then buy it. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good performance, rubbish mix, 10 Sep 2013
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Mobile (Audio CD)
I really can't understand those who've given this one star. It's not brilliant - and we'll come to that - but for anyone who's interested in the "band" era of early Steely Dan, this is fascinating, topped off with a very decent previously unissued song.

Good things:
The recording - a bit compressed as it inevitably would be for a radio broadcast but it sounds like Smokin' have had access to the master - it's certainly clean enough. And so it should be - it was recorded live in the Record Plant. Mastered very quietly though so you will need to turn it up.

The performance - though no doubt it would be a bit livelier in front of a proper audience instead of what sounds like 20 or so people at the back of the studio.

The aforementioned previously unissued song, This All Too Mobile Home. Did it simply not make the cut for Katy Lied? Who knows. It's a perfectly decent Steely Dan song. Unfortunately the MC talks over the latter part of it and it then fades before the end.

The cooking instrumental jazz-rock workout on Your Gold Teeth II.

Bad things:
The mix. This is by far the biggest problem with this album - the percussion, especially tambourine, is way too high much of the time; there's very little bass almost throughout; keyboards and guitars come and go. Most crucially, as another reviewer has pointed out, the climactic guitar section on Rikki Don't Lose That Number lacks the guitar. On first hearing I thought it was just a different arrangement; second time around I realised the guitar was there in the background - probably picked up by a vocal mike, I guess either the mike on Jeff Baxter's amp had failed somehow or the slider on that channel had been inadvertently set to zero. Either way it gets fixed before the next song but it's pretty inexcusable.

I'm not aware of another professionally recorded Steely Dan live performance from this era, certainly not as widely available as this, so if you're a fan you'll find this interesting. It's just a shame it wasn't professionally mixed as well - there's a pretty good live album here if someone could get their hands on the multitrack and remix it. For best results, turn the bass right up, turn the volume pretty high and turn the treble down a bit to restrain that tambourine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Believe The Hype, 26 July 2013
This review is from: Going Mobile (Live) (MP3 Download)
I would suggest the reviewers who have awarded this marvelous live recording one star are not familiar with FM Radio Broadcasts form the 1970s. If you are expecting this recording to sound as professional and perfect as, say, the Aja Remaster - or indeed any other of Steely Dan's albums given the studio remaster treatment - then of course you will be disappointed. Quite simply there is no way to turn one thing into the other without access to divided master tapes and - quelle surprise - radio broadcasts from this time were not recorded on 48 track mobile studios. However in comparison with many broadcasts from this time this is a good sound which very much recreates what they would have sounded like live back in the day. So if you are interested to hear a perfectly listenable live show from Dan that includes two tracks that have never appeared anywhere else then go right ahead and grab yourself a copy of this. But if all you want is a recording that sounds identical to the albums then - er, probably best you listen to those albums again rather than expecting a perfect re creation - but if you are, why would you bother getting a live recording in the first place?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Going to pieces, 15 July 2013
This review is from: Going Mobile (Live) (MP3 Download)
From the very first moment that I heard Haitian Divorce on the radio, I've been hooked. I've got the albums, the t-shirts and I've seen them live. Hopeful that this album would provide another reminder of that live experience, I was all over this as soon as it became available to download. What a mistake. Whomever produced the album made a mistake. I made a mistake. This is really awful. Some of the arrangements we can debate. The horribly poor sound quality, however, feels impossible to defend. It's just very, very nasty. If you need to avoid just one Steely Dan recording, let it be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars He said you must be joking, now where'd you get that record?, 6 July 2013
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Going Mobile (Live) (MP3 Download)
The Dan have always been known for their high demands for perfection in the studio - well heaven knows what Donald will make of this. The set list represents vintage Dan around 1974 just after the release of the magnificent Pretzel Logic. But this sounds more like a Royal Scam for some cash, the sound is threadbare and tinny - avoid and save it for Your Gold Teeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4f031c8)

This product

Going Mobile (Live)
Going Mobile (Live) by Steely Dan
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews