Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Joy
I often struggle to fully embrace the idea of 'folk' music. Recently, a friend and I were discussing the idea of a piece of music in that general genre that could really surprise and unexpectedly capture our imaginations...and as if by magic, he presented this extraordinary piece of work. I often struggle to describe the nature of this to people who have never heard...
Published 10 months ago by Gazza Pocket

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep listening.
Thought first three tracks were duds. Rest were great. Intresting merging of traditional and modern styles. Great playing and arranging.
Published 7 months ago by Maureen Kearns


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Joy, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Gloaming (Audio CD)
I often struggle to fully embrace the idea of 'folk' music. Recently, a friend and I were discussing the idea of a piece of music in that general genre that could really surprise and unexpectedly capture our imaginations...and as if by magic, he presented this extraordinary piece of work. I often struggle to describe the nature of this to people who have never heard it...it seems to beautifully refuse to fit into any particular musical pigeon hole. All I know is that it is pure joy...breathtakingly crafted and refined to an unimaginable level (the piano playing particularly melts me every time). As an English language speaker, I particularly love that the songs are sung in Irish- for me, it offers an otherworldliness.

I'm completely ensnared by this...and it may take quite some time to escape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars try and see them live, 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Gloaming (Audio CD)
lots of reviews out there for this album …..My review is that Martin Hayes in particular is a genius . The music is often hypnotic .Simple tunes are built up with layers and layers of textures and tones ….They are amazing live …musicians at the top of their craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gloaming: A call to listen, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gloaming (MP3 Download)
It’s all been said before, the Gloaming are both part of an old Irish tradition and and at the same time bringing it to new byways. There are stunning renditions based on haunting sean-nós songs to free improvisations that skirt and link with world jazz, they are making new music that is evocative of old traditions and themes. They will seriously translate across many boundaries and cultures. They will make you contemplate and think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical experience, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gloaming (MP3 Download)
This is a very special album and one it would be hard to imagine getting tired of. The musicianship of all these wonderful artists is quite exceptional; the feel and atmosphere created is almost totally unique; and the experience of listening to it can only be described as highly spiritual. I know this sounds like it should be in Pseuds Corner but believe me, this album cannot fail to touch you. If this hour of musical perfection doesn't move you, nothing will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album - timeless and moving, 21 May 2014
By 
P. J. Sharp "Hill Top Man" (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gloaming (Audio CD)
I picked this up in my local Oxfam for £1.99 - a unused promo copy - and my family and I have been hooked since. There are some songs that just disallow definition - yes there are fidles, pianos, gaelic (I assume) singing and a few bits of jigs..... but this also touches on undefianble beauty. If you liked the theme the to the Nordic thriller - the Bridge - give track three a listen, if you love atmospheric Eno meets James Yorkston delight - try track 2.
It is a fully complete album that even my 12 year son is constantly streaming on spotify as he revises. Give it a listen, I am sure most will fine it opens their perspectives to something new. Also try the new Juana Molina LP - equally outside the mainstream.

Only question I have is when will the vinyl be released?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceptional!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gloaming (Audio CD)
received this on valentines day.all i can say is this album is superbly crafted by musicians at the top of their field... favourites are "the old bush" and "opening set", although each track in itself is a masterpiece.Can whole heartedly recommend this unique collaboration.Buy it, relax and prepare to be both beguiled and bewitched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gloaming - The forward march of Irish music, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gloaming (Audio CD)
Oh the joys of the internet and to discovering new music. Some useful instructions for you to follow-

1. Take a sharp detour today to the "First Listen" section of the New Public Radio website where this album is streaming in its entirety.
2. Pull out your best pair of headphones
3. Listen in awe and wonder

The Gloaming are virtuoso musicians comprising Iarla Ó Lionaird, the legendary fiddler Martin Hayes, violinist Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh, plus American guitarist Dennis Cahill and, perhaps surprisingly, pianist Thomas Bartlett (a.k.a. Doveman). This is in effect an Irish folk supergroup with a strong American tinge. Bartlett who produces has worked with artists like the National, Anthony and the Johnson's and Rufus Wainwright. The unusual make up of the band nevertheless belies a musical empathy that brings them together like a compressed tube of Loctite superglue. Add to this that many of the songs are expertly delivered full of soul and feeling by Iarla Ó Lionaird in the Sean-nós tradition which is a highly ornamented style of vocal in the beautiful language of Gaelic. It this album was a sick of rock it would have the word "distinctive" running through it. The music literally soars and you clumsily fumble for the right words to describe it. Listen to the instrumental "Allistrum's March" and try not to be blown away by the wonders of its raw authenticity and sublime melody. The same applies to the plaintive "Hunting the Squirrel" which tugs at your heart. As for the 16 minute "Opening Set" this is a tour de force comprising musical alchemy ranging from traditional singing and lightning paced jigs to a hint of Keith Jarrett style piano jazz. You need to to sit down afterwards, pause to gather your thoughts at the aural pleasure you have experienced and smile broadly. Indeed you could do no better than return to the start of the album and hover the needle over the sumptuous piano driven "Nest of Wrens" with a vocal to die for. The language is in Gaelic, but whether you understand it or not, the emotion is universal. It is also proof that in their own way this band do for Irish music what Sigur Ros have done in terms of their Icelandic ethereal sound.

The New Yorker Magazine, have argued that The Gloaming "moves the music of Ireland in captivating new directions." For anyone who might disagree just listen to the magnificence of Hayes playing on "The Sailors Bonnet" which brings to mind Beethoven's maxim that music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosophy. Finally round off the album with the uplifting "Freedom" and offer profound thanks to the mighty forces that pointed you towards it. A revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome musicians play with sparring intensity, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gloaming (Audio CD)
This is just such an emotional and beautifully played album it took my breath away. Like LAU in Scotland these Irish musicians are creating a new kind of modern, intense and wildly lovely folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Gloaming (Audio CD)
I do not care what your musical tastes are. You must listen to this. Undoubtedly Irish but more. These five guys are stars in their own right but together the have raised the bar for Irish music. The singing is in Irish but do not for a moment let that put you off. Whatever you are doing you will stop and listen to this. I do not write reviews often but I felt that I had to say something about this album. Irish, yes, but almost classical. You will come away from this feeling sad but exhilerated. Simply magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Gloaming (Audio CD)
An extraordinarily rich and beautiful album. Some songs are in Irish Gaelic and some have no vocals at all, but all are crafted by master musicians. A collection of moving and exhilarating tracks - listen to the album while walking on a hot, dirty, crowded street and be transcended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gloaming
The Gloaming by The Gloaming (Audio CD - 2014)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews